We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel just gets better”
Review of Hotel Platjador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Platjador
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great little hotel just gets better”
Reviewed May 25, 2008

I have stayed here many times before & reviewed it also.
This cracking little beach front hotel keeps getting better. They have now renovated all the rooms with new beds, bedding, bathrooms, furniture, TV & fridge. The rooftop bar has once again been revamped with a glass screen giving a bird eye view of Sitges promenade. The same Bar manager, reception & breakfast manager have been here for years, showing how the people enjoy working here & giving great service.
Very reasonably prices too, the only trouble is getting in & booking early enough.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Restricted bar opening times !
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Narrabeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,356
    379
    65
    23
    18
See reviews for
138
1,031
139
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

We stayed here during the Sitges Carnaval. The location was excellent, right in the middle of all of the restaraunts, nightlife and the beach. Has a nice rooftop lounge overlooking the ocean. The breakfast was unbelievable, I've never had such nice breakfast that was included with the price of the hotel. Also, be sure to check out the restaraunt for dinner--excellent seafood!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFTravel45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2008

Excellent value-for-money hotel, right on the seafront, slap in
the middle of the town, but on the quieter bit of the promenade
so no noise from the bars. Across the quiet road from the long
sandy beach.
Hotel staff were friendly and proficient and rooms were
spotlessly clean. Good breakfasts, which could be taken inside
in the restaurant or outside on the terrace on the promenade
with views of the sea.
Gay-friendly, but plenty of non-gay clients including some
families.
Plus points - stylish rooftop bar with panoramic views of the
seafront and the dramatic church at the end of the beach.
- beautifully maintained swimming pool with
plenty of room for sun-loungers.
Only minus point - smoking not allowed in rooms, but all rooms have a decent-sized balcony.
Ask for rooms overlooking the seafront although these will cost a bit more.

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — No smoking in rooms
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyHManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2007

I stayed at hotel platja d'or with my girlfriend for 2 nights and really had a bad feeling about it at first. When we entered the room, we found it to be not so clean and found hair on the floor of the room and of the bathroom. Second bad surprise was the view on construction works on the other side. The swimming pool seems to be in the shade all day long and therefore can only be used if temperature is extremely high.
When we exited our room I asked the person at the reception if they could clean up the room and when we came back we noticed that most of hair were gone even though there was still some....
The hotel is located just across the street from the beach and I believe if you can get a sea view, it completely change your experience. It is a few minutes walk from the trainstation. We were very unsatisfied with the hotel because of these little things until we met that very nice lady in the elevator who was carrying a pack of Heineken beers. She said it was for the bar on the top floor. We were very surprised as nobody mentionned this bar to us. We followed her and discovered a great place with confortable seats on a terrace or inside, a bar, seaview and were very sad not to have been informed about this place by staff.
I would say about this hotel that if you get a room with sea view, it could be a very good experience (if you are luckier than us for the cleaness). And if you go, you HAVE to go to the top floor bar, it is the nicest thing in this hotel.

  • Liked — Location, Top floor bar
  • Disliked — Not clean
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sebwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2007

I took my family for my birthday on 5th October for 3 nights. 7 adults 3 children ages 14, 4 & 2 years. The location and position was perfect just across the road to the beach. The bedrooms are very basic but the rest of the hotel and restaurant are lovely. The breakfast was a grand affair very fresh and a huge variety The evening meal was excellent and includes 3 courses bread and water.
The swimming pool is beautiful but because of its shady position was freezing cold and only comfortable to sit out between 2:00pm and 4:00pm at this time of year. The weather was perfect for the beachand they are very safe for small children. We took the train from Barcelona airport (with one change) very cheap and convenient. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the station. A word of warning my daughter took a taxi from the station and ended up at the wrong hotel at the far end of town then having to get another taxi back very expensive and they arrived 30 minutes after the rest of us who walked! For our 3 night break Sitges was ideal and suited all the different generations in my family.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanTear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2007

The Hotel Platjador is not easy to find at street level as the hotel name is on the fifth floor.

Reception staff speak English and are friendly and helpful.

The bedroom we were allocated was roomy, clean and of a good 3* standared but the view from the balcony did not match the description in the hotel brochure which states all rooms look over the sea or swimming pool. Our room on the second floor overlooked poorly maintained apartments.

Breakfasts were very good. There was a good selection of both hot and cold food.

We booked 7 days on a bed and breakfast basis but decided to try a set 3 course evening meal @ 14 euros. We were not impressed, perhaps we should have tried the A-la-Carte menu. However the hotel is very busy with many customers for both lunch and dinner.

There is a tremendous selection of eateries in close proximity to the Platjador. We shall definitely be returning to the Platjador and Sitges.

  • Liked — The Food at Breakfast
  • Disliked — The view from our bedroom.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy6407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

We spent a night at the Platjador in October 2007. We booked online and got a standard room with a small terrace overlooking the pool for 78 Euro (an offseason rate). Like the hotel itself, the room was basic, clean and comfortable. The service was pleasant and the breakfast buffet was good. Obviously, the best part of the hotel is its location -- it is on the beach, centrally located and walking distance to restaurants, bars and shopping. Overall, an excellent choice for those on a budget.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Basic room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCH3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 38 in Sitges
1,259 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#5 of 38 in Sitges
2,579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 38 in Sitges
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#12 of 38 in Sitges
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Cid
Hotel El Cid
#4 of 38 in Sitges
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Platjador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Platjador

Property: Hotel Platjador
Address: Passeo de la Ribera 35, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sitges
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#3 Business Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Platjador 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Platjador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platjador Hotel Sitges
Platjador Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing