We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“avoid the restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Platjador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Platjador
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“avoid the restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed at Sitges from 02/05/12 until 09/05/12.
This is a lovely place,lots of old streets and lots of atmosphere.Arrived on the train went back on the bus which is better.Check out bus and train websites before you go.
This hotel is situated in a good location near the beach and in the centre of town lots of bars shops etc around about.
The room we had was a standard room with no balcony(just a small window) but had a safe,mininbar,tv and dvd player.The only english chanels are news chanels so take some dvd's.Ours was disconnected and I had to sort out the scart and tune the tv to receive the dvd pictures, no hassle to me but to some could be a problem.
The bathroom was very small,the bath is one of the smallest I have seen and entrance to the the bath is through a 2 foot gap in the boxed off part of the shower area that stops
the water going onto the floor.If you are unable to manouvre your body through this gap then you will have a problem.I cannot comment on other bathrooms in the hotel.
We went half board.
The breakfast is a feast.Tapas,bacon,eggs,everything you could wish for.To many dishes to mention here but I can say it is the best breakfast menu and choice of anywhere that I have stayed.
Warning.
I have said that we stayed half board.What a mistake.The restaurant in this hotel is terrible!!!!!!!
The difference between breakfast and dinner is to go from 5 star to 1 star.Gordon Ramsay would have a field day here.
Some examples of the delicous fare offered.
Dogish covered in a tin of processed peas(fish of the day)
The worst seafood paella I have ever tasted(4 mussels and 2 prawns..1 mussell was missing)
But by far the worst was the chicken dish.Tinned chicken served on a plate hotter than the sun with mushrooms and a potatoe.This plate contrevened all the heath and safety acts in force in europe.
Sorry to bang on about this restaurant but I saw wrong dishes taken to tables,food sent back and even after we had been there 5 days we still received the menu in Catalan.
Note to the hotel..Stop offering half board.
Your hotel is good but the restaurant lets you down.

Room Tip: Do not choose a standard room others seem better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for your time spent writing the review. We will have in mind most of all considerations you mention. Your opinion splits our hotel and our restaurant. Is a satisfaction for us to know that the hotel was good for you. In terms of the restaurant, you separate again the breakfast and the lunch. It is also a great satisfaction to know that you enjoyed our breakfast. This year (2012) we have rehired all of our kitchen staff and the people who prepare the breakfast are the same for cooking lunch or dinner. We hired a great experienced chef to lead our kitchen we even think that he may be comparable to Mr Ramsay (there are also great chefs in Spain). We are sorry for not satisfying your expectations. It may be possible that our team hasn't catch up to our chef's experience. We hope they have learnt by the time you get back to our restaurant. Compared to last year we have improved a little bit, we are having more congratulations from customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,282
    367
    61
    22
    16
See reviews for
127
980
131
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

When they say waterfront, they MEAN waterfront!!! The Platjador was centrally located to the train station and nestled on the water front right across from the boardwalk. With a 5th floor bar that overlooks the sea, to the waterfront rooms this place is truly the best of Sitges!! The rooms are comfy and fully equipped (include TV but why would you need one... you're on vacation!?, room safe, hair dryer, fridge, COMFY bed and LOTS of pillows! Wifi is available at the hotel and you'll need one code per device.

The staff is incredibly helpful, accommodating and friendly with 5 star service! How could I mention this wonderful hotel without a massive plug for the most wonderful breakfast spread! From fresh juices, to coffee/tea and thank you.. SOY MILK to chocolate and churros, baked goods, cereals, breads, eggs cooked 5 ways, yogurt, plates of fresh fruit, pancakes, chartreuse meats, veggies.... and believe it or not... SO... much...MORE! A second trip to the breakfast spread is only 10 euros and literally I'm not even sure how that's possible! I ate breakfast and was barely hungry at dinner!!

Can't WAIT to return!!!

(Side note, they are very close to the bus stop that offers a direct non-stop 30 minute trip for 5.60 euros to the airport.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neschke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, it's really appreciated.
We're very flattered that you ' highly recommended ' us, thank you. We seem to have really terrific people stay here and you are no exception! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We had four nights in this hotel as a couple. The service was excellent and the breakfasts the most comprehensive we have seen. The location is fabulous and the roof top bar is fantastic.

However, whilst ideal for us, it would not have been a suitable hotel for the whole family as the pool area was crowded with large groups and this also sometimes made the narrow stairs seem crowded.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DerekH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

After reading the reviews I thought we knew what to expect. How wrong was I, from fast easy friendly check in, to the spotlessly clean large comfy room, with the biggest bed I have ever seen in my life, the largest wet room shower, to the balcony overlooking the spa pool.Amazing. After a comfy quiet nights sleep, the breakfast, never in all my travels have I experienced anything remotely like it, a vast array of well cooked and fresh food, drinks, and as much as you could eat. This hotel is fabulous, should be a 5 star.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cookieLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Wow, thank you for your review and wonderful comments we're very appreciative.
We would love to see you back here again in the future.
Thank you again and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Returned back to UK after spending Easter 4 nights / 5 days in Sitges staying at the Hotel Platjador. What is there to complain about ..................NOTHING. The hotel location is ideal - on the seafront promenade of Sitges opposite the sea in the middle of town surrounded by shops and restaurants. Our Room 209 second floor was to the rear of the hotel. The decor is modern and bright. The bathroom red decor with a walk in shower and a great hairdrier, large triple size bed with an array of pillows, satellite flat screen tv including a fridge and individual safe. We also had a balcony overlooking the spa pool with its 2 chairs and table a great place to sit and enjoy our cups of coffee - yes there is also tea/coffee making facility. The WiFi - we're on holiday why would we need it? Breakfast self service feast - everything to suit cold and hot from full English breakfast to cold hams slices or even tapas. Lunch and evening meals are available at the El Rincon de Pepe Restaurant on the ground floor for guests as well as the public with a choice from the menu or check the board everyday for the set menu. We did venture to the 5th floor of the hotel to the rooftop bar with its spectacular views. Great place to sit in the sun and relax. The staff and service was at all times excellent. We can find no faults with this hotel and we will return back again in June.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony give you extra outside space to sit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Whackend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.
We look forward to hosting you again, Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Everything else you read here is pretty accurate. The hotel is well located, it couldn't be any closer to the beach, the breakfasts are plentiful, the staff are friendly, the beds are big and the roof-top bar is a real asset.

What can I add to this that'll help? Of specific interest to me was the fact that transfers from 'El Prat' on Sundays are not that easy by bus (only 4 for the whole day) but the train station and service is a real help to the resort. Don't rely too heavily on the Renfe website though as despite having an English section and a virtual assistant the info it provided was massively unhelpful - there were trains running and plenty of them as I discovered on getting info from the relevant desk at the airport.

As for the Platjador itself I may just be repeating the mantra. The hotel rooms are nice, huge mirrors and big beds (ours was a single and double joined together) with one of the best showers I've found in any hotel. The balconys at the back overlook the pool area and the rear of other properties so it's not that pretty but certainly nothing to put you off. The pool area seems to have been re-furbished recently with a spa pool but it was way too cold to try out in mid-April.

The included breakfast is a relative feast, a massive buffet of practically everything you could wish for. There was no muesli but the presence of a large quantity of cakes more than made up for that. The real difficulty with breakfast was discerning the sweet from the savoury as it was all presented in such a fashion that it was all too easy to mistake a pate for a pudding, a very disconcerting error to make.

The roof-top bar is a real jewel in the crown, very well laid out with a fabulous view over the front and the church. A proper sun-trap too. The only downside was that the beer prices were none too cheap - the selection of imported beers was a nice touch but slightly wallet-damaging. Unfortunately during my stay the 'beer of the day' (at 50% discount) was the same beer every day but this was slightly out-of-season I guess.

I have nothing to compare it to in the area, perhaps it's beyond comparison - the consensus would appear to suggest so.

Room Tip: The front rooms are nice, the rear may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paolo_Fiori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you very much for posting a review and for saying such nice things, we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Our guests reviews are the best quality control, for this reason we are very grateful with you to expose it.
Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
128 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Picked this hotel based on the reviews and we weren't disappointed. The location is fantastic right on the sea front and close to everything in the centre. it was good value too.

We picked a sea view room with balcony which was great and would highly recommend this. The rooms were good size, well furnished and ours had a fabulous huge shower! The rooms were clean and well kept.

Breakfast was self service and there was lots of choice of food. It was open till 12 which was great, but if you arrived the choice was sometimes limited.

Other than that a great choice and would recommend staying here - we will go back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Platjador, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 41 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#4 of 41 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#6 of 41 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
1.5 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Platjador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Platjador

Property: Hotel Platjador
Address: Passeo de la Ribera 35, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#1 Family Hotel in Sitges
#3 Business Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Platjador 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Platjador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platjador Hotel Sitges
Platjador Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing