We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - ignore the naysayers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for a week here in August, during the Sitges festival, and couldn't have had a nicer time. The room was a bit bonkers, with all the art on the walls and ceilings, but that was part of what made it special and memorable. The staff were helpful, the food - breakfast - was varied and included as much as you could want to eat, with lots of fresh fruit amongst the usual stuff you would expect.

The hotel itself was in a nice, quiet location, only 20 minutes stroll from Sitges along a coast walk, and also had a nice pool area, with pools for kids and grown ups. The nearby beach was also good and never overly crowded.

The nearby marina had some lovely bars and restaurants and was not overly expensive.

Would we go back? We certainly would, and would recommend it to anyone who fancies a stay in a good 4 star hotel in a beautiful resort.

Room Tip: If you don't like 'in your face' art, make sure you request a non-art room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hj L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 414 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 11 nights with my husband and 7 year old daughter and have to say that this is one of the nicest hotels we've stayed at as a family. The staff are extremely good - a good standard of English is spoken by all bar a few restaurant waiters. Food at the hotel is excellent - we had one of the best lobster paella's ever one evening. The room (artist suite 212 - Grau Garriga) was extremely spacious with a king size bed (which all 3 of us slept in without knowing the others were there!) a large wardrobe area, huge bathroom and living area including Samsung flat screen TV, sofa and dining table and chairs. And also a fridge which was great.
The patio area was big with a small table and 2 comfortable chairs. The room was decorated by the artist Grau Garriga and was beautifully unusual. The pool was fabulous - the kids one particularly was perfect. Never too cold and plenty of Sunbeds. The cafe area was lovely too. Shaded and with good food. There's a lovely lady at the hotel who gives tours of all of the amazing art at the hotel which is really interesting and worth the 30mins or so out of your day. The hotel is directly opposite a lovely family beach with a beach bar and whilst its busy, it's clean and you can usually find space. Right - on the down side...breakfast is average, the air conditioning could be better (we asked for a fan for the bedroom which was great) and its fairly noisy at nights outside. However, that wasn't a problem with the noise of the fan! I had to ask for another mattress topper as the bed was so hard, but the pillows were comfortable. We would definitely return and were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donny34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from spending 6 days in Hotel Estela and we both wanted to say that we had a wonderful experience. From the moment we checked in at reception we experienced nothing but helpfulness and good service. Our room was very spacious and had a balcony which overlooked the pool which was handy for nabbing a sunbed! It was kept very clean by a fairy chambermaid and lovely to come back to after a hard day sunbathing. The area itself is charming with a good selection of restaurants within walking distance, we ate at the hotel restaurant one evening which was very good. We would definitely go back and have no hesitation recommending it to our family and friends.

Room Tip: We would ask for a sea facing room next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stanley1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a hotel with a nice terrace where you can serve breakfast, lunch or dinner, but where you can also be robbed. I left my purse on the back of my chair, and it was stolen while i was eating my breakfast.(i lost all my ID and passport, being on the point of not leaving in time). The staff naturally told me that there are people from the port who steal and that was not their problem.
My question is: if you are indeed a manager of a four star hotel who wants to satisfy your guests, why don`t you care about your terrace, why don`t you put a guardian for the safety of the guests? maybe a thief can come and hurt me, trying to stole my goods, so the hotel will say it is all right? I don`t think so, if you respect your guests, than you look after their security.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreeaCraiova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELESTELA, Director Comercial at Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Sir,

On August 13 there was a robbery without violence, where your bag was stolen when it was hanging on the back of your chair on our terrace of the Hotel Estela.

From Hotel Estela, we want to point out that all the safety features worked properly and so we made it available to the police. We gave them all the recordings from our security cameras along with your corresponding complaint so that they can identify perpetrators and take the appropriate provisions.

Anyway we insist on the need for the victim of the robbery (you) to interpose the corresponding denounce to the police so that they can carry out the needed actions.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just returned from our holiday in Sitges. The hotel is in a quiet and beautiful area, so for those who are looking a place to relax is perfect.
The breakfast was great, the dinner also, just one observation some days it was served very slowly.
Everything was all right until one day when something unpleasant happened. Between 11.00-14.30 when we were at the beach our money disappeared from our room. Of course we reported this at the reception but no one was surprised about it. They just checked the key found that no one else was in the room beside us and the maid. What bothered me it was the attitude, because I noticed that robbery is accepted since everyone behaving like something normal happened. I never thought that in 4 stars hotel something like this might happen. Definitely was our mistake too because we left the money in the room, but from now one we will be more cautious. So, be careful!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 833Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a very good hotel in a great location as youre only a stones throw from the beachfront. The rooms are quite clean, the air con is very good, the beds are reasonably comfortable, the wet areas are well maintained and all the staff seemed very polite and only to willing to help if need be. The breakfast is nice with a good variety of foods. The walk to the town site and train station is easy enough and there are ample restaurants close by that are well priced with above average meals. The swimming pool is average size and kept to a high standard. Noise between rooms and from the street front doesn't appear to be an issue which ensures a good night slept is had by all. Also a bonus in the rooms is a small fridge which certainly makes life easier. All in all I would definitely stay at this hotel again when I return to Sitges.

Room Tip: Get a room on the third floor that overlooks the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arrow9022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We are staying at this hotel as I type this and we think it's fantastic. The price for 7 nights with breakfast in high season was very reasonable as Sitges is buzzing during the summer. Yes the hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the centre of sitges but it's a beautiful walk through the port and along the coast - past the nudist beach! To the reviewer who thought this was disgusting ... do your research! Sitges is a popular gay resort and has a nudist beach if that's offensive go somewhere else. We had no problem walking past here everyday with our five yr old daughter.

Onto the hotel itself - it's very quiet and peaceful so you can sit on your balcony and listen to the sea. We were on floor 1 and still had a sea view. There's a nice beach literallly across the road which is so convenient. We also had an 'art room' which although not really to my taste suited the feel of the hotel. The art within the hotel does seem to feature the naked female form quite heavily but again it's not offensive. I really liked the big piranha made from recycled drink cans in the restaurant.

Practicalities - if you get the bus from Barcelona airport you get dropped off in town so best to get a taxi to the hotel,as it's a bit far to walk with cases. The rooms could do with a refurb but to be honest for the price you can't really grumble. They seem to be cool about you putting your own drinks etc in the fridge which some hotels don't allow. The staff are all very friendly and helpful especially in the restaurant. The breakfast is very good with some lovely pastries but maybe another 1 or 2 nespresso machines would help. The restaurant IRIS is fantastic! I normally avoid hotel restaurant but this one is very good. The risottos are just amazing! The prices very reasonable for the level of quality and service very good. A few more vegetarian,options would be good but other than that superb.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Subur Maritim
Hotel Subur Maritim
#9 of 40 in Sitges
781 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 40 in Sitges
816 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#6 of 40 in Sitges
2,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Urh Sitges Playa Hotel
Urh Sitges Playa Hotel
#18 of 40 in Sitges
435 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel MIM Sitges
Hotel MIM Sitges
#8 of 40 in Sitges
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte

Address: Avda Port d'Aiguadolc 8, 08870 Sitges, Spain (Formerly Hotel Estela)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
Price Range: $94 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the seafront, in one of the most attractive and relaxing corners from Sitges, the Port of Aiguadolç.Hotel Estela is a 4 star hotel that offers 65 spacious rooms, all of them with terraces. This Hotel has taken great effort, feeling and passion for culture. Not only in the work of artists through the frescoes, paintings and sculptures that can be admired throughout its facilities, but also by the affable and courteous treatment given to customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estela Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing