We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay but too much out of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Reviewed September 17, 2011

It was generally a nice stay - hotel was quite big and clean. The air confitioning was not working at first but when I reported that in the reception it was fixed within the next hour.
Very nice breakfast - planty to choose from!

The only problem I have with this hotel is that it is so out of the city centre. To get the taxi it is about EUR 10.00 one way or about 25 minutes walk. While it's fun once in a while, when you plan to do it everyday it gets tiring.

Also, the hotel seems to be a very popular place for the weddings - spent there 3 nights and two of them was a wedding party right outside. Not to noisy but if you are a light sleeper it might be a problem.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank paweliprzemek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 409 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

Me and my family stayed at the "Estela Barcelona" for 4 nights in august 2011.

This is a very nice hotel. The rooms ar quite big. All rooms with a balcony and fridge. The breakfast was superb! The hotel is packed with art! Pictures, paintings and sculptures. There is always something interesting to watch!

Right on the other side of the street there is a lovely beach. It seemed to us that there were a lot of local people there - and not so many tourist. And the beach wasn't crowdy at all. There is also a small restaurant who offers what You need for lunch in a day on the beach.

There are a lot of restaurants some hundred meters away - in the marina area. They seemed a littlie boring and expencive - so its worth taking a walk into the city of Sitges. It took us 10-15 minutes along a nice pathway. There You can find all kind of restaurants and bars/discos!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank helgeandreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

PROS
-Clean: My room was very clean, and lobby is immaculate.
-Views: Although my room did not have a balcony, I had wonderful view of the Mediterranean sea.
-Decor: The hotel lobby is decorated with beautiful art.
-Size: The size of my room was average, but the bathroom was larger than I would have expected. The bathroom was very clean and full of natural light.

CONS
-Location: Although the hotel is directly across the street from the beach, it is a 20-30 minute walk to the center of town.
-Conveniences: There are no conveniences nearby, such as a grocery store, a coffee shop, laundry facilities, etc. You will have to walk 20-30 minutes into town for all conveniences. There is a mini-market nearby, which sells only a few things at premium prices.
-Air conditioning: My a/c did not work. I had it set to the lowest possible setting (5c) at the maximum power, and I was sitting in my room sweating. I had a small window, which I opened to receive a small breeze.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DERICK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

The hotel is in a nice quiet area of the town with a busy beach directly across the road. The pool is small and there aren't many sunbeds. When we arrived our balcony hadn't been cleaned properly and there were ants on it. Apart from this we were happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
2  Thank Fitzgerald99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The hotel is about a 25 minute walk to the centre of Sitges, would have thought there should have been internet access, they did have a very small note book that you could use but was very slow.
The first night we arrived, we ran out of shower gel and shampoo, and had to ask for some, our TV would not tune in correctly, the tap in out bathroom would not turn off completely. The air conditioning only went down to 15, and didnt seem to always cool the room.
The swimming pool was ok, but they have stuck some rubber over the original tiles and it is coming loose, looks horrible.
Breakfast was another matter, this was not good at all. They only had 14 tables that they used, and only 1 member of staff on to clear the tables and top up the food.
We would normally have to wait for a table to be cleared, and then go and have to ask for food to be topped up. Some days, there would be as many as 8 tables all been used, that needed clearing.
I thought it was over priced and would prob be more suited as a 3 star hotel. Staff were not all friendly, very hit and miss.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brettplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Nice location, good services, wonderfull rooms. It's a real "art hotel". Only fault: no free wy-fi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nureldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My room was a piece of art, walls painted and very nice, but that's it.
There was a strange parfum in the room, the same they use everywhere.
I had the feeling that hotel is dated, even if nothing was really old (flat tv, air con...) but that was my idea when i was in this hotel.

If you are lucky to have a room on 1st floor above the lobby so you ll have free wifi (as it is in the lobby and in the restaurant) otherwise is something like 8euro per hour.

Hotel is 10 min walk from the heart of the city, but right outside the harbour

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Subur Maritim
Hotel Subur Maritim
#9 of 40 in Sitges
765 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 40 in Sitges
813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Urh Sitges Playa Hotel
Urh Sitges Playa Hotel
#18 of 40 in Sitges
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel MIM Sitges
Hotel MIM Sitges
#8 of 40 in Sitges
583 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#6 of 40 in Sitges
2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte

Address: Avda Port d'Aiguadolc 8, 08870 Sitges, Spain (Formerly Hotel Estela)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
Price Range: $99 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the seafront, in one of the most attractive and relaxing corners from Sitges, the Port of Aiguadolç.Hotel Estela is a 4 star hotel that offers 65 spacious rooms, all of them with terraces. This Hotel has taken great effort, feeling and passion for culture. Not only in the work of artists through the frescoes, paintings and sculptures that can be admired throughout its facilities, but also by the affable and courteous treatment given to customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estela Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing