We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A firm favourite”
Review of Melia Sitges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Sitges
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A firm favourite”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our 10th visit to Sitges and the 3rd to Melia. Always great staff and very helpful particularly the breakfast team. We stayed in classic room with sea view this time and think they have started upgrading as there are now superior rooms with sea view and they are the ones on the best side with a view of the church and town. The only reason I did not give 5 stars was wifi really should be free in rooms these days and not with a daily charge. No iron in room, yes you could ring for one every time you wanted it but again should be in room. The leisure centre was also €7.50 a day per person and again you expect that to be included.
I guess also with location it's a walk up a hill so it will keep you fit. We like it though as its quiet and very close to San Sebastien bay.
Be prepared that this is a major conference hotel so often they are at capacity with suits as you mingle at breakfast in your shorts. Didn't bother us as they try not to disrupt the holiday makers. But some people might not like it.
A great hotel and a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    792
    167
    31
    21
See reviews for
382
928
73
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

While I experienced no major setbacks at the Melia, I would not say it is a 4 star experience.

PROs:
- Breakfast buffet is great, though I noticed a difference between Friday morning and Saturday morning (Saturday was much better)

- The outdoor pool seemed nice, but I did not make use of it.

CONs:
- Room Service. We stayed at this hotel once before and ordered room service, a hamburger and a pizza. We requested no mayonnaise on the hamburger, when it arrived it had mayo and they forgot our water. We called back to them to tell them about it, when they came back they brought another hamburger with mayonnaise and still forgot our water! We had to call them a 3rd time just to bring our beverage. This is unacceptable for a 4 star hotel. This time we ordered room service and there was no mixup with the order, but I ordered a cheese pizza that was very bad. The next day my stomach was upset all day due to the pizza.

- The Spa. I was told you would need to pay 7 euros if you want to enjoy the spa, and this is to include the pool, jacuzzi, gym, steam room and sauna. While paying additionally for the spa on top of the room seems a bit cheap, I agreed to go ahead and pay for it. After I paid and entered the locker room, the assistant told me that the pool and jacuzzi were occupied until 8PM and I could not use it. The only thing I could use was the outdated sauna and steam room (that was not even on, I had to wait 20 minutes for it to warm up). Definitely a disappointment for a 4 star hotel.

-Housekeeping. The floor in our room was dirty, housekeeping did not do a proper job.

All in all, an okay hotel, but I would expect more from a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get something higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at Melia for 3 nights in May 2013. Main reason was to take advantage of the outdoor pool. Room size was good, bathroom was also good, maybe a little dated. Toiletries were provided. Our bed was 2 twins pushed together, bed was a little hard. They gave us 10euros per day to spend at the hotel bar/resto. We used it to buy cold drinks while we laid by the pool. It was too cold to jump in the water but lying on the lounge chairs was so relaxing! There was no deposit needed for the towels, you just go into the little cabana and take as many was you need.

We arrived here straight from the airport. It was easy to take the MonBus from Terminal 1 and the ride was only 30min for ~6euros pp. ***Check the schedule online 1st, we arrived on a Saturday and the Monbus arrives every 1-2hours, because our flight was late, we had to wait 2 hours for the next Monbus! When we got quotes for taxi, they told us 60-80 euros! Definitely not worth it for a 1/2 hour ride. Once the Monbus dropped us off at Parc Can Robert in the middle of Sitges, we took a 5min taxi to Melia Sitges for 7 euros. Check in at 5pm was easy and quick.

The hotel charged 5 euros for an electrical adapter to use North American electronics, we found adaptors in town for 2 euros. The hotel also charged 7 euros per day to use the gym, which I thought was a little nickel n diming everything considering the "gym" was tiny.

The walk into town was 10min. There are many shops and restaurants to choose from. We did not eat at the hotel at all. It was good to walk back to the hotel after dinner to walk off the extra calories!

SItges is a beautiful town, very small and quaint with more of a local feel. There are no Starbucks ....only 1 Burger King. Its much different from Barcelona, not much ppl know English but that's ok as it felt more authentic.
For brunch, we would walk behind the hotel down the steep steps to the port. I was 20 weeks pregnant and didn't think the steps were difficult at all. Walking back up the steps was good exercise, how lazy can ppl get? Also the view was amazing.

Our next stop was Barcelona. We took a taxi to the Renfe train station and took the 40min ride to Barcelona to the Pullman. Taking the train was very easy and clean. I thought it was good to break up the trip with Sitges and Barcelona over the week.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanya1Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Hotel stands on a hill overlooking the sea and it can easily be seen from most of the surrounding area making it very easy to locate when walking back after a trip out. The staff we encountered were all very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere both inside and outside this hotel was calm and peaceful. Our room was very clean and well kept - if getting a little dated. The balcony was lovely with a marina/sea view. Breakfast we thought was expensive at nearly 20 euros each for a pretty standard buffet. The Hotel Bistro menue was limited, but with so many other restaurants down on the marina and in town this was not a problem. If you have mobility issues then you should note that to walk down to the marina there are many steps or a long winding incline. It is also a 20min walk into town which is also downhill so the walk back requires some effort. The Carrefour supermarket is only 5 minutes walk away - very convenient. The pool is good and there were plenty of loungers. If we were going back to Sitges we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Sea view worth a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSitges, Director General at Melia Sitges, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear CTontour

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Meliá Sitges. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and criticism.

For us, our team is our main asset. We put all our efforts on providing treatment to match what our customers expect to receive. I will share your comments with our team, who I am sure will be encouraged by your remarks

As you well stated, our privileged location allows us to guarantee our customers a pleasant and quiet environment, just 5 minutes from the beach and 15 minutes from the center of Sitges enjoying a nice walk.

We take note about your comments to discuss it in future improvement sessions.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Miguel Ferreres
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel look new a bitt of modern but room still the same need to do some changes yes ...
the service is great this our 5 year and we love ...only i dont like the tax for cataluňa ....no good butt is no for the hotel ...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivan-chaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSitges, Director General at Melia Sitges, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear ivan-chaser,

First of all, thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Meliá Sitges.

We are proud that, once again, you have chosen our hotel to your stay in our town and we are specially glad that you valued the friendliness of our team.

We hope to receive you soon at the hotel and we appreciate your trust in our services and facilities.

We send you warm greetings from Sitges.

Miguel Ferreres
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at the Melia Sitges for one night in May. The room was small sized but with a balcony and a great view of the swimming pool and town. Its located far away on a hill side with a good view of the bay and 15 mins walk for the centre of town. No coffee maker in the room but there was wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSitges, Director General at Melia Sitges, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear BarryDelhi

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your last stay in Sitges, as well as for taking the time to post your opinion on Tripadvisor.

As you say, our privileged location, allows our customers to go walking to Sitges downtown in 15 minutes and in 5 minutes to the beach.

It’s a pleasure to know that we achieve your expectations regarding our services. Your comments help us with our continues effort to improve.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to the Meliá Sitges.

Best regards,

Miguel Ferreres
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just got back from our stay. We had a booked a double room, half board and upon arrival - asked for sea view on high floor and the request was granted. The hotel is really nice, clean and modern hotel in great location. About 15 mins walk into Sitges town and 15 mins to the train station to get to Barcelona. The hotel mainly catered for businesses than tourists. If you want a quiet night sleep this is the hotel for you.

With regards to the meals - the buffet breakfast was impressive - great selection of hot / cold food and plentiful. However we were disspointed with the eveing meal as the previous reviews on tripadvisor rated the meals. We found the menu to be limited and it was the same menu every night for 5 nights. Overall enjoyed our stay but would recommend to book bed and breakfast and not half board.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSitges, Director General at Melia Sitges, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Russ915,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for your time taken on making this comments regarding your last stay with us.

As you say, our privileged location, allows our customers to go walking to Sitges downtown in 15 minutes and in 5 minutes to the beach.

I am sure that your words and comments will help us to stimulate and motivate all our Human Team to work on the same line of daily improvement.

We would share the comments concerning the half board to our food & beverage manager and we will work to improve our services.

We would be delighted to welcoming you back in Sitges.

Best Regards,

Miguel Ferreres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
2.7 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#5 of 38 in Sitges
2,578 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges
0.8 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 38 in Sitges
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 38 in Sitges
763 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 38 in Sitges
1,259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Sitges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Sitges

Property: Melia Sitges
Address: Joan Salvat Papasseit 38 | Port Aiguadolc, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#1 Spa Hotel in Sitges
#2 Family Hotel in Sitges
#2 Business Hotel in Sitges
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Sitges 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Sitges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Sitges Hotel Sitges
Sol Melia Sitges
Sitges Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing