We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only choice in Sitges”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Calipolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Calipolis
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The only choice in Sitges”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

Calipolis is a suberp hotel with an excellent location right on the beach. We stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed every second of this beautiful hotel. The rooms and bathrooms are quite large and very clean and elegant. Each room has a patio with a table and chairs and is the ideal spot for sundowners. It is best to request a corner or west facing room as these enjoy a great view of the beach and sea as well as get all of the delightful Mediterranean afternoon sun.
The pool is just the right size and is a great place to relax after being on the beach or wandering around nearby Barcelona. Calipolis is very close to the great restaurants and nightlife of vibrant Sitges. It is also quite close to the station to catch trains for a day exploring Barcelona which is only 25 minutes away.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atreides77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    324
    136
    35
    20
See reviews for
60
301
43
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BRISBANE
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

Sitges is just lovely. Whilst we were there in the low season, the views over the sea were lovely. The Staff were not there to provide service - the same bad attitude we encountered in another Sercotel.
The room was ok - good size. Its looks more "renovated" than nearly new.
Also, if you are in a car bigger than a motor bike - be prepared to have some fun getting in and out of hte car park!
Great location and views. Great restaurants nearby.
I would only recommend due to location - I hate to think what the service was like in high season!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAPPYAUSSIE_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

Stayed here for the Carnival for 3 nights, welcomed by the staff who spoke english very well. Our room was on the 9th floor with a great view, room had a balcony which faced the apart-hotal accross the road (but still had a great view off the beach and also got the sun all afternoon). The room was a twin (we pushed the beds togather to make a huuuge king). Very spacious and clean with a large bathroom with double sink, good powerful shower with glass screen, toilet and bidet. Room service was excellent and towels were changed every day.

The flatscreen in the room had two english speaking channels. a built in radio playing some fab chilled out music was very soothing.

We slept with the balcony door open and the crashing off the waves was excellent. Shampoo, bodywash and soap was provided also a free safe was available in the room.
The carnival was excellent and past right outside the hotel, would defo come back!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank As A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

Stayed in the Calipolis for 4 nights in Feb 09 during the Sitges carnaval. Check in was efficient and fast but a smile and a welcome would have been appreciated. All of the reception staff were generally unfriendly and borderline dismissive. Not a great welcome after a days travelling.
We paid a bit extra for a sea view room and got just that. We were in room 224 which faced out over the Passeig Maritim and "picnic" gay beach, which was of course deserted in February!

The room was a twin, very spacious and clean with a large bathroom with double sink, good powerful shower with glass screen, toilet and bidet. Probably one of the larger hotel rooms I've stayed in. Satellite flatscreen tv - great but once again the only english speaking channels were BBC World and CNN which isnt really good enough with the number of british visitors this resort gets. Nice balcony and a lovely view.

However, our room had an adjoining door to the next room which made it very noisy. We could hear almost every word of our neighbours conversations before they went out. It didnt keep us awake as i imagine we were keeping similar hours, however could be a real problem if guests in adjoining rooms had different holiday habits.

WiFi is available but at a cost of 12 euros for 24 hours. The exchange rate made this nearly £12 which i think is far too expensive in this day and age of supposedly "free" wifi.
The room safe was free of charge.

We paid 110 euros per night. This rate did not include breakfast and at the hotel's extortianate price of 17 euros we were not about to try it! i know sitges is generally an expensive town to visit but the equivalent of 17 quid for the usual spanish ham/cheese/bread/fruit is ridiculous.

The Carnaval was everything we expected - amazing costumes, floats and even the local spectators were all in fancy dress. The spanish really know how to have a party and another benefit of the Calipolis is that the parades pass right by the front of the hotel and can be watched from you very own grandstand view on your balcony.

Overall, a nice enough hotel in a great location. Overpriced but so is everything in Sitges.
I usually visit the town twice a year but the prices are making this prohibitive. We were told by a local bar owner that rents have dropped by nearly 50% in the last 6 months, however this isnt reflected in the prices being offered to tourists. A meal for two was 50 euros, a very small beer 3 euros, spirit with mixer 6 euros. I think this will be my last visit for a while, or at least until the pound recovers some strength.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achainam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

It was a big mistake to book here. We had just come from the Hotel Murmuri in Barcelona. And what a shock to find where were staying in Stiges. We tried to find another hotel in Barcelona, but we chose to tough it out. When we first walked through the hotel lobby, it was like walking into a dorm lobby with kitschy outdoor design furniture. And the hallways smelled like they had been freshly bleached as well as the room. The sheets were horrible, very coarse. The only thing good about the hotel was the location in front of the beach and the front desk people were nice. But let me tell you, we couldn't wait to leave for our flight the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank achainam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2008

We really enjoy this hotel. It is well maintained, clean, great location. But the hotel staff is cold, rude, and very unhelpful. As long as you know this and understand it - then it is a good hotel and you will have a great time in Sitges.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Steves_Rickshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

Definitely a very good hotel in Sitges....ask for a room in a high floor viewing the sea...its wonderful!! Service is fast and helpful

Room is big, not very spacious but enough and beds are cmfortable,everything looks quite new in there!
Bathroom is very big with a bath tub.

No complaints...just too overpriced 160 euros a saturday in july and its always moreless same prices!!

  • Liked — Views,location,rooms,small pool
  • Disliked — bit overpriced but it was July anyway
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank depo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 41 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#4 of 41 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 41 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calipolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calipolis

Property: Hotel Calipolis
Address: Avenida Sofia 2-6 | Paseo Martimo s/n, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#4 Business Hotel in Sitges
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#7 Family Hotel in Sitges
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Calipolis 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a stunning part of the Mediterranean, the Calipolis hotel boasts the best location in Sitges, with a full guarantee of quality and service. The Calipolis Hotel offers a total of 170 large, comfortable and well-lit rooms.All of them are equipped with air conditioning, heating, a desk, satellite television, mini bar, free safety deposit box, bathroom with hair dryer and toiletries, and FREE WI-FI. Rooms with a sea view, right on the beachfront, have a large private terrace with views of the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Calipolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calipolis Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing