We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Business Accommodations with A View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Calipolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Calipolis
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Business Accommodations with A View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Room was clean. Breakfast was superb. After 13 nights, the stay was not old. Staff was friendly and helpful, honoring my Do Not Distrub and Make Up My Room signs, and tolerating my rusty use of Spanish. The location was convenient for a variety of evening dining experiences.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjsullyiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    310
    129
    35
    20
See reviews for
56
292
43
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have not stayed in this hotel for a number of years however in Sitges a short time ago in the off season and due to new parkling restrictions I went for lunch in the Calipolis Restaurant in the hotel as I was able to park nearby..
The experience was very positive.
The restaurant (and from what I could see of the hotel) has had extensive refurbishment done with a very positive effect.
The lunch menu was varied and attractive with a very good and reasonable wine selection.
Normally one does not go to hotels for lunch in a resort such as Sitges with such a wide selection of restaurant available however I would suggest a change from this routine and recommend and a visit to the Calipolis hotel restaurant. On the 2nd floor with a pleasant view of the seafront and well placed tables this is a very pleasant location for a meal.
Quality of the food and wine was excellent .Staff very attentive and friendly and the price reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ernest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from staying 2 nights at the Hotel Calipolis in Sitges. The hotel is in a wonderful location right on the beach front with many bars and restaurants on the doorstep. We stayed in an executive sea view room which was spacious and modern but could have done with a little tlc to some areas. However, with this hotel it's all about the wonderful sea views from the balcony. Will definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonBoughey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We stayed here in August - it was very busy, but managed to get a room overlooking the beach from a high level. The rooms are fairly basic, but wifi was free. The breakfast buffet was excellent, but the main selling point is the location - very close to the beach and nightlife.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DRRHyvots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I've just returned from a great stay at the Hotel Calipolis.
We arrived into Barcelona airport and took the train to the resort. The journey was straightforward with a quick change at the 1st stop, El Prat de Llobregat, then straight on to Sitges. The one way fare was less than €4 euro each ( a lot cheaper than a taxi ). We then got a taxi to the hotel with our cases.
The hotel has a great location, just across the promenade from the beach. We had a balcony side sea view room which was spacious , modern and spotlessly clean. The only thing missing was tea/coffee making facilities. The pool is very small but with the beach across the road its not an issue. There's also a small public playground across the road for children.
We had breakfast included which had good continental choices and also other options such as Spanish omelette, smoked salmon.The bar in the hotel was a great place to relax with views over the promenade.
Reception staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. They offered a same day ironing service which was very welcome as we were attending a wedding. We also hired bikes from the hotel to cycle along the promenade
There's a lovely restaurant The American Steakhouse just a few doors from the hotel , its pricey but the food is good. There's a also a wide choice of restaurants and bars within walking distance both in the centre and along the promenade. Sitges is a lovely resort with a laid back feel. The port area/marina is also within walking distance ( about 40minutes) but it involves hills and steps.
Overall we had a lovely stay at the Hotel Calipolis and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Request a high floor to minimise street noise Side sea view/sea view rooms are worth the supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We went for a long weekend and were meeting friends. The hotel was clean and modern The staff were friendly , especially the bar staff. Breakfast buffet was ok but fulling. The rooms were modern, clean and we had a direct sea view. We had a large balcony so we had pre dinner drinks watching the moon come up. Great location too the beach restaurants cafés and cocktail bars.

Room Tip: Try to get room 722. Fantastic view and large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrygibbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Calipolis for 4 nights, the hotel is clean and nice, breakfast has a nice variety, the room is very minimalistic and white, the beds are very hard and uncomfortable and the bathroom is the same, white and uncomfortable, the balcony was spacious and lovely and the beach is really just 10 steps away.

for some reason they did not have air conditioning in the tiny gym, that was strange to me.

the staff was very nice and helpful but I think in general you would expect more from a hotel at this price level.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichalR82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#4 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
San Sebastian Playa Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calipolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calipolis

Property: Hotel Calipolis
Address: Avenida Sofia 2-6 | Paseo Martimo s/n, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#4 Business Hotel in Sitges
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#7 Family Hotel in Sitges
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Calipolis 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a stunning part of the Mediterranean, the Calipolis hotel boasts the best location in Sitges, with a full guarantee of quality and service. The Calipolis Hotel offers a total of 170 large, comfortable and well-lit rooms.All of them are equipped with air conditioning, heating, a desk, satellite television, mini bar, free safety deposit box, bathroom with hair dryer and toiletries, and FREE WI-FI. Rooms with a sea view, right on the beachfront, have a large private terrace with views of the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Calipolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calipolis Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing