We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Calipolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Calipolis
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Sherborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Calipolis is in a great location , we found the staff all very friendly and spoke very good English . Rooms were clean and spacious. Although pool is small ,it was quite adequate for quick dip and cool off ,with the beautiful beach just across the road a large pool is not needed.
Breakfast was delicious with a huge variety to choose from .
Our experience was an all together good one but I would agree that some noise can be heard at night from the street.
However, I would still highly recommend the Calipolis and hope to return next year

Room Tip: Sea view are best choice -although we had side sea view which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timtim2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    336
    137
    36
    21
See reviews for
64
309
43
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

6th year attending Sitges and have tried a number of hotels. I thought i would try this hotel after mixed reviews. I will try and give a fair review. The staff are polite and speak good English. The hotel is in a good location however for a further 5 minute walk you will find better hotels. The room was clean and the bathroom was to a good standard however the rooms are very basic and not to a 4 star standard. No iron available and there is a charge for the ironing service. The pool is like a bath tub and is ice cold. It is very noisey with very thin walls. The rooms start getting cleaned at approximately 0830 so forget a lay in. Better hotels to stay in are Medium hotel or Antermare for similar cost but better quality and more luxury.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathrow
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Mixed feelings about this hotel. If you don't get a sea view room it's not worth paying a premium to stay. The location is fantastic rooms very clean and spacious. Very good choice at breakfast although the hot food was a little cold especially the scrambled egg. Service at the hotel is very hit and miss. Bar staff disinterested and level of service clearly effected by there mood. No iron and iron boards due to health and safety ! Booked via booking.com a double room which we then had to pay a supplement as it was double occupancy. After much arguing and insisting on seeing the manager this was reduced but still annoying. I would stay again but not worth it if you don't get a room to enjoy the view.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanMadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Ignore some of the reports. The Hotel staff are excellent all speak English. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was lovely very modern and large with huge balcony overlooking the sea.I will agree that there is a lot of noise from other rooms but i spoke to the reception about it and they were pleased that we had raised the problem.Perfect for walking around to see this wonderful town with fabulous bars and restaurants will be coming back.

Room Tip: avoid rooms on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shooting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel saved me from the Terramar. Rather expensive, and reception staff a bit too formal and not willing to discuss rates, but all in all correct. Nice bathroom, but street noise and noise from other rooms as well so I ended up byuing some ear plugs, which was a good investment. The floor surface in the rooms are made of ceramic tiles, and they did not have any tissue on the rear ends of the furniture. So every time somebody in the neighboring rooms moved a chair, or the cleaning staff did their work, it sounded like an earthquake. But with ear plugs you're saved!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolaiv9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Overall, I liked my six-night stay at Calipolis. I disagree with the need for renovation some other reviewers mention as I thought the place was very clean and maintained. I booked a reservation over Expedia. I usually never do this as I prefer to deal with hotels directly. Expedia had my reservation as booked. When I arrived at the hotel after traveling all day from the US, the front desk had no record of my reservation. With a little research I was good to go and this involved me e-mailing the Expedia confirm to the desk manager. I was set up on the 7th floor room 727. By standards the room was small, but nicely decorated, basic and clean. The bathroom was fresh and clean. The balcony of the room was twice the size of the actual room itself and overlooked the sea and city. My room service every day was very good, including the refresh of the minibar. Noise level was ok, with most of the noise I experienced coming from floors above moving balcony furniture. The walls are not totally soundproofed and only one night I heard voices from the adjacent room (why I travel with 33db earplugs). Overall I would say it was what I expected, no disappointments, friendly staff and average value for what I paid. I would recommend this hotel as it's a 5 minute walk to the center and opposite the main beach. Location is perfect.

Room Tip: Definitely request a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harleybearBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This was my fourth stay in this hotel and it's starting to look like this hotel would be in a dire need of renovation. The overall decor and surfaces are beging to look really old and tired. Not to mention the bathrooms that are never dry and are like steamrooms for the rest of the stay right after the first shower.

The double bed in the delux sea view room had a huge crack in the middle of the bed so if you want to sleep close to the one close to your heart you'll have to settle with half of the bed.

+ be sure to leave tip for the room's cleaner to get the service you need.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EetuXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 38 in Sitges
1,791 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#5 of 38 in Sitges
2,370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel MIM Sitges
Hotel MIM Sitges
#10 of 38 in Sitges
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 38 in Sitges
1,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 38 in Sitges
899 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calipolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calipolis

Property: Hotel Calipolis
Address: Avenida Sofia 2-6 | Paseo Martimo s/n, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#4 Business Hotel in Sitges
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#7 Family Hotel in Sitges
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Calipolis 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a stunning part of the Mediterranean, the Calipolis hotel boasts the best location in Sitges, with a full guarantee of quality and service. The Calipolis Hotel offers a total of 170 large, comfortable and well-lit rooms.All of them are equipped with air conditioning, heating, a desk, satellite television, mini bar, free safety deposit box, bathroom with hair dryer and toiletries, and FREE WI-FI. Rooms with a sea view, right on the beachfront, have a large private terrace with views of the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Calipolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calipolis Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing