We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but, lacking of atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Calipolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Calipolis
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location but, lacking of atmosphere”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This Hotel on the beach promenade of Sitges is very well located but, it is lacking of atmosphere. This is more of a business and conference hotel than a nice romantic holiday hotel. However, if you have a room with sea view and baclony, it is worth it. Rooms are clean and teh staff are professional. One negative thing is that it can be noisy, as the hotel is located at the busy beach promenade, which also is a street for cars.

Room Tip: Room with balcony and seaview is a must at this hotel. Preferably ask for a room on the side of ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirienesral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    350
    141
    37
    21
See reviews for
72
321
45
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived early and they offered to hold our luggage until the rooms were ready. I was traveling with friends and together we occupied 4 rooms. Two ocean view rooms and two mountain rooms. I am not sure why but the mountain rooms paid more that the ocean view rooms. The hotel and rooms were clean and modern. The Hotel is nicely located and an easy walk to everything. The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and always available. The only downside is the poor sound proofing. I could hear every foot step my neighbors upstairs took and every word in the next room. Including his snoring! It's a party town so I was bothered because I was out late every night and passed out when I came back to my room. Light sleepers my have issues with this one. Excellent breakfast buffet with great coffee/Espresso and and reasonably price. I was very happy with the Hotel and I will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InTheBizToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacNW
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I spent a marvelous night in Sitges for my brother's wedding and stayed at the Hotel Calipolis. Not only is the hotel right in the middle of the action, everything you could ever want is within a short walk of the hotel. The hotel staff does not speak English, but are marvelous fun to play charades with and appreciated my horrible attempts at Catalan with the help of my dictionary.
We got a gorgeous room with a view of the sea and despite the fact that a couple of the amenities gave me pause, I found that it provided everything I needed for a day at the beach, some serious pre-wedding primping and a soft place to land after dancing all night long at the wedding.

My only complaint? There was a little sand on the floor, but with a view like that I hardly cared. I'd go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegasscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Did some research on this site and over all the reviews were above average. When I checked in at 2pm this gentleman was standing next to me complaining to the clerk behind the desk about asking him to come back for the third time for his room. I was early and my room was ready. He probably had another type of room and he was asked to wait two hours and he came back and asked to come back another hour then ask AGAIN to come back another hour. He said this is rubbish because they should let me know ahead if it took that long, i agreed. Obviously the supervisor behind the desk told the clerk in Spanish to upgrade the room so the man finally got it. I would be irrigated if I was in the same situation.

Room wise, it is clean and simple, nothing fancy except there is a leak in the toilet tank and it was making dripping noise all night. I didn't bother to ask to check the room because I know the hotel was fully book.

Breakfast is nice, sparking wine all you can drink along with white and red. Nice way to start the morning, isn't it?

Walking distance to town and convenient located. The beach is across the street and reviews are right about if you could, get the room with the balcony.

Would I recommend it? I would say yes. It is not expensive and I would stay there again with the balcony room next time.

Staffs - Just read the latest review "dreadful experience" and if I were the reviewer I would be pissed too.

Oh, it's got a pool and the size is decent. At least it's got one.

Everyone's experience is different so it is up to you to judge after reading reviews and make your own judgement.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfscubaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice room with a view on a wall and no balcony. The cleaning personnel is very loud so that sleeping late is not possible. The bathtub (swimming pool) and the terrace are a offence as they are too small!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymondanser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I had almost forgotten an appalling experience I had at this hotel last year when I recently received an e-mail inviting me to return and listing 8 reasons to do so. Granted I was there late in the Season; otherwise there can be no explanation for the dreadful experience I encountered. I booked a superior room and paid the supplement for same. It was beautiful Autumn weather. On check in staff appeared to speak little or no English. I expected the superior room to be on a high floor. I was assigned a perfectly ordinary room at ground floor level; granted with a sea view though this was obstructed by the street traffic. When I requested a room on a higher floor I was informed that none was available. I had a sleepless night as outside my room pipes pumped and groaned all night. Front desk staff professed not to speak English. Dreadful. Next morning a large number of people arrived for a conference or training session. I expect therefore staff were not pleased to have to deal with ordinary tourists who had the cheek to check in at the same time. Buffet breakfast was fine. I would not go next or near this establishment under any circumstances.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solomio123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

i had a room on the 8th floor with a balcony overlooking the sea
Large room and large bathroom.
The pool is small, but the sandy beach is just across the road..

Hotel food is excellent and excellent breakfast

Lots of beaches different beaches along the front. This town is a hidden gem and I would return later on in the year.
The bus (every hr) or train (1 change) from the airport is cheap 3euros. BUT the taxi was 70euros (motorway toll included)

Nice restaurants along the front and in the town

Room Tip: 8th floor facing the sea is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Blackadder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
1.7 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#5 of 38 in Sitges
2,581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 38 in Sitges
1,842 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel MIM Sitges
Hotel MIM Sitges
#9 of 38 in Sitges
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#12 of 38 in Sitges
1,002 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Medium Sitges Park
1.3 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calipolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calipolis

Property: Hotel Calipolis
Address: Avenida Sofia 2-6 | Paseo Martimo s/n, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#4 Business Hotel in Sitges
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#7 Family Hotel in Sitges
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Calipolis 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a stunning part of the Mediterranean, the Calipolis hotel boasts the best location in Sitges, with a full guarantee of quality and service. The Calipolis Hotel offers a total of 170 large, comfortable and well-lit rooms.All of them are equipped with air conditioning, heating, a desk, satellite television, mini bar, free safety deposit box, bathroom with hair dryer and toiletries, and FREE WI-FI. Rooms with a sea view, right on the beachfront, have a large private terrace with views of the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Calipolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calipolis Hotel Sitges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing