We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but a bit overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Subur Maritim
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Sitges
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice, but a bit overpriced”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Staff is really very friendly and helpful, however there is a definite lack of communication between shifts. We had reported some problems with room/equipment twice and both times when We checked on the status of complains,weI found that they were not recorded and a new person was unaware of them. The problems were fixed rather promptly afterwards. Minibar was moderately priced and there was free tea/coffee/water in the lobby whenever you wanted them. That was very convenient because there is no shops close to the hotel. The safe was free. The sunbeads on the beach are free if you stay in the hotel, and you pay only if you want some shade. Be aware that this particular beach is a rest stop for beach vendors. Spaniards an Africans are nice and quiet and do not create any inconvenience at all. Cannot say the same about Arabic lot, which is rather loud, but they do not stay around for long time. Breakfast was excellent- a lot of things including local specialities. City center and all the shops/restaurants are 20 minutes stroll on a very beautiful promenade. The stay was very pleasant. The only real disappointment was a room without sea view. I think a quarter of hotel rooms are like that, so we just were unlucky. I also think that the price was rather high and hotel is more 3 stars than 4.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna99n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur Maritim, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Anna99n,

Thank you for write your opinion about your recent stay at our Hotel, Best Western Subur Maritim. Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations, we'll be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we could offer a better experience for guests in the future.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you’ll choose our Hotel for your next visit to Sitges!

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    262
    129
    33
    22
See reviews for
143
339
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Staff friendly and helpful-especially Isabella.Decent size room-comfy beds-nice and quiet.First bottle of water is free then small charge-free safe in the room,hairdryer and shampoo/shower gel and air conditioning plus wall mounted tv.Across the road from the beach, where sunbeds are free-voucher from reception or sit by the pool.If you dont want to move the bar does snacks and drinks which arent too much more than sitges town prices.Breakfast was 7.30-11am and was in a cool lower ground area,it as help yourself it had juices/tea/coffee.Yoghurts,toasts and jams,cakes,cheeses.hams/cold meats and then hot eggs/srambled/fried, sausages and bacon.Couldnt fault it.Stroll along the front in 10mins to the start of plenty of shops/restaurants.If walkings too much in the sun then flag down the little train that runs to the church in the centre at a cost of 2 euros each.They hire out bikes too at 10 euros a day.We found everything we needed here and wouldnt hesitate to stay here again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Had room 107 which faced the back but got the last of the sun of an evening,nice to sit on the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cav64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur Maritim, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Cav64,

Thank you for write your opinion about your recent stay at our Hotel, Best Western Subur Maritim. Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments (thank you for your nice comments about breakfast service and Staff, specially from Isabel). We'll take note about your tips regarding décor, doors and walls,

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you will enjoy again in your next stay in Sitges with us!

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night towards the end of August. The location is great, right next to the beach, and the pool/outside area is fantastic. Friendly staff at the bar but rather unfriendly at the restaurant.
Service at the front desk was quite poor, only 1 person who spent most of the time on the phone providing room rates and availability.
The room itself was very basic, clean but noisy. We could hear the neighbors next door through the bathroom window, and every door opening and closing in the corridor. Overall we felt it was quite expensive for the room, but spending the day by the pool was nice. They also offer free bicycles for guests which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay_1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur Maritim, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Kay_1488,

Thank you for share your opinion about your recent stay at our Hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments. By telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you're helping us to offer a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We’ll take note about your comments regarding Restaurant and Frontdesk Staff, and your tips about noise, we’ll try to take measures to improve our service and facilities and services.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you will enjoy again in your next stay in Sitges with us!

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our third time at this hotel , a relaxed environment along with really helpful and characterful staff .
A outside great bar and restaurant we had suckling pig with apple wrapped in filo pastry which was outstanding .
A great location ,using the hotels bikes or walking along the esplanade into town .
The pool and surrounding is comfortable and safe right next to the beach with a hop ,step and a jump to the sea ! The rooms are clean tidy and spacious .
Our girls 9 and 12 love this hotel and sitges ,well be back again next year

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool and sea on the east side are great ,we had a room overlooking the small h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur Maritim, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Nick M,

Thank you for write your opinion about your recent stay at our Hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments. Thanks for your nice comments about our staff & Restaurant.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you will enjoy again in your next stay in Sitges with us next year!

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanford-le-hope
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

On arrival was informed that breakfast was not included although paid full amount to last minute.com, I was told my problem, sort it out, YOU MUST PAY, this took me 5 hours over two days a number of phone calls and emails, We learnt that the room was rented to another company who had made a mistake and did not pay for the breakfast.
Best Western who does own your rooms and trades under your name,
Room perfect location to ensure you could see when a parking space became available.
Location yes close to the beach and indeed a great swimming pool, but beware this is open to non residents also as the Car park, if you are expecting exclusive use of facilities you will be disappointed

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the beach, not the car park or the next door house and the swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur Maritim, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Keith P,

Thank you for write your opinion about your recent stay at Best Western Hotel Subur Maritim Hotel.

Your comments are very important to us because telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you’re helping us to offer a better service in the future.

Regarding the problems with your reservation, we would like to inform you that we recieved the reservation on the basis of only room, that means that breakfast was not included, therefore it was necessary to contact with the travel agent since they were the ones who charged the total amount of your reservation and then in this way, they should be able to have solved the misunderstanding.

We deeply regret all the setbacks caused to you due to this incident.


We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If we can provide you any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail.

Sincerely,


Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager Manager Best Western Subur Maritim Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at this hotel which was recommended by friends. We had a lovely few days, the hotel is in a great location. We had a 2nd floor seaview/pool view room which was very comfortable, clean, quiet. The breakfasts were lovely and adequate, again in clean comfortable surroundings. The reception staff were very friendly, helpful and happy people, they even gave me a bottle of bubbly on ice for my birthday!! The bar/restaurant area was nice but found it very expensive, we ate lunch there on our first day, one meal was luke warm and the tuna sandwiches we had another day were served in soggy white cheap bread. The male staff at the Mosquito bar/restaurant although polite, weren't as friendly or happy and seemed to bicker amongst themselves quite a bit. However, it hasn't put us off as we most likely will return but maybe in the cooler months. Thank you to Natalia & her staff for an overall lovely stay.

Room Tip: Seaview /poolview, these stay cooler in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank dg002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur Maritim, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear dg002,

Thank you for share your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us and we value your opinion. By telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you're helping us to offer a better experience for you and other guests in the future. About the problems with the Restaurant will be very helpfull for us to improve our service Restaurant.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you will enjoy again in your next stay in Sitges with us.

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager Best Western Hotel Subur Maritim 4* Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

It was okay as a base to sleep in then head to the beach, restaurants and clubs. When we booked it was stated as a four star hotel, however when you see the rooms it is clearly a 3 star. The décor is very dated with scuffs on the doors and walls.

What made the experience great was the staff. They were incredibly friend and helpful and couldn't do enough for you. I would like to thank especially Dalida whom was amazing, always smiling and approachable and would always help. The breakfast is good value for the area (11euros for a buffet) unless you book it as part of you holiday. The hotel services are also great.

The rooms come with a free safe and air conditioning and a television (though to be fair we didn't use the TV at all so no comments on channels etc).

Location wise, I enjoy walking so it is a slow 20-25min stroll along the water front to get to the main centre where all the bars, restaurants and clubs are, though if you want to catch cabs everywhere, bring a big wallet.

Keep up the excellent service, but please update the room.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room so you cant hear kids running around and banging on an uncarpeted floor abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaughtyBear32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur Maritim, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear NaughtyBear32,

Thank you for write your opinion about your recent stay at our Hotel, Best Western Subur Maritim. Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments (thank you for your nice comments about staff, specially from Dalida). We'll take note about your tips regarding décor, doors and walls,

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you will enjoy again in your next stay in Sitges with us!

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
1.1 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#4 of 38 in Sitges
2,466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 38 in Sitges
949 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#7 of 38 in Sitges
747 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 38 in Sitges
1,813 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 38 in Sitges
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Subur Maritim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Subur Maritim

Property: Hotel Subur Maritim
Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n | Esquina Paseo Doctor Benapres, 08870 Sitges, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Subur Maritim 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the sea, the Hotel Subur Maritim in Sitges offers an excellent location and service, making it the best choice of Hotel to live Sitges while enjoying your life in a unique place.Discover the charming walk from the promenade and the beaches of Sitges to museums and a shopping area which the town has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Subur Maritim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Subur Maritim Hotel Sitges
Best Western Hotel Sitges
Best Western Sitges
Sitges Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing