We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All depends on who's at reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Subur Maritim
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“All depends on who's at reception”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our first three days of our stay : the bed, it was extra large (2.80 m). The room and the hotel were really clean. The housemaids were extra attentive. The hotel lays at about a 15 minutes walk from centre town but you can walk the seapromanade so it's a nice walk or biking. Actually it's a big plus because you don't have to deal with the streetnoice in centre town. Isabel at the reception and Barbara of the breakfastroom are adorable as staff ! First three days we give 9/10 !

As we had such a good stay the first three days we decided to add two extra nights in the hotel. We asked if that was possible on our first day. There was no problem. We could get a similar room as we had. When we switched to our other room we were told to get an upgrade. We could get the junior suite for the same price as our previous room, 190 euro a night. When we entered the new room it appears to be a very dark room, smaller then our previous room, and without a balcony, there was only a very small window with almost no view. We also discovered on booking that the dayprice for this (new) room was only 129 euro and not the 190 euro we were supposed to pay for it ! So we refused to stay there and asked reception to arrange a simular room as before. We now got another 'simular' room with seaview was told. Actually it was one on the first floor with no privacy at all. It was facing the swimmingpool, the restaurant and the bar. Everyone could look inside our room. There was also no big bed as in our first room, only two seperate small singleperson beds placed together, they looked like armybeds. At night they moved apart on the slippery floor, therefore we had to place them against a wall. After a night without sleep on these terrible small beds we got an extra surprise being disturbed by the gardener who was doing the grass at 07.30 am with a lawn mower on gasoline just below the balcony. It made terrible noice probably waking up the whole hotel and neighbourhood. The two extra nights at Subur Maritim were really horrible and especially overpriced for what we got. We had three days of stress being there and definately changed our opinion about the hotel. We were promised an simular room as before, payed the same price but got downgraded. We asked if breakfast was included, they say it was not but when we got the bill it appeared it was ! They reacted in a very ignorant way when we made complaint. We wrote a letter to the managment the last day but never got any answer. ALL depends on the goodwill of who's at the reception. And above all: asking 190 euro for a room that is marked 1only 29 euro/day is over unfair !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mc3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur Maritim, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Mc3000,

Thank you for write your opinions about your recent stay at our Hotel. Your comments are very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you are helping us to deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future.

On behalf of our entire team, we would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your last days. Your satisfaction is very important to us and as you know we tried to offer you our best assistance and options (like breakfast in the garden), we'll use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we could offer a better experience for guests in the future. About the rates and the types of rooms, the only difference between standard rooms are the type of beds, we have double bedded rooms and twin rooms. Junior Suites Rooms are very nice rooms (without balcony) but more confortable and his price is highest than standard rooms, but some guests are happiest having balcony... Rates are changing every day and sometimes we launch special lastminute deals, probably was your case and for this reason you detected different rates.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to write in Tripadvisor.

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    247
    118
    30
    21
See reviews for
131
326
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel boasts a lovely location across the street from one of Sitges' beaches. It is a fifteen minute walk from the central part of town. It has a very nice pool and outdoor lounge area. The front desk staff are great, and the outdoor staff are helpful. Bottled water and self serve Nespresso are complimentary. The rooms and bathrooms are tired but clean. A refurbishment is overdue. We also were assigned room 114 as our second room for our adult children traveling with us. The AC kept making loud banging noises. Our room was 109, right at the top of the first stair landing. Stairway noise was not an issue. The elevator is very tiny. This hotel hosts private parties and events and such happenings start late and go well into the night. Noise could be a real issue, so a room away from the pool or the beach in someways is a better choice.
Be aware!! There is another hotel with the same name in Sitges, Subur Maritim. That hotel is not as family friendly and is right in the center of town. Taxi drivers do not know how to find this Best Western location. Call the hotel before you arrive and get the cross street or at least the name of the beach across the road. If your taxi driver goes to the wrong hotel you could be stuck paying for a longer cab fare or worse yet, not getting picked up at the right time to make your plane or train connections. Overall, I would recommend this location over staying at a hotel in the center of the town.

Room Tip: Only a limited number of rooms have ocean front view and these are closer to events and entertainmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges at Hotel Subur Maritim, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Javabean7052,

Thank you for write your opinion about your recent stay at our Hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments (thank you for your nice comment about the desk lady). By telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you're helping us to offer a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We'll take note about your tips and we'll try to improve this things and offer better service to our guests.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We booked 1 room for 2 adults & 2 kids which was fine as we had room with 2 double beds BUT the room (no. 114) was awful... Balcony with no breeze, view of kitchen roof & constant noise & smells from kitchen, we asked to change & on 3rd day we were given room 209 which was on the side of the property ( not the side over looking pool), this room had less beds (3 singles) but we managed fine with this as my husband & I & our 4 year old slept in 2 beds together & our teenager in the other.
Balcony had sunshine afternoon & evening & was great for when our little one tried the mini club as we could sit on balcony & watch him!
Staff were lovely particularly blonde lady on reception & Maria from mini club.
Lovely pool, outside bar & restaurant area, but pool is too deep for young children to stand in . towels could be obtained & exchanged as often as you wish. Aso free use of sunbeds on beach across the road ( just need to get ticket from reception). Never experienced any problems with poolside sunbedavailability.
Hotel was basic & felt like a 3 rather than 4 star BUT this seems to be the standard in sitges in other places we have stayed at previously, I'm probably making more of a comparison with other countries
Mainntown& shops are about 15 min walk which is nice in evening but a bit of. Grind in day if you just want to go & get some bits, but hotel does have bikes available to use free of charge which is an easy was to whizz into town
Mini club just started on our last day ( starts at beginning of August) & was lovely & friendly.
Didn't eat at hotel except a toastie & some fries one afternoon tht were fine.
Mini bar in room, no iron, no kettleorbcoffee maker & basic bathroom hair dryer. Coffee machine & kettle in reception could be used anytime with all coffee capsules, tea bags etc included.
Hotel does accept pets, we had a couple in the room next door to us with a small dog.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get room 114 .. Worse room of hotel, I not think 214 isnt much better either as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdawn1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges at Hotel Subur Maritim, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear tdawn1970,

Thank you for write your tips regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.

Your comments are very important to us, we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you're helping us to deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future.

We're very happy because during your stay we could solve your problems and finally your opinion about us is very nice.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail (for future reservations please send us an e-mail asking for a special code to have our better conditions). Thank you again for taking the time to write in Tripadvisor. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand, we hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Good hotel in very quiet part of Sitges just a 12 minute walk at a brisk pace to The central part of the city
Rooms and beds are large and clean. We had a room with a sea and pool view.
The pool is lovely. Very large and not very busy. And the pool area wonderful with a lawn filled with many chairs and tables.
Very quiet beach just opposite the hotel
We ate two lunches at the hotel restaurant. Good food but a bit too high-priced .
We stayed a week. And after a couple if days were a bit bored by the breakfast buffet. There ought to be more variation. It was exactly the sAme every day. And not at the level one would expect at this price. It was decent but very basic.
Would recommend following 3 restaurants in the city : Santa Maria, El rincon de Pepe and an Italien restaurant whose name I don't recall about a 10 minute wAlk from the hotel

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges at Hotel Subur Maritim, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Ed,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. Your comments are very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you are helping us to deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again for fourth time soon!

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to write in Tripadvisor. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed in the beginnig of June. Staff in the hotel is exceptionally good. Rooms are spacious with a nice view. We had a room in the third floor at the end of the corridor and it was very quiet with a nice view from our balcony. Rooms are kept clean. Food served in the hotel is expensive but really good quality. Any downside is the fact that it is a bit far from the town centre. The distance is not a problem in the evenings but if you are hungry and would like to have lunch in town it is not a pleasant walk in the hot summer day. Pool is small but clean, and plenty of space for everyone by the pool. Didn't like the coffee making facility, would prefer to have a kettle in the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FajkiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges at Hotel Subur Maritim, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear FajkiTravel,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. Your comments are very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you are helping us to deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again for fourth time soon!

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to write in Tripadvisor. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed in June in a very nice hotel, with a charming lady at the reception, who studied at Leiden-University and even spokes a few Dutch words. Leiden is just 6 miles from Noordwijk it's a small world! Had a great time, free upgrade to a Juniorsuite, with gigantic bath, and a beautiful view at sea,breakfast (buffet) was very good with hot and cold cerials, the food(paella, cood platters etc.) from the restaurant had a good quality, nice swimmingpool-area. The centre of Sitges is on walking distance, you need about 25 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jancarla-dutchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Receptionist in Best Western Hotel Subur Marítim at Hotel Subur Maritim, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Jancarla,

Thank you for writing your opinion about your stay at our Hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments.

Your comments are very important to us, we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you're helping us to deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future.

Personally, I would like to thank you for the beautiful comment you made about me, that made me very happy and I am deeply grateful . In addition, I am very glad you had a nice stay in the hotel.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Isabel Reixach
Receptionist in Best Western Hotel Subur Marítim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Have just spent a week here with my other half. Hotel location is good, around a 15 minute flat walk from the town centre, along the promenade.
Hotel itself is a bit dated but is very clean & manned by excellent staff who are all in the main cheerful, pleasant, helpful & friendly.
Check in was swift but we weren't really given any information. When we arrived at our room (114) we found we had been given what must be the worst room in the whole of the hotel. Its next to cleaners room, window facing onto wall of the older building, no sun on balcony, continual noise of clatter of plates coming from restaurant kitchen next door plus door slamming in car park.Add into this the smell of the bins below so as you can imagine we weren't happy. Straight way we asked for another room but the receptionist who had checked us in said it was impossible for us to move rooms as the hotel was full all week.
After resigning ourselves to having to make the most of it it was a most pleasant surprise when later on that same day a different receptionist waved us over to the desk to say that we could change rooms the following day to a top floor room which was much better.All credit to her for her help & also for the information she gave us.
We stayed on a bed & breakfast basis & breakfast was good. A selection of fresh fruits, fruit juices,bread, croissants, cheese etc plus eggs, bacon & sausage for those in need of a fry up.All the restaurant staff we saw were always friendly & cheerful.
Pool area at the hotel is good with sunbeds with mattresses. Pool towels are available saving room in the suitcases plus you don't need any towel card, to pay a deposit or to pay for a clean towel as some hotels have started to add in a cost for this.The hotel also has a small section of beach & you can get a daily ticket from reception for loungers on the beach.
Our room(s) both had had 2 large very comfy beds, flat screen TV (which we didn't use),safe etc.
Rooms had good aircon & large bathrooms but the bathrooms were really the area which let down the hotel as were very dated & well worn, although they were clean & worked as they should, apart from the glass shower screens which had a half inch gap underneath so unless you were careful water went all over the floor. The cleaners left the room spotless every day.
All in all a good stay & I would go back (but not to room 114).

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, avoid room 114 at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittysmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur Maritim, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear kittysmama,

Thank you for write your tips regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.

Your comments are very important to us, we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you're helping us to deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future.

We're very happy because during your stay we could solve your problems and finally your opinion about us is very nice.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail (for future reservations please send us an e-mail asking for a special code to have our better conditions). Thank you again for taking the time to write in Tripadvisor. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand, we hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitges hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Subur
Hotel Subur
#11 of 40 in Sitges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Calipolis
Hotel Calipolis
#6 of 40 in Sitges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunway Playa Golf Hotel & Spa Sitges
1.1 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#5 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Galeon
Hotel Galeon
#2 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Subur Maritim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Subur Maritim

Property: Hotel Subur Maritim
Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n | Esquina Paseo Doctor Benapres, 08870 Sitges, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Subur Maritim 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the sea, the Hotel Subur Maritim in Sitges offers an excellent location and service, making it the best choice of Hotel to live Sitges while enjoying your life in a unique place.Discover the charming walk from the promenade and the beaches of Sitges to museums and a shopping area which the town has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Subur Maritim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Subur Maritim Hotel Sitges
Best Western Hotel Sitges
Best Western Sitges
Sitges Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing