We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still very good to me” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beach House

The Beach House
Ranked #25 of 363 Restaurants in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: European, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mediterranean Asian Fusion sea front restaurant and cocktail bar with accomidation
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Still very good to me”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

The Beach House has always been one of our favourite restaurants in Sitges so I was concerned to read recent poor reviews following its relocation. Therefore it was with a degree of trepidation we visited again last night. TAKE HOME MESSAGE: we needn't have worried - another excellent experience. So don't get all the moans in other reviews. Food was very good and service swift and utterly friendly. The menu has changed a bit but not necessarily for the worse. It has lost a bit of the quirkiness of the old place but that is balanced with lovely outdoor seating.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    262
    99
    69
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Seems much changed...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Returned to Beach House on fourth visit to Sitges.

Lovely setting as now located on the beach front under canopies. Very well appointed décor.

Food used to be very, very good but the menu has changed significantly and not for the better. Prices seem to have increased considerably and portion sizes shrunk significantly. Food was slow to arrive. No bread, olives or anything else offered.

Wine and water arrived, warm. When asked about this, the waiter seemed indifferent, implying that they had been busy and therefore the wine and water would not be chilled. Perhaps buy a bigger wine chiller?

The restaurant seems to have moved away from providing a decent service to one of reluctant engagement with their customers. We were a reasonably large group, around 8.

While the waiter was polite, there seemed an air of insincerity, reference the wine.

The place used to be great - the food was fantastic as was the setting. The food is still good, though smaller portions and significantly more expensive - a poor trade off. If it were to return to the previous model, we would certainly visit again. Based on this last experience, however, we would not.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ThomasBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We shouldn't have to feel grateful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Our food - when it eventually came - was delicious. Clearly the chef can cook. What we found insulting was the underlying attitude of the staff, like we were lucky to have been able to secure a table in the first place, lucky to be squashed in like sardines so that we could hear every word said by the (disgruntled) party next door, lucky to get our food at all. When we politely asked about the long wait for our main meal we were rather snootily told - it's a small kitchen; these things take time. We'd have been happy to accept this but there was no hint of apology or acknowledgement that anything was wrong. So much about this restaurant could have been good, it's a shame the attitude of the staff lets it down. They need to visit nearby Alfresco and learn a thing or two about true hospitality.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank CherryMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Beach House - The Surf Board Has Floundered!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

If you are happy to wait an excessively long period to eat and be subjected to poor customer service and appalling management attitude, feel free to go, and be prepared to be disappointed.

We have eaten at the Beach House in Sitges on several occasions over the past few years and have returned due to the convivial atmosphere and ambience of the restaurant and the attentive and well-natured attitude of the staff. On a previous occasion, I wrote afterwards to compliment the staff on the quality of the dining experience and the way they engaged with us in a non-intrusive manner during our meal.

On our return to Sitges again this year we noticed the Beach House had relocated and were keen to return in the hope of having a dining experience similar to our previous ones.
We arranged a party of eight and reserved a table for 9.30pm. However, on this occasion while the meal was of a good standard, the quality of the service, lengthy time between courses and the attitude of management fell considerably short of our previous experience.

Our party of eight professionals (including a solicitor, an architect, an engineer, a lecturer and other senior management) arrived promptly at 9.30pm and were shown to our table. We were issued with menus but shortly afterwards we were asked to share the menus as they were required at another table. Perhaps this was an early indication that the facilities were insufficient to deal with the number of customers at that time.

Our starters arrived in a staggered manner and in consideration for our other party members, we politely chose to wait until all starters had arrived before commencing eating. Afterwards, when we questioned the time it took for us to be served, the management’s erroneous justification for their service shortcomings was that our party had taken 40 minutes to eat our starters, when the fact was that we were all finished in a reasonable period of time but that our empty plates were not cleared away for some considerable time after that.

On three separate occasions, we asked when our main courses would be ready and were advised that they would be with us shortly although this never really happened. However, the main courses did not start to arrive at the table until over 1 hour 45 minutes after arriving at the restaurant. During this period we noticed that other smaller parties which had arrived later than us had been served, fed, and had left during the period we were still waiting. The party next to us also questioned when their food was going to arrive.

The serving staff were clearly overstretched by the volume of customers and our waiter did appear to be sympathetic to the unreasonably long period of time we had to wait to be served. However, the unnecessary and aggressive intervention of the manager when we were attempting to pay for our meal is the primary reason we will not return to the Beach House.

While the manager was defensive of his restaurant operation, he clearly failed to understand and acknowledge the genuine and constructive comments we were attempting to make and lacked any basic negotiating social skills to successfully deal with the situation to his and our party’s reasonable satisfaction. He seemed to be particularly uncaring and showed no sympathy to our position or be bothered at all that his unnecessary actions lost the respect of our party and he admitted that he was not concerned by the possibility of negative reviews of the Beach House being made in forums online.

Some might argue that the new Beach House has bitten off more than it can chew on this occasion based on the new larger location, number of potential customers arriving simultaneously and a kitchen set-up which was clearly unable to satisfactorily support the restaurant when it is at full capacity.

If this is typical of service the new Beach House is happy to serve up to its customers, we wish the new location well for the future. However, on the basis of the wholly and overly heavy handed approach adopted by management, neither me or the remainder of our party will be returning to the Beach House again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Johnathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A real disappointment !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

This is the first review online I have written and the reason I am now doing it is that I am quite outraged at the attitude of the owner of the restaurant when we complained about the wait for our food. Arrived at 9:30 pm and finally left at 11:15pm having only had 2 courses. It took an hour between finishing our starter and the main arriving , the reason given to us was we took 40 mins to eat our starter ! No apology it was our fault! It still doesn't excuse the 1 hour wait or the aggressive attitude we got when we complained. We were told other people waited this length of time and didn't complain, so it was us being unreasonable!!! Food was ok in truth, some dishes excellent, but pricey. Doesn't have the 'dining experience ' you used to have in the old location which is why it was so disappointing. Having tried to explain our frustrations we were finally told not to come back: definitely no chance of that this side of hell freezing over!

Helpful?
9 Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach House also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing