We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mare Nostrum

Mare Nostrum
Ranked #66 of 366 Restaurants in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Traditonal restaurant with quality food. A relief compared with the many tourist traps in Sitges. I think it is family run and service excellent. The terrace is just prefect. Do try the lemon pie for desert, and if you still feel thirsty, try their famous gin tonic. You will not be disappointed by Mare Nostrum if you like good Spanish food.

Helpful?
Thank Edwardams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    108
    37
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Feldkirch, Austria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Sitges”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is one of our favourite restaurants in Sitges. The cuisine is just superb and oh so fresh, for not cheap but less expensive than other, less good restaurants in the village. Jose, the maitre d', is a great host and always so friendly, even having our little kids around. He always has something tasty to reccommend, and his lovely nature makes the dining experience even better. Paella is heavenly, as well as more local dishes like the Xato. Try the homemade lemon meringue or other tarts for dessert, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jaquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were recommended to eat here by a local and his advice proved good. We looked at other restaurants in Sitges but most of these were "international" rather than Spanish. I think Mare Nostrum definitely has the feel of an authentic local Spanish restaurant and most of the patrons seemed to be Spanish. Having said that at least one of the waiters spoke very good English and the service was as good as I have experienced anywhere. Our party all stuck to fish dishes (although meat was available) and all the choices were excellent. We avoided paella as we had seen reviews about that but if that was as good as the fish we had there would be no problem. Wine was also very good. Some of us had sweets which I have to say were disappointing. It is located on the front and we had an table outside. It is not cheap but worth paying the money for.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best full-price option in Sitges”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Mare Nostrum suffers on TripAdvisor because it is very much a locals' restaurant, and locals are much less likely to write reviews than tourists. It is full on Saturday and Sunday lunch all throughout the year, not just in high season - in winter when everything nearby is closed or deserted, it will be full. The seafood here is the thing - the "picar picar" starters and the main course fish are fresh and delicious, and that's what keeps the locals coming back. This repeat custom has its drawbacks for tourists: firstly it is expensive, although very similar to many other inferior places in Sitges, and second it means they can sometimes afford somewhat to overlook casual visitors. However, in general they are very friendly, the service can be excellent, but can get a bit fraught when they are really busy. My favourite dish is sole in almond sauce, it is actually my favourite meal ever, other than mum's roast Sunday dinner, as the fish flesh literally melts in your mouth.

So give them a chance - you will get a table much more easily in the evening than on weekend lunchtimes - and choose the fish, not the paella.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sjpoyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
268 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Average Paella in Sitges”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Since I'm a Paella lover and I used to travel to Sitges every Summer in the last few years, I eat Paella here everytime it happens I'm in Sitges. After few years of eating Paella here and in other places I noticed that this place doesn't serve the best Paella in Sitges.

The last time I ate here, the Paella contained more oil and less seafood than the usual. It seemed to me that they started to serve it in a 'mass food serving', they were not interested in the details and the richness in the seafood as before. However, it was OK to eat there this time.

The staff are friendly but don't expect much smile or 'welcome back' expression, especially if you don't speak Spanish like me!

There was little noise from the street which is facing the restaurant and expect much curious eyes from the passbyers looking at your you and your plate!

I would recommend this restaurant for just only one time for those who might visit Sitges for the first time! but not for those who would love Paella much and care about the details.

It was my last time there and will never eat there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellerMan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mare Nostrum also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Mare Nostrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing