We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Abat Cisneros
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montserrat
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This hotel is adjacent to the Basilica and is the best location in the area. Breakfast was good. Take the tram up to the Chapel of Sant Joan, then walk down. The views are fabulous and it was a fairly easy walk.

Room Tip: We had room 208. I believe 201-209 all have good views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanDiegoPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Abat Cisneros
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 293 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

We expected simple and clean for the only hotel in the sacred place of Montserrat. Instead, we got a comfortable hotel, well-staffed with a room that was warm and pleasant. The restaurant was nothing special but plenty good enough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XYZABCTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The best part of staying here is the peace and quiet in this amazing site when the day tourists are gone. Sitting in the Basilica listening to the Monastery choir was a moving experience that I will always cherish.
The hotel itself seems to replicate the life that is lead by the monks. The rooms are simple but clean. We did have to keep the bathroom door shut to lessen the musty odor coming from the rock wall which the hotel is built in to, and we had a room with a view. My guess would be that rooms facing the wall would also have a significant smell of mold.
It's unfortunate that the hotel restaurant, which is the only one open for dinner, doesn't have an herb garden. The food wasn't terrible but so bland. Nothing that a few good fresh herbs or spices couldn't fix!
Though the Monastery feels a world away from Barcelona, it's actually a very easy one hour drive to the airport. I would recommend a visit if you have one last night to add a beautiful sight.

Room Tip: Top floor with a view, of course!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OregonNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Booking in advance by their web you can get a 20% discount offer which includes free tickets for the rack railway or "cremallera" train (tickets are to be collected at Monistrol station, before going up the mountain).

Do not expect much for room with views, as the area of the Monastery is quite enclosed amon vertical stone walls.
This is nice accomodation in a good sized room, which has two separate beds (not a double one) with good and firm matresses, bathroom with bathtub and shower with strong water flow, flat TV aprox 21'' (only local channels, though), and free wifi signal available all along (although advertised as only available in public areas). Also, you have individual room heating
control, as the place gets chilly in the evening.

Buffet breakfast is excellent (real orange juice, yogurt with honey, "pa amb tomaquet", home pudding, decent self service coffee machine, some details like fresh figs).

Details to improve in room:
* acustic isolation (some noise of banging doors can be heard).
* no hairdrier
* pillow too flat in bed for my tastes.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in upper floor (3rd) if looking for silence.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torremaules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Montserrat! Totally awesome! Simply no words to describe this unique, one of a kind shrine tucked into the mountains of Montserrat. Pictures only whet your appetite. This is the home of the Benedictine monastery with the Basilica and surrounding buildings making up the 2 blocks of the monastery complex. The monastery was built around 1025. Here is housed the famous, "La Moreneta", or Black Madonna which is the center, heart and soul of the Sanctuary. As unbelievable as it can be, you are inches away from her as you climb the stairs behind the altar and you can actually touch her even though she is behind plexiglass. Turn around and you have a grand view of the Basilica from your high perch!
There is dancing and celebrations on the atrium front of the Basilica but a quiet place to walk and pray after all the daily visitors have gone home in the evening.
Our hotel - more modern than most that we encountered on our pilgimage. Beds seemed to be extra small and not too comfortable, bathroom very small, clean, ample for a traveler. Our room was #128. Was hoping to get a view but we did have a nice big tree with friendly branches almost coning in our window! Negative - just across a playground where, even though there is an 11 pm curfew, it is not 'honored' until after midnight! Once the kids are gone, you can sleep with your window open. Food was disappointing - except the delicious breakfasts - boiled eggs, meat, cheese, pastries a plenty, fruit -- eat up for the day! Small and crowded eating area, especially when more than one group is having breakfast. The dinners were touted as being exceptional but we ended eating up less than half of our plate of food. Good wine, though, so indulge. For lunch we were only there one day and two nights, we ate at the cafeteria on the ground level, Quite an experience, but better food than at the hotel and you get to choose what you want. There are several venues to choose if you have the time and stamina -- take the Santa Cova cable car or the Saint Joan railway up the mountains to see the Stations of the Cross, the Holy Cave, Chapel of St. Michael or the Chapel of St. John. We didn't have time to do any of this but it's available. We went to Manresa for Mass for the day - a short drive by bus and a very spiritual experience being in the cave where St. Ignatius actually wrote the Spiritual Exercises. By all means get a Montserrat tourist book with lots of pictures so you can read and see what you have 'seen' so you can really believe your eyes!

Room Tip: Rooms facing out toward the atrium and Basilica would have been great - don't know the numbers...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 67shirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Sometimes you have to suffer for your art! Personally I was able to put up with the bells others might not be able to, but if you do stay you will get to experience the real splendour of Montserrat before the trains start to bring in the (other) tourists. The rooms are clean, not huge but adequate; no complaints about the room. It would be difficult to put a price on the views and the feeling of privilege when the crowds depart. It would be worth staying two nights to give you the time to fully explore the paths, museum and Basilica. Sock up well on the buffet breakfast , which was good and you might not feel disappointed about the evening meal. Well worth a return.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms looking into the rock face
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Mostly because of the convenience and the *incredible* view from our window. The hotel was very clean but the drains a bit smelly (we put plugs in the holes to stop the smell).
On one of the nights we found it difficult to sleep at night with the cathedral bells going off *all* night - not just the standard quarterly hourly ones but also at about 4am a whole string of them that didn't seem to end! I'm not sure what the event was however if sleep at 4am is important to you, be sure to check this! Others might find that all part of the experience.
Overall it was a pleasant hotel and we enjoyed staying there. I particularly liked the privilege of driving right up to the monastery like a VIP!
We enjoyed all the meals we ate at the restaurant (buffet breakfast (included) and dinners) - being quite fussy eaters ourselves.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room at the front (with a view)
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montserrat
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,822 reviews
Hotel Mon Sant Benet
#1 of 1 in Sant Fruitos de Bages
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Barcelona Golf Resort & Sp...
#1 of 3 in Sant Esteve Sesrovires
522 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
#260 of 513 in Barcelona
470 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abat Cisneros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abat Cisneros

Address: Monestir de Montserrat, s/n, 08199 Montserrat, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Montserrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montserrat
Price Range: $43 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abat Cisneros 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building that now houses the Hotel Abat Cisneros has provided accommodation for pilgrims since its original construction in 1563. The conversion of this old monastery building into a hostel in the late 1950s effectively turned it into an establishment of outstanding interest. Later reforms modernised the facilities, ensuring that services provided to guests by the Hotel Abat Cisneros meet the highest standards as regards quality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Abat Cisneros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abat Cisneros Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing