We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Abat Cisneros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Abat Cisneros
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montserrat
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth a night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

It's hard to write this review without taking the surroundings into account. This hotel is located at the top of Montserrat within the monastery complex. It's a very unique experience. Easily one of the most unique I've ever had in a hotel.

If you're staying here, you need to request one of the forward facing rooms overlooking the monastery. If you don't get one of these rooms I understand how folks could be disappointing. However, assuming you do get one of these rooms- wow! You're in for one of the most amazing views ever and definitely an extremely romantic setting.

The hotel itself is average-ish. The rooms are actually quite nice and the service is good. However, the TV is tiny and worst of all, the toilet sometimes gets a heavy sewage smell when you flush it. Also, the church bells do ring multiple times per hour although they seem to stop during evening hours. We didn't find it loud at all, but for extremely light sleepers this could be an issue.

There is parking at top of the mountain (our GPS lead us to a dead end at the foot of the mountain but a roadway up does exist). You have to park with all of the other cars at the top, but you can park your car in front of the hotel for a few minutes and drop off your luggage first (the parking lot isn't a huge walk though: 5-10mins max). Also, as other reviewers have pointed out, the restaurant in the hotel is overpriced and doesn't have great food. WIth that being said, the cafeteria below (which closes at 6pm) has amazing food at amazing prices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank votrechien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    112
    54
    12
    9
See reviews for
53
131
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel is at the top of the mountain, right next to the Abat/church, and the back of the hotel looks right at the Serrat mountain peaks, the view from the front looks out over the courtyard. Once the visitors all leave for the day, then courtyard slowly empties out, until you are left all alone on top of this mountain. We watch the night stars, and the twinkling lights down below of the cities. It was very relaxing, and a very nice romantic experience. I only wish I could have stayed longer.
The church bells ring every hour, so this could bother a light sleeper.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the courtyard, on the upper floors. Pack light it is a bit of a uphill w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrCICS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Montserrat is undoubtedly one of the most unique and spectacular settings in Spain, and spending the night there--especially after tourists depart for the day--is worth it even if the only hotel actually in Montserrat is mediocre. Fortunately, the Abat Cisneros is much better than that. Our room was basic, but clean, and offered a fantastic view even from our first floor room. About what we expected from all the reviews. The staff was very helpful and the common areas and dining room nicely done. Our only complaint was the food in the restaurant. Breakfast was very good. However, the dinner meal was so bad neither of us finished our meal, and judging by the amount of food left on other plates we weren't alone. The service was fine, but the food was simply bad--a chicken breast overcooked to the point of having the texture of leather; vegetable soup with nothing but broth; a green salad composed solely of 3 spinach leaves; you get the idea. Since the hotel's restaurant is the only one in Montserrat open in the evening, I recommend eating lunch elsewhere and buying bread, cheese, wine and other food items from the small store in the plaza just down from the hotel before it closes in the evening. Another tip: the hotel has no parking, and you must park about 1/2 mile or more away. If you have luggage, don't be afraid to drive all the way to the hotel, parting the crowds of tourists on the street as you go. There is a guard that stops all traffic about 1/4 mile from the hotel, but if you tell him you're staying at the hotel he will let you through. You'll have to return to the parking area after dropping off your luggage, but it will save you a long (and uphill) walk dragging your luggage through the crowds of people and over cobblestones for part of the way.

Room Tip: Any room facing the church/plaza (otherwise you face a rock wall.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KKSStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Yes, you're right there ! And given the crowds, having it all to ourselves, including the paths, in the evening was very special ! Service throughout was very nice, and the guys at the front desk spoke excellent English. The bells do give some sound effects, but it added to my imagination of living there ! The room was clean, functional and not without character. It also had a beautiful view. As an alternative for dinner, there is a cafeteria, which although it closes by 8, when there wasn't a lot left, we just bought some salads and sandwiches, and were happy with that in our room. Also earlier in the day, there was like a farmers market set up near the parking lot, selling local cheeses, meats, etc. Breakfast was very good, and included an exceptional assortment of the local meats. The flowers in our window box attracted hummingbirds which were about an inch long !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quackmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

How often can you have a magical tourist destination all to yourself? This Hotel Abat Cisneros is located on the grounds of this famous monestary and becomes magical at night when all the tourists have gone back down the mountain and you can roam the grounds in quiet and cool peace. The restaurant had a nice dinner menu that was, as expected, slightly more expensive, but was delicious with attentive service. While we anticipated a quiet nights sleep at a monestary, we were woken throughout the night by the ringing of the bells - only a few feet away! The morning saw an extra long ringing of the bells that we thought was a call to church services, until we realized it was 5 am!! Blurry-eyed, we still enjoy being able to say we stayed in this amazing location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeeSleepEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

This 1970's building made of concrete and tiles is very noisy. Other than this it is of course a very convenient hotel right in the monestary.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonGuillermoDelSalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. The setting is incredible - hotel adjoining a monastery right up in Montserrat. Hotel basic but clean. The food in the restaurant was ridiculously overpriced and it is the only time in my life I have had to return a meal!! Quite funny in hindsight, and thankfully they provided bread and cheese after our complaint, although the look of indignation on the staff's faces was something to behold. My choice was Pasta Napoletana: 10euros for a small bowl of cold overcooked pasta with half a tin of cold tomatoes poured over it.My wife's meal was 13euros for some soggy bread dipped in tomato and a plate of "jabugo" ham which was about 99% fat. We did not pay for dinner!

The hotel has a total monopoly as it is the only place that serves dinner, and as such has no competition or need to be good, which was very evident in the service and food.

Overall it is worth visiting for the location, and to access the walking/climbing but I would suggest either bringing your own food, or driving out of Montserrat for dinner - we found a great cafe/bar on the way to Manresa which served an excellent meal.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the top floors, overlooking the main square. First floor rooms noisy due to people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montserrat
Hotel Mon Sant Benet
#1 of 1 in Sant Fruitos de Bages
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Hotel Barcelona Golf Resort & Sp...
#1 of 3 in Sant Esteve Sesrovires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Park Hotel Barcelona
Park Hotel Barcelona
#190 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Cel.les Abat Marcet
#2 of 2 in Montserrat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abat Cisneros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abat Cisneros

Property: Hotel Abat Cisneros
Address: Monestir de Montserrat, s/n, 08199 Montserrat, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Montserrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Montserrat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abat Cisneros 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building that now houses the Hotel Abat Cisneros has provided accommodation for pilgrims since its original construction in 1563. The conversion of this old monastery building into a hostel in the late 1950s effectively turned it into an establishment of outstanding interest. Later reforms modernised the facilities, ensuring that services provided to guests by the Hotel Abat Cisneros meet the highest standards as regards quality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Abat Cisneros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abat Cisneros Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing