We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an insightful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montserrat Monastery

Montserrat Monastery
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.79*
and up
Half-Day Guided Montserrat Tour in Barcelona
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Montserrat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Benedictine monastery with a fantastic view of the surrounding hillside and town.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“an insightful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Its worthwhile going there, especially if you are in Barcelona. It is not just a monastery. The surrounding views are extraordinary. You can go hiking up to the highest point (after you reach the Montserrat by cable car) and you can also go climbing. There is a really big museum for the art enthusiasts. It's many great and different experiences all in one mountain.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Selmita86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,267
    1,252
    231
    60
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We travelled to Montserrat as part of a day trip and were not disappointed. A spectacular drive up the mountain to the Monastery at the top. For this alone the trip was worth it, although if you suffer from vertigo it may not be for you. The views from the top are amazing. The funicular railway is well worth doing and the Basilica is spectacular. The Boys choir is very popular so if you want to get a seat you need to be there before 12.30. Some really nice walks around there as well. If you are going to Barcelona and have a half day to spare this is well worth doing and I would recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SinatraFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Short bus tour too short”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

If time is short, then an afternoon bus trip is better than nothing! We booked this big bus tour over the phone the day before and the big tourer bus left Place de Catalunya at 3 p.m. The on-bus guide was a fun guy - knowledgeable and full of interesting observations. Montserrat is breathtaking and we regret we didn't spend a whole day there - would love to have tried out the funicular railways, taken a walk around the mountain and lined up to see the Black Madonna close up, but we only had time to visit the Basilica and the (excellent) Art Gallery before the bus left for Barcelona. Next time we'll take the train or a full-day small bus tour to Montserrat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mountain medley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I took a half day tour via Julia travels(from Viator) to Montserrat. It was a good trip and since we took a morning tour we got to hear children's choir which was great. we took Cog wheel train up the mountain while some of our friends came in bus. Frankly 10 Euros additional for the train was a waste since people in teh bus got the same views. The mountain was covered in fog when we came and it was fun. The guide was okish and did not give much history about Montserrat though it was pleasant she knew English.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PremaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful for a day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We planned a whole day to go there and walk around. When we arrived we took the longest tour and were not disappointed! After what felt like hours of walking, we arrived at the top of the mountain. The view is simply amazing! Sitting there on a stone near the edge and having some food is probably one of the most amazing things! There weren't so many people, so we didn't have to move or got pushed around or anything. It was nice seeing all the others relaxing as much as we did. You can take amazing pictures up there and we've also seen some animals you normally only see in a zoo :-)
The day after I felt what I had done in my legs but it was so worth it! If you need to get out of the city but don't want to go too far, want to have a relaxing time in nature, this is a place to go!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chococooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montserrat Monastery also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Montserrat, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Montserrat Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing