We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely English Pub well worth a visit”
Review of The Sun Inn

The Sun Inn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We visited this pub for the first time on Saturday. Whilst it was difficult to get seated as they were extremely busy, the bar staff manage to seat us after a short while. Our food was lovely although it did take a little while to come out. You could see the staff rushing around so I guess it's to be expected.

After our meal we went into the gift shop next door and noticed that they hire bikes and will make a picnic for you to.

What a great idea

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Aa124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJV1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Aa124

Thank you kindly for your refreshing review comments. We aim to serve our customers as quickly as possible during busy service times, without compromising on quality. As our food is home-made and "cooked to order" delays can occur, so thank you for your patience. I'm glad you were able to visit our Gift Shop next door too. Our Electric Bikes are getting very popular so when you are next in the area if you would like to cycle around this beautiful area do give me a call at The Sun Inn and I will be more than happy to help you with them.

Kind regards

Phil Atkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for The Sun Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 114 of 138 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Phil was very welcoming. We had a great package of all day bike hire and lunch for £24.99. Whizzed all round the lake and the park with time for a leisurely lunch in the beer garden. A great day out. Will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Alibongo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJV1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to review your day out on our Electric bikes. It's great to hear you had an enjoyable day cycling in the parks and stopping off for your picnic lunch in our garden. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon here at The Sun!

Kind regards,

Phil Atkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We hired really cool electric assisted mountain bikes for the day including lunch for about £25.00, the bikes were fab we spent the day cycling around Saville Gardens and Virginia Water etc. The bikes were brilliant giving you a bit of assistance when needed (i.e. uphill!)

The pub was fab really friendly and welcoming landlord, we had a lovely lunch sitting in the sunny pleasant gardens. I woud highly recommend this as a day out! Even if you didnt fancy the bike ride the pub itself was wonderful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brockhalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJV1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

What can I say? Many thanks for your comprehensive review. We aim to provide high standards both inside the pub, with the Electric Bike hire and in our Gift Shop and I am so glad to hear your days' experience with us was a very enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon at The Sun!!

Kind regards,

Phil Atkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We visited The Sun Inn on Easter Sunday and as it was a lovely,bright day decided to hire the electric bikes from Phil the landlord. We chose to use them for the whole day although you could hire them for less. Clear instructions and a demonstration were given and off we went! Although no map was available, we couldn't possibly get lost- one way to the beautiful Savil Gardens and the other way was to Windsor Great Park. Included in the cost was lunch, either a pack up or, as we chose, back to the pub for very generous sandwiches,crisps and side salad. The staff were cheerful and attentive and the pub felt warm and welcoming. We would highly recommend the experience. Great fun!!!

1  Thank Christine32160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing Sunday roast here today. The service was excellent and by far the best pub I've been to around this area. It's a true english country pub, offering food choices to cater for all palates - what a find!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Vikkie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sun Inn also viewed

Englefield Green, Surrey
 
Englefield Green, Surrey
Old Windsor, Windsor
 
Englefield Green, Surrey
 

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing