We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world!”

El Celler de Can Roca
Ranked #1 of 517 Restaurants in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Somewhere!
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Out of this world!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

This was our reason for visiting Girona. Like most others we have waited a year for this, making the reservation last July. It was a surprise for my partners 30th so I was hoping for amazing! All I can say is it far exceeded our expectations and could quite possibly be the most amazing meal we have ever had! 4.5 hours of pure excellence!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hmiles1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,970
    139
    65
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Reached expectation”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The whole experience was wow from start to end . We didn't begrudge one penny of a very expensive evening out! Surprisingly the wines are very reasonable and we paid less for a bottle of Muscadet there than we do at home. Our waiter was a delight and carefully explained what we were eating and even though the dining room is very smart there was a nice relaxed feeling to the proceedings! Expect to be there for hours , there is a lot enjoy! Dress code is from smart casual through to very smart! This is a special place for a special night out! The other plus is staying in Girona which is now our favourite Spanish city! Spend a few days there! We stayed at LLegendes de Girona 10/10.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank clangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“What an honour!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Best restaurant I have eaten! The food - of course, but not only that. What you get from this place - is the feeling of huge respect the owners have for their guests. By respecting your guests this much they show how respectful and honourable their profession is to them, how they value it and how proud they are of what they do. Without snobbery, without much pretentiousness - they try to do what the do best - make people happy by creating a unique culinary experience every day. AMAZING!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We made a reservation in May 2013 and finally visited in June 2014. The whole experience was truly fantastic, everything from the service to the quality of ingredients and the food preparation was perfect!

We had a few very lovely hours and we are just dying to revisit El Celler de Can Roca. The only issues we had during our visit were the fact that we were getting a bit to full towards the end of the Feast Menu, and the fact that there was a very limited selection of non-alcoholic drinks to offer us. For example, Noma in Copenhagen offers a juice meny specifically composed for their menu. This was something we would have liked here as well. The waiter seemed very confused when we asked for non-alcoholic alternatives (I had just recovered from a fever the same morning) and offered orange juice, tomatoe juice or non-alcohol beer.

Except for this small issue everything was perfect and I can truly recommend a visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank suntrip62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Feast Of Tastes!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Let me start with a Funny detail: Our reservation was given 13 months ahead, for 2nd of May to be more precise.

Exactly on the Week it Lost its outstanding Nr.1 position to Copenhagens Best. Yupp! ;)

Normally when talking about superlatives I'm rather cautios to absorb all of the opinions without any doubt.

So dissapointment was part of the equation.

Worries of dissatisfaction proved to be unnecessary!

Enjoyed the 4 hours Festival Degustative till the end!

+ sauces
+ seafood
+ fantastic wine selection
+ serving

- the staff was obviously worn by the News recieved that week and many of the seemed - including the Roca brothers - rather dissapointed, which took a bit away of the overall experience!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank szmarck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Celler de Can Roca also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to El Celler de Can Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing