We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome in every way”

El Celler de Can Roca
Ranked #1 of 499 Restaurants in Girona
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Awesome in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I ate with my wife and adult daughter.
The restaurant is a beautiful space (or series of spaces). Our table was private without being secluded, so that there was a real sense of atmosphere. The comfort and elegance of the fittings were 1st rate.
The staff were courteous and knowledgeable, with excellent English. They were warm without being over-effusive, and always helpful.
When I booked, we were asked to indicate any food allergies or problems. As soon as we were sat down and given glasses of Cava (love the idea of the bottomless bottle of Cava!), the waiter went over the menu with us to confirm what they had been told, and to indicate how our problems could be met. None of this "I am the chef, and you will eat what I say" nonsense.
The dishes started to arrive: first, the trip around the world. That was amazing and almost a meal in itself! The actual listed course then started. Each was amazing: a celebration of the ingredients, where the art was to enhance rather than override or hide the flavours of the fish or vegetable etc.
We had matched wines, and the choices were faultless, really enhancing the flavour of the dish.
The meal concluded, after 4 hours or so, with a visit to the kitchen, which was fascinating.
I cannot imagine a better dining experience, and in those terms, the price was reasonable indeed. We have paid more elsewhere for far less exciting food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank troypolyboutsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,838
    131
    62
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great experience but a serious fault”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

The bread. At that night the bread was horrible. Dry, hard, the foggacia (aand some other) breads were just like airplane bread. We were not the only ones with that feeling since a lot of tables would leave a big part of those breads. It was our honeymoon dinner so it put us down a little bit.
We had the feast menu and although they were small portions we were reallyhappy and satisfied in the end. THe rest of the food was made with impeccable perfection.

To our taste, the second dessert (the one matching the perfume) and the cherry plate was amazing. The finishing sweets were good and the 'Ferrero rocher' one was amazing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank guilherme_silveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What taste buds were invented for...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Incredible. From start to finish an amazing experience. Set in an unassuming side street just on the outskirts of Gerona the magic starts when you walk past the well recognised sign. The design of the restaurant is unlike anywhere we've been, private yet part of a shared adventure with all the other diners. The Tastes of the World were uniformly brilliant with the caramelised olives (stuffed with anchovy and the dipped in anchovy caramel) incredible and the two truffle delights something I could have eaten plate after plate of. Course after course of wonder and delight followed, the sea anemone salad was heaven on a plate (or in a shell) with all the seafood dishes stunning. The pigeon and lamb dishes were simply mind blowing as were the deserts. The only dish we were less keen on was the cod with miso and hazelnuts but that is being harsh. Josep intervened when it was clear we were somewhat bemused by the huge choice of wines and recommend a brilliant local wine and seemed to be genuinely interested in what we thought of it. At the end of the meal the Wonka like sweet trolley was a stuffed full of further delights and we could have stayed all night. Joan came to us after we finished and spent a while talking to us about the food and what we liked, a true gentleman and a really special touch. Four plus hours of our lives could not have been better spent. An incredible place with astonishing food and humble people behind it. As other reviewers have said this place deserves 4 or 5 stars. You must go.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TresPlumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Best food experience of our lives!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous experience! There is absolutely no doubt as to why this restaurant has been awarded "Number 1 Restaurant of the World 2013" and it was our delight and pleasure to be able to afford this unique experience. Staff were great, especially Pilar and Miriam. We wish Pilar luck with her pursuit of the title of Number 1 Sommelier of Spain in October this year.
We had the pleasure of meeting the brothers Roca and visiting their fabulous kitchen. We chose the large menu with wine pairing and are absolutely delighted that we did. Now we can firmly say we're visited the best restaurant in the world. They are true artists and creators of food innovation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“3 Stars? They Deserve 4!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This meal was a fitting celebration for my Big Birthday. From our arrival to departure we were treated to a feast for all the senses, the tastes were different and truly remarkable, pairing interesting wines with each of the 14 courses, the textures were sometimes so surprising you could not believe what you had just eaten. The look of each dish was a painting on a plate. The smells conjured up memories of places and meals we had before but always with the sensational Roca touch and the sound of our oooohs and ahhhs delighted our lovely waitress Monica. She was so pleased we were having fun as well as enjoying the food that we were invited to meet Joan Roca and tour the kitchens and wine cellar. An absolutely stunning evening. Thank you to all the staff at Cellar Can Roca. I could write pages but really....you have to experience it for yourself. Yes it is expensive, but well worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Celler de Can Roca also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to El Celler de Can Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing