We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and modern but perhaps undeserving of the Marriott label.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Comfortable and modern but perhaps undeserving of the Marriott label.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We booked a night at Palau de Bellavista over the phone and paid around €100 for a double room. We did this on the day and upon arrival had to choose between a disabled access room and a stinking smokers room. Easy choice.

We were driving a hire car so the parking was convenient. The walk uphill from the city centre was not quite as strenuous as has been suggested in some reviews. You should have no problem unless you are particularly infirm or geriatric. And if you are there then is a bus you could take which passes close to the hotel.

The room was modern and comfortable. Considering all the raving about the view from the terrace, the view from our window was a bit of a disappointment - perhaps the guests opposite whose view was of our window had the same thought. Bathroom was nicely equipped. The only down side being that one wall was a translucent screen (covered with a picture of a 90's fashioned family enjoying the sights of Girona) facing into the room. When somebody turned the light on in the bathroom the whole room lit up. Wifi in the room was only available for a fee. I really don't understand why wifi is usually free in cheaper hotels but costs in more expensive ones.

The terrace did indeed have spectacular views over the city. The reception area to which it was connected had some seating and free wifi. This was also where breakfast was served. There was a pretty good selection of items.

The serving and cleaning staff I encountered were very friendly. Reception staff were a mixed bag and overall not particularly welcoming. As we left I tried to say thanks and bye but staff completely ignored me as they were deep in their own conversation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    409
    127
    30
    18
See reviews for
108
534
25
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

in this hotel everything was great!nice staff,polite and helpfull,spacious modern rooms fully airconditioned,very comfortable,nice breakfast,free parking,nice terrace with a great view to the city!highly recomended!better for free access to the internet in the rooms!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The view from the terrace here is quite breathtaking at sunset and worth the stay alone.

After staying at the AC Hotel Vicenza, I knew that the bed would be uncomfortably hard here (it was) so I took the extra pillows and slept ontop of them. That solved that problem! Room was very clean, large and with a perfectly working air conditioner. There was some lobby noise at night that you could hear in the room, but it stopped once the restaurant closed.

Front desk staff spoke excellent English and were quite lovely. Asked for a map of the area and was given one and shown all the important sights as well as the best path to take down the hill! Such a timesaver!

If you walk to the train station as I did (easy ride to Barcelona from there), it takes around 30 minutes to make the walk. And if you're looking for good driving day trips, try going to Tossa de Mar!

Hotel was a little difficult to find upon arrival until I noticed signs for it in the city center at various intersections. That was definitely a blessing!

And if you arrive hungry - the restaurant does not open until 8pm :(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinMofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here two nights.

Location: 5-10 min walk to get to the old town, down hill. Not far away at all.
Rooms: modern and comfortable. Clean.
Restaurant (dinner): recommended. Great prices, fantastic sun set view in a modern setting.
Breakfast: great selection.

Note: the hotel does not have a pool. Its a hotel targeted towards the business traveller (conference hotel)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSBNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Plenty of parking. Ramps to drag the suitcases. Quiet room. Plenty of AC. Nice comfortable bed. Plenty of hot water in the shower.

This hotel is not in the city center and it is up a big hill. It is probably best for guests arriving by car. GPS had no trouble finding it.

Front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjm814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel is located up a steep hill on the edge of Girona overlooking the city. It was choosen as it provided a good price. We had stayed in two older residences prior to arrival which both had great character and warmth and charm. This hotel was a stark contrast. It is very much suited to the business traveller. The rooms were clean and with AC which was definitely needed during our stay. The staff were adequate and on hearing that we were on honeymoon very kindly provided us with a bottle of champage. We did not eat at the hotel. I found that the hotel lacked in facilities, it did not have a pool or a fitness centre or even dvd players in the rooms. Also rooms may be accessed via lift from the floor below the reception, we thought this a little questionable for security reasons as nobody was ever on this floor as it houses function rooms. The biggest question for me was why the guest rooms did not face the city. The hotel is designed in such a way that the reception area, bar and restaurant all face the city with lovely views to the mountains while guest rooms face the side of the mountain. There is a lovely terrace at the front of the hotel where you can take in the view but it was largly empty during our stay in July as it was just too hot to sit out there with no umbrellas and very little cover from the sun. I think the hotel could be a lot better with a few upgrades but if you get a good price and dont mind a bit of a hike then with the free parking you might like it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We decided to go with this hotel as the price was great. In the end it was a good choice as it was a lovely hotel and the rooms and decor were excellent. It did have the feel of a business hotel rather than a romantic getaway but it served our purposes. We didn't have any meals at the hotel (we got breakfast at bakeries or cafes and meals elsewhere) so can't comment on the quality. Staff were very friendly and helpful, providing us with maps to get our bearing.

Free internet available in lobby via hotel PC.

As a word of warning: the hotel is located on top of a hill. From the old town or the town in general it is quite a steep climb back. Despite being 6 months pregnant I managed it fine but it did take a toll on our breathing and heart rate :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieMcC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
1.0 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
773 reviews
1.0 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista

Property: AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Address: Pujada Polvorins 1, 17004 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Girona
#7 Romantic Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Category: 4 StarsObservations: Central / Parking / Meeting and banqueting Rooms / Restaurant / Cafeteria / Safe / Internet / Coffe shop free / Access disabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Girona
Ac Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing