We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice modern hotel Out of the city center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
New Rochelle, New York
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Very nice modern hotel Out of the city center”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Plenty of parking. Ramps to drag the suitcases. Quiet room. Plenty of AC. Nice comfortable bed. Plenty of hot water in the shower.

This hotel is not in the city center and it is up a big hill. It is probably best for guests arriving by car. GPS had no trouble finding it.

Front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjm814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    403
    125
    30
    16
See reviews for
104
527
25
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel is located up a steep hill on the edge of Girona overlooking the city. It was choosen as it provided a good price. We had stayed in two older residences prior to arrival which both had great character and warmth and charm. This hotel was a stark contrast. It is very much suited to the business traveller. The rooms were clean and with AC which was definitely needed during our stay. The staff were adequate and on hearing that we were on honeymoon very kindly provided us with a bottle of champage. We did not eat at the hotel. I found that the hotel lacked in facilities, it did not have a pool or a fitness centre or even dvd players in the rooms. Also rooms may be accessed via lift from the floor below the reception, we thought this a little questionable for security reasons as nobody was ever on this floor as it houses function rooms. The biggest question for me was why the guest rooms did not face the city. The hotel is designed in such a way that the reception area, bar and restaurant all face the city with lovely views to the mountains while guest rooms face the side of the mountain. There is a lovely terrace at the front of the hotel where you can take in the view but it was largly empty during our stay in July as it was just too hot to sit out there with no umbrellas and very little cover from the sun. I think the hotel could be a lot better with a few upgrades but if you get a good price and dont mind a bit of a hike then with the free parking you might like it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We decided to go with this hotel as the price was great. In the end it was a good choice as it was a lovely hotel and the rooms and decor were excellent. It did have the feel of a business hotel rather than a romantic getaway but it served our purposes. We didn't have any meals at the hotel (we got breakfast at bakeries or cafes and meals elsewhere) so can't comment on the quality. Staff were very friendly and helpful, providing us with maps to get our bearing.

Free internet available in lobby via hotel PC.

As a word of warning: the hotel is located on top of a hill. From the old town or the town in general it is quite a steep climb back. Despite being 6 months pregnant I managed it fine but it did take a toll on our breathing and heart rate :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieMcC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a very modern hotel on the edge of Girona. The decor is very chic and modern with a slight industrial edge to it. Rooms are very comfortable and spacious. There is a fantastic terrace that has stunning views over the city and this is a great place to while away a few hours just sitting soaking up the ambiance. Food is good although the menu is not extensive. Can be a bit pricey for what you get though. Free parking and loads of it. Staff are great and cannot do enough to help.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamishhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked a hotel in Girona as a stopping point on our way from France to Barcelona. it turned out to be an inspired choice as both the hotel and the town were delightful. The hotel is located on the crest of a hill situated immediately above the old town. Its modern with large rooms and a had a good king size bed. Only drawbacks were no room safe (but easy to use the lockers at reception) and free wifi only available in the lobby. You could buy credits to use wifi or hard wire in your rooms. Positive was that the walk to the old town only took about 10 minutes and there are a wonderful range of cafes, restaurants, etc. Its uphill on the way back so plan for double the time to walk back, but at least it helps walk off some of a great meal.

Room Tip: they all seem the same - no views as all are located on the side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenR285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Solney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This modern, minimalist hotel is perched high on a hill overlooking Girona city - and it's well worth the climb! Very good value rooms are quite spacious and have every modern amenity. About half enjoy open views over the city skyline. Staff are friendly and the free car park a blessing in an otherwise congested town. The buffet breakfast is good, too and overall, this hotel is highly recommended. There is a bus service to the City centre but it's quite fun to walk down (then up again) the steep hill past the fortified walls and castle. That might remove some of the kilos gained whilst eating at one of a myriad of 'tourist' restaurants or even at the recently-nominated 'best restaurant in the world'! Only two, minor grievances here; one, there really ought not to be glass tumblers in the bathroom and,two, beware the rather slippery bath when showering!

Room Tip: Try to get a 'room with a view' - overlooking the city skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbbarrie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
944 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is situated at top of hill overlooking Girona. Great views of skyline and beyond!! Easy 15 minute downhill walk to Old Town. Very few cabs in town so walk back uphill is very challenging. Hotel rooms are nicely appointed with all the amenities. Staff very competent. Good choice if in town.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Serviceprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
1.0 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
759 reviews
1.0 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista

Property: AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Address: Pujada Polvorins 1, 17004 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Girona
#7 Romantic Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Category: 4 StarsObservations: Central / Parking / Meeting and banqueting Rooms / Restaurant / Cafeteria / Safe / Internet / Coffe shop free / Access disabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Girona
Ac Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing