We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bocadillos”
Review of Porcus

Porcus
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Tapas restaurant, dishes and sandwiches of Iberian products, cheeses and the best hams. Great variety of hams, salads and the best wines and beers from the Iberian Peninsula.
Reviewed July 21, 2018 via mobile

Stopped here for a light lunch and left happy. They have a nice range of hams and prepare the bocadillos to order.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank only-ollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xavi tall m, Gerente at Porcus, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias. En Porcus siempre intentamos ofrecer a nuestros clientes los mejores productos y una gran relacion calidad/precio!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 172 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2018

This is the best place in Girona for tapas of excellent quality ham and cheese, good bread and a super location. A family-owned business, not a chain: the staff are warm and friendly and cope with English too. Sitting outside on a summer evening and watching the world go by - what could be better.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank chriswinnbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xavi tall m, Propietario at Porcus, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2018
Google Translation

Muchisimas gracias por su comentario. Es cierto, somos una pequeña empresa familiar con tiendas de jamon. Nosotros sabemos de Jamon y queso!. Muy contentos de que nos hayan visitado, y hasta otra vez.
Un saludo muy cordial
Xavi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2018

We stopped here for some tapas on a Friday night. We ordered the cod fritters, along with a few other things. I was very excited to see them on the menu because I love cod fritters. They arrived and were cold in the center, not crunchy at all, and tasted like they had been sitting around all day. It turns out, I was right. When i mentioned they were cold and not very good to the waiter, he told me that it was because they dont have a real kitchen and they just MIROWAVE their food. This place might be fine if you just order cold food, but I wouldnt go to a place to order ANY food that thinks it is okay to microwave their food. I can do that at home!! Very disappointing.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Cara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xavi tall m, Propietario at Porcus, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tu comentario. los buñuelos de bacalao que tenemos son de muy alta calidad. No los hacemos nosotros, nos los preparan para nuestras tiendas de productos selectos "El Tall". Justo al lado del local, tiene una de estas tiendas. Lo calentamos en el horno, para que no tenga mas aceite de la cuenta, pero nunca en el microondas. Creo ha habido un mal entendido, y le ruego nos disculpe, ya que nuestra política, es tener el mejor producto de la mas alta calidad al precio mas ajustado. Si otra vez viene por Girona, estare encantado de acompañarle e invitar a una deliciosa tapa de buñuelos de bacalao, llamados en Girona "Crispells".
Mucha gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2018 via mobile

Great coffee, lovely sunny spot to people watch outside by the river. Amazing interior that was packed, the choice of food was great and the jamon amazing. Great prices.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank KLBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xavi tall m, Gerente at Porcus, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su comentario. Siempre en Porcus intentamos tener la mas alta calidad al precio mas ajustado. Esperemos vuelva otra vez a visitarnos.
Un saludo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2018 via mobile

Spent some late night time for dinner. Didnt want to spend much so we choose to share a green salad and a 15e offer which consists of a beverage, some pates, local cheese, sausages, at least four different types cut in slices, and cured ham with bread, Spanish style although in Girona many people do not feel exactly Spanish but Catalan and they are also great.
Very gentle staff who helped a lot and definitely was a good choice. 15 minutes away of foot from the Cathedral - an episode of Game of Thrones, I think season 3, was shot there. If you come by car, as we did, was tough to park for free but the are underground parking at reasonable prices....

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank figuerasluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xavi tall m, Propietario at Porcus, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Thank you very much for your comment .. It is true, in Catalonia there are many people who feel only Catalans. In our shop, we have the best products from the Iberian Peninsula, Catalonia and Spain. We hope to see you again at our local Porcus in Plaza Catalunya in Girona. see you soon.
Xavi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porcus also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Porcus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing