We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cycling from the Mountains to the Sea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cycle Catalan

Cycle Catalan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cycle Catalan offers tailor made cycling and walking tours in the Girona area of Catalonia. Located only 90 minutes from Barcelona come and explore the countryside and the coastal paths by bike or on foot. Personally run and managed by Vivian and Alan Campbell
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cycling from the Mountains to the Sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our cycling adventure along the Vies Verdes from Campdevanol (Ripoll) to Palamos in September(2013). Alan & Vivian are excellent ambassadors for Catalunya & have carefully tailored this tour to reflect their love for this part of the country; as well, they looked after us very well from booking to day-to-day touring. We really felt we were their guests. We were also most impressed with our accommodation in each place, especially at the Rectoria with Roy & Goretti, and in Olot and Palamos. Alan provided great recommendations for side tours - Santa Pau a gem and the WInery, Celler Can Sais near Palamos, a must-see, plus super local sights and restaurants. The bicycles were great and attention to mechanical operations appreciated. As we recommended to Alan, we could have used more detailed maps, especially for the Fageda d'en Jorda and through to the Rectoria, where sign postings were more confusing. We've recommended Cycle Catalan to many friends & colleagues, all very interested to check it out. We too look forward to returning for another of Alan & Vivian's tours & extend our thanks for a most memorable holiday.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElizaTMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another great holiday with Cycle Catalan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We're lucky enough to have been on two different self-guided walking holidays with Cycle Catalan since 2011. Our first trip was 'Between the Land and Sea Walking Tour' in Sept 2011 and our latest trip was 'A Journey Through Hidden Catalonia' in Sept 2013. Both trips were amazing - great weather, beautiful scenery, lovely accommodation - it would be very difficult to choose which was best.

The service provided by Alan and Vivian is absolutely first class and it's obvious that they've gone to a lot of time and trouble in choosing the best walking routes and accommodation. The highlight of our latest trip was the two night stay at La Rectoria; Roy and Goretti were the perfect hosts and Roy's food was incredible.

We enjoyed both trips so much that we're now hoping Alan and Vivian will introduce a new walking tour so we can go back again!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robbie_TScotlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mountains to the sea.....Best holiday by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have just returned from a cycling holiday through Catalan and we have bored everybody about ever since. We had an amazing adventure and we saw more of Spain than we ever dreamed. The food was great, the paths were brilliant, the hotels were superb and we had great advice and tips from Alan and Vivian. Can't say enough good things about this holiday. Do it now...we will certainly be returning to cycling in Spain as soon as we can..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jandk2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Medieval Villages and Coastal Paths of Catalonia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful way to experience Catalonia. My husband and I had never been on a biking holiday before or been to Spain. We were a bit nervous about being able to peddle 25 to 35 km a day but all in all it worked out for us. We were able to alter the routes as needed on days that we didn't want to peddle for hours. We found that we would alternate one day of peddling all day with one day of peddling half the day. This gave us time to relax and swim and explore the area's villages on foot.
Alan and Vivian from Cycle Catalan provided us with good support and information. The accomodation they had arranged for us was excellent. One way to improve the self-guided tour would be to provide more detailed directions. Some routes had very little signage and Alan's advice went through my head frequently "if there is no sign, go straight..." however sometimes it was difficult to determine which way was "straight".

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“"Medieval Villages and Coastal Paths of Catalonia"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

A holiday with a difference and a wonderful experience. Alan and Vivian were the perfect hosts, from our initial enquiry to our departure back to Barcelona. The Emporia Golf Hotel and Hotel Garbi were way beyond our expectations. The maps and information supplied were perfect for a self guided tour as well as the extra useful info on where to explore, restuarants and beaches. Alan and Vivian made sure our holiday was hassle free from our initial enquiry to our departure back to Barcelona....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Felicity_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cycle Catalan also viewed

 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Cycle Catalan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing