We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected little jewel”

Cafe Context llibreria
Reserve with
Cafe Context llibreria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 580 Restaurants in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A culture and leisure local in the Old Town of Girona: Books & Food & Drinks. Located in old quarter of Girona, it offers original tapas, varied salads, cheese&cold sausage assortments as well as more elaborated dishes with first-quality products. Large wine, beer and liqueur selection, good cocktails. Good music and live shows. Moreover, a most personal book selection.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

On our last night in Spain, we were looking for a light dinner and came upon Context. We chose to sit inside as we do not like to be around smokers, and inside dining does not allow it. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal, beginning with the best Sangria! (will they share the recipe?). As we wanted some traditional food, my husband started with gazpacho, which was creatively presented and delicious, consistent with other gazpachos we had eaten. We also enjoyed an order of the tomato bread. We each ordered a different salad, and they were perfect! My husband's included warm goat cheese and crispy ham. Both salads were a generous portion, and delicious. This is indeed a quirky restaurant in décor, but deserves a solid recommendation. Thank you for ending our trip to Spain on a very high note!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIC0606, Propietario at Cafe Context llibreria, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Thank you so much for your friendly review, we are very glad that you enjoyed our drinks and food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 168 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Our only night in this stunning city was ruined by the very rude waiter. We asked if we could have a table and were greeted by a lovely lady who directed us to a table for 2. We then waited at least 20 mins while the waiter served other tables arriving after us. When I asked if he could take our orders he rebuffed me and went to yet another table of new arrivals When he did arrive he was extremely rude - enough to make us get up and leave In tears (me not my husband) . Note We are patient people and will wait happily for good food and have never left a bad review - first time as never been treated as badly anywhere. Be warned !!
Management - maybe employ another staff member !!!

Thank WalesTraveljunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIC0606, Propietario at Cafe Context llibreria, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

First of all, and before any other explanation, we want to apologize for your bad experience at our place.
The fact is that yesterday evening several circumstances met together and caused this uncomfortable situation:
I, the owner and manager, had to attend an important personal matter and as dinners usually start by 8 p.m. I left early in order to be back at that time. But yesterday unexpectedly the terrace became full very early. The staff at that moment was too short to give a reasonable service and they got extremely nervous, unable to control the situation. When I arrived by 8 it was already too late.
The waiter who attended you works with us for a long time and has always been very gentle and professional. Our customers use to commend him. Yesterday he lost control, which should not happen - but sometimes does.
Unfortunately you spent only one night in Girona and we cannot ammend the mistake made. We can only apologize and guarantee you that we will do our best to avoid a similar situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018

We visited during a recent stay in Girona and unfortunately just felt that the food lacked something compared to the other places we dined.

Location is great as it’s set in a small placa not far from the cathedral. There were a few other restaurants on the placa and a small play area also. The location didn’t seem too touristy and was a nice bustling atmosphere when we visited in the evening.

We dined on the outside terrace which was nice and the service we encountered was good also.

In terms of the food, it’s hard to pinpoint any particular dish but little quirks such as the seasonal salad having strawberries in it and a couple of other dishes being less enjoyable to similar equivalents that we had elsewhere in Girona are the main reason that we felt it was only average.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JAT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Lucky to go to Girona a few times every year and this is a favourite stop. As well as being located in a small intimate Placa and serving tapas and drinks, is also a bookshop and venue for small music recitals, poetry and book readings, even wine tasting evenings. Something on most weekends and many weekday nights. Hard working husband and wife team own and run this place, quirky, personal, friendly, and worth seeking out

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank malcolm_gillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIC0606, Propietario at Cafe Context llibreria, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Thank you so much for your friendly review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2018

We had a nice evening here dining on a good selection of tapas, all of which were tasty. Pumpkin soup was lovely as were chicken skewers. Worth a visit.

Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Context llibreria also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Cafe Context llibreria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing