We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food”

Cafe Context llibreria
Reserve with
Cafe Context llibreria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 580 Restaurants in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A culture and leisure local in the Old Town of Girona: Books & Food & Drinks. Located in old quarter of Girona, it offers original tapas, varied salads, cheese&cold sausage assortments as well as more elaborated dishes with first-quality products. Large wine, beer and liqueur selection, good cocktails. Good music and live shows. Moreover, a most personal book selection.
Reviewed August 25, 2018

We visited during a recent stay in Girona and unfortunately just felt that the food lacked something compared to the other places we dined.

Location is great as it’s set in a small placa not far from the cathedral. There were a few other restaurants on the placa and a small play area also. The location didn’t seem too touristy and was a nice bustling atmosphere when we visited in the evening.

We dined on the outside terrace which was nice and the service we encountered was good also.

In terms of the food, it’s hard to pinpoint any particular dish but little quirks such as the seasonal salad having strawberries in it and a couple of other dishes being less enjoyable to similar equivalents that we had elsewhere in Girona are the main reason that we felt it was only average.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JAT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 168 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2018

Lucky to go to Girona a few times every year and this is a favourite stop. As well as being located in a small intimate Placa and serving tapas and drinks, is also a bookshop and venue for small music recitals, poetry and book readings, even wine tasting evenings. Something on most weekends and many weekday nights. Hard working husband and wife team own and run this place, quirky, personal, friendly, and worth seeking out

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank malcolm_gillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIC0606, Propietario at Cafe Context llibreria, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Thank you so much for your friendly review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2018

We had a nice evening here dining on a good selection of tapas, all of which were tasty. Pumpkin soup was lovely as were chicken skewers. Worth a visit.

Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2018

As english-only visitors, we really appreciated the warm and friendly service, good advice on wine and menu items... while surrounded by (mostly) locals. A great first late evening meal in Girona... surrounded by locals, kids playing football in the plaza, and delicious food surrounded by books and cheerful service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davidbillstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIC0606, Propietario at Cafe Context llibreria, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2018

Thank you so much for your friendly review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2018

Bar is made "artistic" with literature decoration, there are pages on the ceiling etc. However, the atmosphere is far from bohemian bar. I was writing in my notebook and drinking a glass of cava. When my cava was finished I was asked to leave because I was taking too much space in one table. No one asked if I wanted something more or to eat etc. I haven't ever been in a bar the staff is so rude.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank mpk28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERIC0606, Propietario at Cafe Context llibreria, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

We are sorry that you felt uncomfortable, but let us explain the way things happened: it was Easter Saturady evening (our town crowded with tourists and locals, most of our tables already booked in advance) and around 20h when you ordered a glass of cava AT THE DESK. Without asking anybody of ours staff you took the glass and sat at one of our tables, which as announced in two different boards (and translated into English) are reserved only for dinners from 20,30h to 23,30h. As our waiter saw that you had not read the advice, she tried to explain this fact to you, you were never 'asked to leave because you took too much space'. Maybe her English is not so good and there could be a misunderstanding, but she told me the problem and I personally came to your table in order to explain you the situation. Your reaction was 'I'm confused, I do not want explanations, I leave'.
I think it is not very reasonable to behave like you did and later complain about others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Context llibreria also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Cafe Context llibreria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing