We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic value & location”
Review of Hotel Carlemany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Carlemany
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
128 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Fantastic value & location”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located only 5mins walk from the Girona train station and it was very easy walking to the hotel. There are lots of fashion & kids shops surrounding the hotel, although it is a short walk from the old town, about 15mins approx. The hotel is quite large & for the price paid it was incredible value. Our room was large, modern & well maintained. Comfortable & large bed. Staff were efficient, check in & out was very quick. There is a nice feel all throughout the hotel & restaurant. They held our luggage behind the counter in the office for the majority of the day after we checked out. Breakfast was very good with plenty of things to choose from. Could not be faulted & highly recommended for a brief stay to see this compact & quiet town as a break from Barcelona city life.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank laguida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    261
    55
    9
    3
See reviews for
50
265
21
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Room was comfortable and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Parking was easy to locate and plenty of room compared to other locations. We would certainly return and we have every intention of coming back to explore more of the old town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephencanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This modern hotel is ideally located about five minutes walk from the bus and train stations. It is also not far from all the mail attractions of Girona by foot.
The hotel is clean, well appointed and with great spaces in which to sit and chat to people.
The only problem is if you are there on a Sunday night - the restaurant, bar and coffee shop are all closed! Strange for a 4* establishment. To add injury, when we were there the receptionist could not advise us where we could find a meal. Hopefully, this problem has been resolved.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielEtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel surprised me. It was elegant and the room was good quality with great beds. The best was still the old part of the city Girona which was fantastic. I was there during Easter which means the city was very quite, as well as the hotel. Still I liked staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ola59_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entrevaux
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

It is worth noting that booking through a search engine was necessary to get the best price.. This is a hotel that is friendly and quiet with clean and spacious rooms and Loewe TVs. I had great difficulty finding it being a lone driver, so some landmarks may be in order. Street signs in Girona are tiny, making it difficult to know where you are. The front of the hotel is surrounded by clinica girona, bershka clothing and H&M. However, if you are driving, you should park at the back of the building in the car park called Margalla ( or something like that) at the beginning of Miqdia Street. The entrance to the hotel is actually in the car park if you choose this option. There is a discount for hotel guests- get your ticket validated. The hotel is in a super location- a two minute walk to the train station with fast trains to Barcelona. Nice shopping all around the hotel. A super find!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Marncooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortona, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Very confortable, full breakfast, also with soya milk... Courtesy of employees. Very near to the station, not so easy to reach from the motorway. Not many restaurants beside. The room was very large and clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dadogourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
192 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Fronting onto a pedestrian square this hotel has outside terraces from its cafe and bar. The hotel has everything you would need, including underground access to a superb clean public car park. Our room was on the 3rd floor - a large modern room with wood floors, comfortable bed and excellent air-conditioning.

The bar, cafe and restaurant are all very pleasant as are all the staff. The Manager's office is a glass-fronted room looking onto the lobby and reception area and it is obvious that Management do their job exceptionally well. The neighbourhood is ideal for walking around and easy access to anything you want to see or do in Girona.

Room Tip: Because of wooden floors I would always opt for a room at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casden8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlemany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlemany

Property: Hotel Carlemany
Address: Placa Miquel Santalo, 17002 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Girona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Girona
#4 Family Hotel in Girona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlemany 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the center of Girona, Hotel Carlemany, undoubtedly offers you the best location for your trip whether is for business or leisure, allowing you to discover walking distance the most interesting sites of Girona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Carlemany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlemany Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing