We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resting place”
Review of Hotel Carlemany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Carlemany
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Nice resting place and well located, not far from town, within walking distance. Business center is a little bit uncomfortable as one has to stand the whole time in front of the computer if one does not bring along a device.
Food was ok at the restaurant. Did not have an opportunity to have the breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 585 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Carlemany Hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of May 2013. We had a delightful stay. The hotel is very conveniently located in Girona centre, within easy flat walking distance of the old city centre. We arrived by train from Barcelona, and the hotel is only 5 minutes walk from Girona railway and bus stations. The hotel itself is very contemporary, which is how we like it, spotlessly clean with good facilities. There is a cafeteria in the hotel plus 2 restaurants. The staff were very pleasant, helpful & professional.

Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalesman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Hotel is centrally located and within 10 minutes’ walk from the social scene of Girona. No Pool or gym, very few hotels in Girona have these anyway!
Good size spacious room with decent bed and bathroom with large flat screen TV which can be adjusted to get the original version of sound for films. CNN and BBC world available for news events.
Paid Parking is available under hotel and lifts provided direct access to hotel, very busy area with external parking very difficult to obtain.
Room service menu is very basic and has not changed much if at all in 12 years of my visits; don’t expect to be able to get a hamburger or BLT sandwich for instance! No tea/coffee facilities in room! Minibar is well stocked and prices are reasonable (beer 2.73 Euros)
Smoking rooms are available but confirm with hotel in writing or you will only get if available once at hotel. Two decent size terrace bars are outside main entrance but bear in mind; these are also open to non-hotel residents!
10% tax /IVA is payable on bill as well as a small tourist tax on the room (0.99 Euro)
Hotel is ideal for the location and room but on site facilities and food types are limited.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is best away from square noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CondeNast126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located close to the bus station and if I visit Girona again, I would definitely consider staying there again. The room was clean, stylish and spacious with huge and very comfortable bed. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaibaOzolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The location cannot be better. Stick your car in the garage and walk,eat and talk in this pretty city.
A lot of history, nice and smart city.

The rooms are fantastic and there is nothing you will miss. The service friendly and the morning coffee in their coffee bar is excellent. Go to the main square(Independenza) and youy will find restaurants in all price range.

Room Tip: All rooms are not noisy as it is in vehicle free zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nazir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel is located in the new part of town about 5/10 min walk form the historic centre of Girona. It is a large fairly modern hotel.

We arrived at the hotel at 8pm and were directed in rather brisk fashion to our room on the third flood. The room had single beds and looked a little small and dated. Given that we had booked a double room I rank reception to complain and after a bit of persuasion were moved to a double room which felt much more roomy.

The rooms themselves were clean if not a bit dull. The bathrooms were nice with a powerful shower. A few of the basic extras were missing from the hotel, no slippers, dressing robes, free water etc which you might expect from a 4 star hotel.

The hotel has three bars/places to eat which range in formality. We ate at the indigo bar and had tapas and wine. The wine was excellent and good value the tapas was quite standard and expensive. We also ate in the bat attached to the hotel which was nice and good value for money.

Save for the first night the staff in the hotel were friendly and suggested good places to eat. The hotel also has free wifi which is useful.

All in all, this is quite a good hotel nothing special but a good base to explore the town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oliver w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked this hotel after a friend recommended it but we were very disappointed. We booked a suite for our whole family to sleep together, but when we opened the door I was very disappointed. The room was very dark, with two windows only showing on a balcony that was shared by other rooms, so we couldn't open it and it was over a very narrow street anyway. It had very old and dark curtains, and the whole atmosphere was very depressing. If it wasn't so late when we arrived I would have asked for a room change.

The walls were dirty and chirped and the whole image was very different from what we expected. We just fell asleep and left early the next day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alkimadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
783 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.4 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlemany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlemany

Address: Placa Miquel Santalo, 17002 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Girona
#4 Family Hotel in Girona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Girona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Girona
Price Range: $86 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlemany 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the center of Girona, Hotel Carlemany, undoubtedly offers you the best location for your trip whether is for business or leisure, allowing you to discover walking distance the most interesting sites of Girona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlemany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlemany Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing