We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Carlemany

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carlemany
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Bronshoej, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We spend two nights in this very pleasant hotel - very clean and modern. Very good service, and location is at a local square - only a 5 minutes walk from the train station, which is perfect if your travelling to Barcelona by train.
The family room we had was very nice and very relaxing to spend time in. We decided to go back to this wonderfull hotel after spending time in a very unpleasant hotel in Barcelona. This hotel in Girona was perfect, and the restaurant serving tapas was very good, and the breakfast in the hotel was also fine. We decided to inklude breakfast in the hotel, which was very easy since we had kid's, and this just make things easier. The breakfast was14€, and mayby it can be found cheeper, but it was well spend the money.
We spend a Day extra in Girona instead of Barcelona, and this was the best decision we've ever made on a vacation. This City is so nice and beautiful and really worth spending time in. We are planning to go back to Girona, and will most likely stay in Carlemany Hotel again. The only downside is that a pool is missing, since we are travelling with kids. But we love this hotel and City :-)

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCarlemany, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Tina B

Thank you very much for taking some of your precious time to share your experience with the rest of TripAdvisor users.

We do celebrate that even though it was a very short stay you did enjoy both our hotel and our lovely city of Girona. As you certainly said it is worth to spend and couple or three night to discover not just the city but also our beautiful province of Girona.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    255
    55
    9
    3
See reviews for
49
261
21
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed one night at the Carlemany.  It was a 5 minute walk to the bus and train station and an easy walk to the historic quater.   The hotel was well equipped and the room well furnished.  The bed was very comfortable with good linens and was also huge. It was also very quiet in the hotel.  We booked online on the hotels own website and as a result got 12 hours free wifi -  it was quite slow and almost impossible to use at peak times in the evening.  There are two PCs in the reception area.  The hotel was very nice and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Itchyfeetagain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCarlemany, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Itchyfeetagain2,

Thank you very much for spending some of your valuable time to share your experience with the rest of TripAdvisor members.

We appreciate very much your positive comments regarding your stay and our services. We regret very much if you experienced low internet speed service, we've done some improvementinto our internet service for your future enjoyment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co meath
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Fantastic location 500 metres from rail and bus station.Very modern hotel located in the commercial district but this is a small city and everything is in walking distance.Ate there one night,no complaints.Didn't avail of the breakfast option,too many good eateries nearby e.g.Nelsons, a Tapas bar between the station and the hotel does excellent coffee&rolls,Cal Tuset behind the hotel has magdalenas with every possible topping&filling.The hotel in on a busy plaza,you can drink or dine outside.We were at the front,no noise at night.Top notch.

Room Tip: I doubt if there are any bad ones,we only paid about 200é for 3 nights and the room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uptherossies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCarlemany, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear uptherossies,

Thank you very much for spending some of your valuable time to share your experience with the rest of TripAdvisor members.

We appreciate very much your positive comments regarding your stay and our services. We celebrate that you enjoyed our city of Girona with its heritage, people, shopping and culture.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias Morell
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Loved this modern clean hotel in a great location of this lovely old city.
The rooms are a good size and the staff are very helpful.The restaurant was good and we slept well.
The beds are good and the rooms serviced daily.
Very reasonable rice as the hote
Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dnlasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCarlemany, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Dnlasr user,

Thank you very much for spending some of your valuable time to share your experience with the rest of TripAdvisor members.

We appreciate very much your positive comments regarding your stay and our services. If interested our beds are from Trecca de Paris, a perfect choice for a perfect sleep.


Looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias Morell
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Location and value for money are this hotel's strong suits but the rooms, facilities and service are all very good too. The spacious car park under the hotel is a huge bonus for those travelling by car. We stayed for two nights and wish it could have been more. Girona has lots to offer, and most of it is within easy walking distance of the hotel. A telling detail, which speaks well of the hotel's service: the room's combination safe blocked with my passport and other valuables in it. I didn't need the contents urgently but nonetheless contacted the reception desk immediately. Instead of telling me when they could re-open it, they asked when it would be convenient for them to re-open it, since I had to be present when they did. I give them top marks for that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCarlemany, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Tina M,

Thank you very much for taking some of your precious time to share your experience with the rest of TripAdvisor users.

We do celebrate that even though it was a very short stay you did enjoy both our hotel and our lovely city of Girona. As you certainly said it is worth to spend and couple or three night to discover not just the city but also our beautiful province of Girona.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for two nights primarily to visit the old town. The hotel is outside the old town in the heart of the business and shopping district. It is also, for thise who might require such interventions, in the immediate vicinity of the a well regarded medical clinic.The hotel is well served with restaurants and bars, is modern and efficient and overlooks a most pleasant plaza. We would highly recommend this hotel for its facilities and its location as a base to visit the lovely city of Girona.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatherbobIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed there only for one night( we were waiting for transfer from Girona airport) but hotel made a big impression. Hotel is located in the city center very close to the train and bus station and local medieval attractions:)
Reception Staff are very helpful, restaurant employees are way less attentive to costumers needs( girl behind the bar quite rude, poor knowledge of English):P
Rooms are clean and large with HD flat TV. Bathtub is equipped in massage shower head- very nice experience after all day walk in burning sun weather:)
Only thing that I missed was....swimming pool:(

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gryzback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.7 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlemany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlemany

Property: Hotel Carlemany
Address: Placa Miquel Santalo, 17002 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Girona
#4 Family Hotel in Girona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Girona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlemany 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the center of Girona, Hotel Carlemany, undoubtedly offers you the best location for your trip whether is for business or leisure, allowing you to discover walking distance the most interesting sites of Girona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlemany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlemany Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing