We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel has it all. Lovely rooms in the centre of Girona, with helpful friendly staff and amazing breakfast. To top it off they serve great coffee. We are loving our stay here as a base to explore this lovely little city and make a pilgrimage to the Cellar de Can Roca.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 796 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We originally licked this place as base camp for our weekend lunch at El Celler de Can Roca. It seems many other people do the same. It's excellently located and really not too difficult to find if you follow the street signs and not your GPS, as we did initially. Googlemaps was wrong for a change.
We were two couples and allocated rooms 201 and 202 behind the main door 200. This is also useful for families with adjoining rooms but also the privacy.
Rooms were very well sized. The amenities were very good and a gold star for power outlets by each side of the bed. The bed was good quality but a little too hard for my liking and I'm not really a fan of the hollofil pillows, but I slept OK otherwise. The bathroom was equally well stocked though there could have been more towels of better quality. They were rather rough. Also not a fan of the shallow designer basin though there was at least a plug to fill it with water for shaving.
Internet was free and for as many devices as you needed though each needed its separate passcode. The swimming pool was a little like a big bath but good fun all the same. Parking was in an adjacent building and at 22€ per night for a city, very reasonable. Getting in and out was a little tight as were the parking spaces so beware if you have a large car.
Breakfast was well stocked although equally plenty of bars in Plaza Independencia if you prefer a lighter choice.
We found the staff very accommodating and welcoming. They provided excellent baby sitting services for our 2 year old while we were at El Celler. The proximity to the city is perfect. I really liked this place and despite the very few short comings we'll definitely stay here again on our next visit to Girona.

Room Tip: Rooms x01 and x02 have single door entry x00. Great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

After negotiating with difficulty the ins and outs of Girona's old town, we found the hotel's parking spot (not cheap but well located and secure for 24 hrs) and made our way to the hotel. From the beginning, the service was impeccable and helpful. We were given maps, suggestions for walks and restaurants, all with a friendly smile and in English (vital, as our Spanish is very poor). Our room was small but very modern, quiet and well equipped, with wi-fi, air conditioning and a smart and clean bathroom. The hotel is very well located for key Girona sights, especially the cathedral and the city wall -- really worth walking along -- and also for the nearby lovely square (placa) for tapas and marvellous ice cream/gelati. The hotel also had a restaurant that seemed to be very popular. We could have stayed longer: lovely town and fine, very well-priced hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neill46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Without a GPS this hotel was a bit difficult to find by car. Carrier Nord is at first a tiny alleyway off Carrier Jaume 1, next to a restaurant currently called Viena. It opens out a bit after a few yards, then is blocked by a bollard. You have to call the hotel from an intercom near the bollard to get them to lower it for you to carry on to the hotel entrance.

Apart from the problem of finding it, this hotel is in a really good location for walking across the river into the lovely old town, or up to Plaça Independència for its restaurants and bars.

Our room was quite large, very comfortable, and spotlessly clean. It had a minibar, too. It was on the top floor however, with skylights instead of windows, and no view at all (other than sky, of course). Not really a problem, but a bit odd. One potential issue would be that you have to stand on bits of furniture in order to open or close the blinds. Anyone unsteady on their feet would be advised to specify a room on any other floor. Otherwise the room was great, and the bed and pillows were wonderful.

Parking in Girona is a bit of a pain. The underground garage suggested by the hotel charges €23 per 24 hours, and we checked another and found this to be a standard charge. The lady at reception at the hotel when we arrived was very helpful in showing on a city map where the easiest and safest free off-street parking could be found, and we found a place after waiting around for a few minutes for someone to leave. The car was fine there for the two days of our stay. Next time, however, we would probably hand the car back at the airport, and go into town by bus.

Breakfast at the hotel cost €12.50 per person, which struck us a bit much, so we wandered out of the hotel, turned left and left again, and found a wonderful cake and coffee shop where we enjoyed super breakfasts for a fraction of the hotel's price. There are lots of other similar places nearby.

Overall we enjoyed this hotel, and would recommend it to anyone. We also loved Girona, and will doubtless be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grey.dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The service was good and the front desk people were excellent and spoke flawless english. The room was huge, had a great view and AC. It reminded me of a typical large American hotel, like a marriot - you get a traditional card key, the bed is large and comfortable, and there is a pool!
The pool is smallish so don't come expecting to do laps, and I wouldn't really recommend it for large groups or families either. It is also a little cold! But I enjoyed it all the same and it was very refreshing after a hot day. There are no life guards, so I would especially recommend it for couples.
The hotel was expensive for spain, but if you want something a little more luxurious it fits the bill.
The location is a bit of a walk from the old town but it's not bad.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eek42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We came to this hotel based on other Tripadvisor reviews. It is a modern hotel with clean rooms, tiny as per most European hotels but perfectly adequate. Location is good as close to historic centre.
Unfortunately my partner and I were given a twin room despite requesting a double room on our booking. When my boyfriend questioned this and asked for a double as we were on a romantic holiday, he was told my the surly datk haired female at reception that she was sorry but all booked. No offers of making up the twin beds as a double, nothing. This is an apparently 4 star hotel that seems incapable of something as simple as offering a solution to the twin situation. When asked if we could do this, admittedly later, we were told that there was no linen to make the room up as a double even though we offered to do it ourselves. To me, this is appalling service from a 4 star hotel regardless of location. I would not recommend this hotel unless couples were happy to spend the night in separate twin beds (beware honeymooners!) and also need to be happy that reception staff appear to be incapable of caring about their customers needs or trying to make their stay acceptable. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GypsyLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Ciutat de Girona for 3 nights. The room was perfect, beds were new and firm, and service was perfect incredible. The location is exceptional.
The hotel is within all of Costa Brava including the three Salvador Dali exhibitions.
A perfect stay. john

Room Tip: The hotel is on a private drive and I believe all of the rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 425JohnP425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
879 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#3 of 20 in Girona
602 reviews
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
1 mi away
Hotel Costabella
Hotel Costabella
#9 of 20 in Girona
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Girona

Address: C Nord, 2, 17001 Girona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range: $104 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ciutat de Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ciutat de Girona is located in the most symbolic, historical and cultural heart of Girona. Surrounded by the most charismatic buildings and the best shopping in the city.The hotel combines a modern style and it is decorated with pictures of the most representative places of Girona. It is equipped with last generation facilities. Among its services you can find and indoor swimming pool and a indoor cycling. In the lobby you will find "the corner of the musician" where you can have a glass of moscatell ( sweet wine) and some nuts to make your arrival at the Hotel a special moment.Hotel Ciutat de Girona is an option to enjoy an exquisite treatment and exclusive facilities in the heart of the city. These and many other details will fill your stay with pleasant surprises. Hotel Ciutat de Girona aims to achieve maximum customer satisfaction. This is why our priority is to work to adapt to the uses, traditions and tastes of each of our clients. This purpose is achieved thanks to bi-directional teamwork of all the teams that are part of the Hotel, both in his daily task and other moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing