We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location for the Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent Location for the Old Town”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a modern hotel very close to the river & Old Town. The reception staff were very helpful & welcoming. The facilities were excellent as was the breakfast. It was a little difficult to find, especially as the Sat. Nav. got confused. There is an underground car park nearby, in which the hotel has reserved spaces - cost 20 euros/day. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BELMONTIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Manager at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Many thanks for completing this writting after your recent visit at the Hotel Ciutat de Girona.
Sorry if it was a little bite dificult to find us we are going to try to resolve this issue.
We hope to see you again on your nest visit to the Girona city area.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    267
    56
    9
    8
See reviews for
86
418
22
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is....everything!!! The front of house staff have the rare ability to make you feel not only welcome but special. Their warmth and friendliness is genuine and appropriate. The exceptionally well designed and comfortable rooms have all the nice touches not often found nowadays including the sewing kit you always need when a button falls off! People have mentioned the lack of bath in some rooms but the showers are so well designed and powerful that, for us, it wasn't an issue.
We had the generous offer of a free breakfast and I know people think €12 is a lot but I would pay this as the variety and quality is far better than most Spanish hotels. Yes it's cheaper round the corner if price and economy is paramount to your holiday but quality and convenience can be much more enjoyable than saving a couple of euros maybe?
This is a hotel that has got it right!!!!

Room Tip: The showers, if you don't request a bath are big,powerful and well designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcgremlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
From the front desk we would like to say thank you !!
And we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights from 19th April. We arrived on a late flight so got to the hotel after midnight. The reception staff were very polite & welcoming. Our room was really nicely decorated and had a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was excellent. No view out of the window (looked out onto a brick wall) but this wasn't a problem as we were there to explore the city, not sit in our room. Breakfast staff were very polite but unless you have breakfast included I wouldn't pay 12€ for it. It was adequate but not worth that amount of money. Plenty of other places to get breakfast nearby. We used the small pool once, it was a little bit cold but nice for a quick dip after walking around all day. We ate in the restaurant on the Sunday night as there isn't much open on Sunday evenings. The food was lovely & very reasonable. The absolute best thing about the hotel is it's location. It is so close to everything. There is a lovely square just around the corner to sit in the sun & have coffee and also one of the bridges to cross the river into the old town is just around the corner too. The cathedral is a 5 minute walk away and stunning. I would definitely recommend a visit to Girona and a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We had read the reviews before we booked so asked for a room with a bath as not all of them have one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Manager at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you Jackie for take a minute to write nice things about our hotel.
We will appreciate that.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent 4 nights here and were very impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, espacially Jodie n reception, he could'nt be nicer. The hotel is really convienently located and is a stroll away from the river, cafes and restaurants in this beautiful city. Would definitly stay again in this affordable hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hello, you are so kind to hear that.
Jordi
Front desk
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Lovely hotel in great location just across the bridge from the old town and within 15 minutes walk of the train and bus station. Comfortable bed and nice bathroom with a wide range of toiletries. We availed of the special offer of free breakfast- this included freshly squeezed O.J., fruit, cereal, meat, cheese, fresh bread and pastries and Nespresso. Great to get free but otherwise a little pricey. The hotel restaurant menu was reasonably priced. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romavisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just returned from my trip to Barcelona and for our last night we spent it in this great hotel in the centre of Girona. The hotel's location is excellent just round its corner there is the old city cathedral and across the lake there are some really nice shops. There are also some great restaurant located just 2 minutes away from the hotel. The staff were very friendly especially the receptionist who even at 4 o'clock in the morning had a smile on his face to wish us a good flight back to our country. The hotel facilities are also wonderful, they have a lovely heated indoor pool/jacuzzi which is essential after a day of exploring Girona on foot. The rooms were also very beautifully decorated with modern designs and were very spacious indeed. Unfortunately we only spent 1 night in this hotel and wished we could have stayed longer.

This hotel was well worth the money we spent - I will surely recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to visit Girona and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsce0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just back from an Easter break in the city of Girona. We stayed at the Hotel Ciutat de Girona and found the hotel to be very accessible to all the amenities in the "old town". The hotel was in a great location just a right turn to the old town. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I would agree with other reviewers that wifi could be an issue. My husband and I both had i phones and one ipad, but were only able to access wifi on one phone only.

Great little cafe bar next door to hotel. I am not sure if it is part of the Hotel Ciutat, but the food was wonderful and the staff excellent.

Oonagh, Cork, Ireland

Would certainly

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boodarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Girona

Property: Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Address: C Nord, 2, 17001 Girona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ciutat de Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ciutat de Girona is located in the most symbolic, historical and cultural heart of Girona. Surrounded by the most charismatic buildings and the best shopping in the city.The hotel combines a modern style and it is decorated with pictures of the most representative places of Girona. It is equipped with last generation facilities. Among its services you can find and indoor swimming pool and a indoor cycling. In the lobby you will find "the corner of the musician" where you can have a glass of moscatell ( sweet wine) and some nuts to make your arrival at the Hotel a special moment.Hotel Ciutat de Girona is an option to enjoy an exquisite treatment and exclusive facilities in the heart of the city. These and many other details will fill your stay with pleasant surprises. Hotel Ciutat de Girona aims to achieve maximum customer satisfaction. This is why our priority is to work to adapt to the uses, traditions and tastes of each of our clients. This purpose is achieved thanks to bi-directional teamwork of all the teams that are part of the Hotel, both in his daily task and other moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing