We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Girona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location in Girona”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Lovely hotel in great location just across the bridge from the old town and within 15 minutes walk of the train and bus station. Comfortable bed and nice bathroom with a wide range of toiletries. We availed of the special offer of free breakfast- this included freshly squeezed O.J., fruit, cereal, meat, cheese, fresh bread and pastries and Nespresso. Great to get free but otherwise a little pricey. The hotel restaurant menu was reasonably priced. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romavisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    276
    57
    9
    8
See reviews for
90
425
22
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just returned from my trip to Barcelona and for our last night we spent it in this great hotel in the centre of Girona. The hotel's location is excellent just round its corner there is the old city cathedral and across the lake there are some really nice shops. There are also some great restaurant located just 2 minutes away from the hotel. The staff were very friendly especially the receptionist who even at 4 o'clock in the morning had a smile on his face to wish us a good flight back to our country. The hotel facilities are also wonderful, they have a lovely heated indoor pool/jacuzzi which is essential after a day of exploring Girona on foot. The rooms were also very beautifully decorated with modern designs and were very spacious indeed. Unfortunately we only spent 1 night in this hotel and wished we could have stayed longer.

This hotel was well worth the money we spent - I will surely recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to visit Girona and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsce0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just back from an Easter break in the city of Girona. We stayed at the Hotel Ciutat de Girona and found the hotel to be very accessible to all the amenities in the "old town". The hotel was in a great location just a right turn to the old town. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I would agree with other reviewers that wifi could be an issue. My husband and I both had i phones and one ipad, but were only able to access wifi on one phone only.

Great little cafe bar next door to hotel. I am not sure if it is part of the Hotel Ciutat, but the food was wonderful and the staff excellent.

Oonagh, Cork, Ireland

Would certainly

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boodarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A lovely little hotel in the heart of the city, great front of house staff and walkable to all attractions. We had a room overlooking the street but it was still very quiet due to good doubleglazing. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meadow1542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We came to Girona for a brief visit spread over a couple of days and wanted a reasonably priced place to stay in a good location. This hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the rail station (well signposted) and just over the bridge from the spectacular old town. Staff were very efficient and welcoming and we were in our room within minutes of walking through the door.
The room was large, clean and modern. It had no bath which was a surprise and it would be worth checking on this at the time of booking.
The bathroom accessories were extensive; the usual soaps and shampoos plus sewing kit, toothbrushes and paste, shaving kit, deoderant, cotton wool, sponge, shoe shine and on and on. There was also coffee and tea making together with a generously sized bag of biscuits.
We were given a WIFi code which worked fine but only on the first device used so watch out if you a tablet, phone and kindle sort of person.
Breakfast was a reasonable buffet selection and dinner (which does not start until 8.30pm) was a mixed modern european menu fairly priced. The most expensive wine on the menu was about Euro 20 and many were much less.
There is an indoor pool but not really big enough to be anything other than a plunge pool. Fitness enthusiasts will therefore need to bring shorts and head to the all day spin classes - 6 or so bikes hooked up to a video instructor.
However, we did not come to Girona to spend hours in the hotel. We chose the hotel for its location and it would be hard to get a better one. Shops, cafes, bars and the old town just over the bridge. A few minutes walk to the large central park (although in March this was not at its best and there was much more scenic walking around the back of the Cathedral). With location though does come some drawbacks - some noise in and around bar closing time and the regular ringing of the cathedral bells on the hour and at each quarter. Light sleepers beware!

Room Tip: Check if you want a bath and note if you are on the top floor the view is to the sky as the only win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCHappyskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel has a great location and layout. It is just across the river from the old city. The rooms and furniture are contemporary. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. They offered maps and other information when we checked in. There was an issue with the WIFI when we arrived, but the desk clerk informed us where we could go nearby for WIFI access.
The room - deluxe loft- was large . The housekeeping however needs some attention. The lobby, elevator, room, bathrooms all seemed a bit dusty and are in need of a deep cleaning.

Room Tip: Avoid the deluxe loft. There are no windows, only skylights and they feel claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michiganmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I can't imagine a better place to stay in Girona. I was extremely impressed with the staff as they were not only helpful and accommodating, but did their best to go the extra mile to make our stay in Girona a pleasant one. They volunteered a lot of information that many hotels seem to forget to tell tourists or assume that they already know. In Barcelona we felt like we were pulling teeth trying to get information from the staff in our hotel whereas this hotel made us feel like they were really happy for our visit and wanted to show their city in the best light possible. Helpful information on how to get around, where to park, best restaurants for different cuisines were just a few of things volunteered; the information was offered many times before it was even requested. My husband and I stayed for two nights in February and when my husband brought down a family genealogy paper that was written in ancient Catalan, the young man at the desk actually volunteered to transcribe parts of it for him.

We really loved our stay in Girona and this hotel was a big part of the reason. We would definitely stay here again and hopefully have a longer visit next time!

The room itself was modern, nice, comfortable and very clean, which is very important to me.

Thank you, Hotel Cuitat de Girona staff, for realizing that hospitality and courtesy go a long way when you are worn out from traveling!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovedemsaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Manager at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
All of us here at the Hotel Ciutat de Griona would like to thank you for your writting and we are pleased to know that we were able to meet your expectations.
Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Girona

Property: Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Address: C Nord, 2, 17001 Girona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ciutat de Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ciutat de Girona is located in the most symbolic, historical and cultural heart of Girona. Surrounded by the most charismatic buildings and the best shopping in the city.The hotel combines a modern style and it is decorated with pictures of the most representative places of Girona. It is equipped with last generation facilities. Among its services you can find and indoor swimming pool and a indoor cycling. In the lobby you will find "the corner of the musician" where you can have a glass of moscatell ( sweet wine) and some nuts to make your arrival at the Hotel a special moment.Hotel Ciutat de Girona is an option to enjoy an exquisite treatment and exclusive facilities in the heart of the city. These and many other details will fill your stay with pleasant surprises. Hotel Ciutat de Girona aims to achieve maximum customer satisfaction. This is why our priority is to work to adapt to the uses, traditions and tastes of each of our clients. This purpose is achieved thanks to bi-directional teamwork of all the teams that are part of the Hotel, both in his daily task and other moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing