We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely helpful and cordial staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I can't imagine a better place to stay in Girona. I was extremely impressed with the staff as they were not only helpful and accommodating, but did their best to go the extra mile to make our stay in Girona a pleasant one. They volunteered a lot of information that many hotels seem to forget to tell tourists or assume that they already know. In Barcelona we felt like we were pulling teeth trying to get information from the staff in our hotel whereas this hotel made us feel like they were really happy for our visit and wanted to show their city in the best light possible. Helpful information on how to get around, where to park, best restaurants for different cuisines were just a few of things volunteered; the information was offered many times before it was even requested. My husband and I stayed for two nights in February and when my husband brought down a family genealogy paper that was written in ancient Catalan, the young man at the desk actually volunteered to transcribe parts of it for him.

We really loved our stay in Girona and this hotel was a big part of the reason. We would definitely stay here again and hopefully have a longer visit next time!

The room itself was modern, nice, comfortable and very clean, which is very important to me.

Thank you, Hotel Cuitat de Girona staff, for realizing that hospitality and courtesy go a long way when you are worn out from traveling!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovedemsaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Manager at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

All of us here at the Hotel Ciutat de Griona would like to thank you for your writting and we are pleased to know that we were able to meet your expectations.
Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 799 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

We booked into Hotel Ciutat de Girona on the basis of other Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed.

The hotel has been renovated in a very cool way and as such its feel is far more global than Catalonian....you could be anywhere in the world, rather than Girona. If you can cope with this, then there is very much to admire about this place.

The staff are helpful. The hotel is very well located. The room is clean, spacious and comfortable. The accompanying restaurant is great. The location is generally quiet. And the windows open. The little bath accroutrements like shower cap, sponge, tissues etc were also greatly appreciated.

We arrived by train, and it was no big deal to wheel our bags from the station to this hotel, and it was very easy to find.

My only beef - and it is a very small one - is that whilst there were plenty of sachets of instant coffee and herbal tea provided in the room for guests, yet each day there was just one black tea bag each. I am sure we could have asked for more, but it seemed like a hassle.

We didn't partake of breakfast here, there were plenty of great cafes around which were heaps cheaper (especially La Taverna just around the corner). We had a meal one night in their restaurant, Blanc. It was superb. The best yet..though, the waiter put a bag of rolls on the table, which we thought were complimentary. We were shocked to realise that they were several euros each. They were delicious, but I don't think we would have eaten them had we realised the cost.

Go here. I am sure you will enjoy this place as much as we did.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FarflungEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Gerente at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments, we really appreciate them. Hope to see you soon in the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great small charming hotel - very modern amenities. Staff was great - offering us recommendations and a map of places to visit.

Room was good size - nice toiletries - wish the robe was a bit softer, but won't fault them on that. Only stayed one night but all great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nunezm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Gerente at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments, we really appreciate them. Hope to see you soon in the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in January. I highly recommend it Cuitat de Girona. The staff was especially helpful, the accommodations were pleasant at a reasonable price, and the location was fantastic. Loved Girona. Will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gailcville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Gerente at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. Hope to see you soon in the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Because this hotel has the same or better ingredients to be top world hotel as the so called ultra-luxury models. I have stayed there on a regular basis for the last 2 years.
Ciutat de Girona has a classic and recreshing quitness that leaves no one indifferent. The stuff is one of wamest I have known in my 35 years of traveling all around the world cor business. The rooms are just nice, making you feeling very comfortable, unlikely some of those absurdly expensive hotels in which you are always affraid of breaking something because you will likely receive a lecture of behaviour from the Manager.

Great location and the food is not bad at all.

This Hotel is friendly and makes you feeling comfortably enough, like home.

So, before spending small fortunes for an hotel lodging try this.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santosvintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Gerente at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment it´s really encouraged us to keep doing things the way we do !! Hope to see you soon in the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Have been to this hotel many times for a short break. Used to go with my children and now come alone with my husband and the children still come with their partners. Ideal position right in the centre. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. We always have dinner in the restaurant Blanc which is part of a large group with many restaurants in different places in Catalunya and Madrid. You can go straight into the restaurant from the hotel reception. As we know the area we nearly always find somewhere to park within 10 minutes walk which saves paying for the car park. irona is a great place for a couple of days stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marymireia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Gerente at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments !! Hope to see you again in the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Smack in the middle of the old city, this modern hotel is all glass, chrome and sharp angles...in a good way! Front desk clerk Veronica couldn't have been nicer or more helpful, suggesting Taverna UmTau nearby where we had a fabulous meal, pigging out by over ordering (unintentionally)
Rooms very comfortable and quiet; parking nearby. Breakfast not particularly abundant or good to our tastes: fatty meats, some cheese, cereal. We ate there more out of convenience. Very nice dining room which is an acclaimed restaurant for lunch and dinner. Difficult to get any semblance of an American breakfast anywhere and we are not roll/pastry and coffee people.

Room Tip: On a pedestrianized street so any room is quiet re street noise. I always ask for a room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Gerente at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments, we really appreciate them. Hope to see you soon in the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#3 of 20 in Girona
608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
893 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Costabella
Hotel Costabella
#8 of 20 in Girona
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Girona

Address: C Nord, 2, 17001 Girona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range: $108 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ciutat de Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ciutat de Girona is located in the most symbolic, historical and cultural heart of Girona. Surrounded by the most charismatic buildings and the best shopping in the city.The hotel combines a modern style and it is decorated with pictures of the most representative places of Girona. It is equipped with last generation facilities. Among its services you can find and indoor swimming pool and a indoor cycling. In the lobby you will find "the corner of the musician" where you can have a glass of moscatell ( sweet wine) and some nuts to make your arrival at the Hotel a special moment.Hotel Ciutat de Girona is an option to enjoy an exquisite treatment and exclusive facilities in the heart of the city. These and many other details will fill your stay with pleasant surprises. Hotel Ciutat de Girona aims to achieve maximum customer satisfaction. This is why our priority is to work to adapt to the uses, traditions and tastes of each of our clients. This purpose is achieved thanks to bi-directional teamwork of all the teams that are part of the Hotel, both in his daily task and other moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing