We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent a couple of nights here on arrival from Calgary. Great welcome and advice for attractions and restaurants. We needed a few hours crash after 12 hours travelling and its good and quiet with double/double glazing. Location could not be better. Modern rooms and not bad wifi access. Lots of cafes for breakfast nearby and walking to all the sights of Girona. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Director General at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. we hope to see you soon in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    267
    56
    9
    8
See reviews for
86
418
22
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Terrific modern and clean hotel steps away from the pedestrian bridge to the old city full of cobble stoned narrow streets, restaurants, shops, churches, and many surprises. Make sure you walk up and down all of the parts of the old wall that surrounded the old city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Director General at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment !!! this encourage us to keep this way. Hope to see you soon in the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We recently spent 2 days in this enchanting city. Our room was very comfortable with modern furnishings and well equipped bathroom. Comfortable beds and soundproof room in a very quiet area. Professional and welcoming front desk staff. Free Wifi. Close to many cafes and restaurants. We did not eat in the hotel. Menu looked good but a little pricey.
Excellent proximity to historic quarter. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a very quiet neighborhood with limited vehicular traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toron2oise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Director General at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment !!! this encourage us to keep this way. Hope to see you soon in the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almancil, Portugal
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had a very nice room on the fourth floor, rooms have double glazing windows so no noise from the street. Bed was really comfy, very large and staff friendly. Great location, right near a bridge, everything is in walking distance and there is a nice area 2 min walk away full of restaurants. Parking is around 1 mi walk from the hotel but costs 22€

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Director General at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
You comments encourage us to keep working hard, thank you very much and we hope to see you soon in the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as the previous reviews were so good. We were not disappointed. The hotel was superb and in a perfest position . Just out of the door, over the bridge and you are in to the old part of town. The reception staff spoke perfect English and nothing was too much trouble for them. They were always so pleasant and acknowledged you as you came in and out of the hotel. The rooms were perfect. Everything you needed was there. The bathroom provides lots of little toiletries etc so if you forget to bring something I am sure you will find it there. One of the pleasant things for me was the tea and coffee tray. Nice to have a cuppa in the morning without having to get dressed and go down to the restaurant. We did not have breakfast at the hotel but it looked well presented and a lot of choice. If you do plan to visit Girona ( which is a lovely place ) this is the hotel to do it from.

Room Tip: We booked a standard room and it was just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DOITYMAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Director General at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Your comments encourage us to keep working hard, thank you very much and we hope to see you soon in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken Caryl
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel. Both times have been on cycling trips with Marty Jemison Cycling tours. Marty is based in Girona & this is the place he chooses for his clients. I can't argue with his choice. Very modern & comfortable but located in the old part of town. Easy walking distance to eating & shopping in the old part of town. The staff is very attentive to your requests & speak good english.

If I were traveling through Girona again, I would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Director General at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments, hope to have all of you here many more times !! Remember that this month we are going to open our new service in the hotel; Indoor cycling and a swiming pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

A group of us stayed 4 nights in 5 rooms. Rooms are beautiful, modern decor, spotless and well-equipped. Built-in closet with drawers, mini-bar, safe, flat-screen tv, desk/chair, well-placed lighting. Great bathrooms. Note, insert room key into card reader near door to turn on electricity. (This was our first stop in Catalonia and we later found the same setup elsewhere.) Front desk was helpful, making restaurant reservations and arranging taxis to/from a wedding nearby. As noted by others, location is perfect, steps from the old town and less than 15 min walk from train station. Bar/cafe next to hotel has a small patio, very casual, good for espresso, cold beer. Excellent baked goods at Casa Moner, just around the corner to the left on Carrer de Santa Clara. One block farther down is a lively plaza lined with cafes/restaurants. Food, at least at the places we tried, was not as good as off the square, but go there for the festive vibe 24/7.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erika363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Director General at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. Remember that this month we are going to open our new service in the hotel; Indoor cycling and a swiming pool. Hope to have you back soon in GIRONA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Girona

Property: Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Address: C Nord, 2, 17001 Girona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ciutat de Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ciutat de Girona is located in the most symbolic, historical and cultural heart of Girona. Surrounded by the most charismatic buildings and the best shopping in the city.The hotel combines a modern style and it is decorated with pictures of the most representative places of Girona. It is equipped with last generation facilities. Among its services you can find and indoor swimming pool and a indoor cycling. In the lobby you will find "the corner of the musician" where you can have a glass of moscatell ( sweet wine) and some nuts to make your arrival at the Hotel a special moment.Hotel Ciutat de Girona is an option to enjoy an exquisite treatment and exclusive facilities in the heart of the city. These and many other details will fill your stay with pleasant surprises. Hotel Ciutat de Girona aims to achieve maximum customer satisfaction. This is why our priority is to work to adapt to the uses, traditions and tastes of each of our clients. This purpose is achieved thanks to bi-directional teamwork of all the teams that are part of the Hotel, both in his daily task and other moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing