We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Girona”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel. Both times have been on cycling trips with Marty Jemison Cycling tours. Marty is based in Girona & this is the place he chooses for his clients. I can't argue with his choice. Very modern & comfortable but located in the old part of town. Easy walking distance to eating & shopping in the old part of town. The staff is very attentive to your requests & speak good english.

If I were traveling through Girona again, I would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Director General at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments, hope to have all of you here many more times !! Remember that this month we are going to open our new service in the hotel; Indoor cycling and a swiming pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 796 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

A group of us stayed 4 nights in 5 rooms. Rooms are beautiful, modern decor, spotless and well-equipped. Built-in closet with drawers, mini-bar, safe, flat-screen tv, desk/chair, well-placed lighting. Great bathrooms. Note, insert room key into card reader near door to turn on electricity. (This was our first stop in Catalonia and we later found the same setup elsewhere.) Front desk was helpful, making restaurant reservations and arranging taxis to/from a wedding nearby. As noted by others, location is perfect, steps from the old town and less than 15 min walk from train station. Bar/cafe next to hotel has a small patio, very casual, good for espresso, cold beer. Excellent baked goods at Casa Moner, just around the corner to the left on Carrer de Santa Clara. One block farther down is a lively plaza lined with cafes/restaurants. Food, at least at the places we tried, was not as good as off the square, but go there for the festive vibe 24/7.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erika363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Director General at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments. Remember that this month we are going to open our new service in the hotel; Indoor cycling and a swiming pool. Hope to have you back soon in GIRONA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in September in this very modern, trendy hotel. Rooms were a good size with nice enough bathrooms but no views. Fantastic position as just across the bridge from the old town and very close to some beautiful shops. Nothing was too much trouble for the receptionists who were very friendly. Breakfast was excellent especially the freshly squeezed orange juice but our only criticism was that some of the staff at breakfast did not seem happy in their jobs

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Director General at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear,

Thank you very much for your comments, We are happy to know you were satisfied with our hotel. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great hotel in a very convenient location just across the bridge from the old town. Breakfast was excellent as well.

The old town is a great shopping and dining destination and the newer shopping on the hotel's side of the river is very good as well...and all in a short walk!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honest1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The fantastic reception staff (special thanks to Diana) helped me organise a holiday for a group of friends including golf ,transfers and restaurants...no mean task as there were 22 of us! The hotel is excellently placed with bars/restaurants all very close enabling us to enjoy this lovely town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josiejojames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Gerente at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Sr,
Diana and all of us here at the Hotel Ciutat de Girona would like to thank you for this comment.
It was a pleasure to have you in our Hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Esther Soler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

After travelling up from Barcelona to Girona, and having stayed in a fantastic hotel in Barcelona, I was a little crestfallen when the taxi dropped us outside this hotel. It was a special celebration weekend and just wanted the nicest I could get, and this hotel was coming up #1 in Girona.

Anyway, the hotel was fine, the room was quite nice in reality - no view and no real natural daylight really but the bedroom was ok. The bathroom was less good - the bath was not usable - the tap was stuck in the shower position and there was nowhere to put any toiletries.

On the plus side, it was in a great location, very close to the Plaza de la Independencia and to the old town/Jewish quarter/cathedral, so probably about the best around.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaraLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

It's a little tough to find if you're driving as it is in a pedestrian area, and parking isn't fun, but once you're there, the location is great for exploring Girona's old town. Clean modern rooms, robes and a very nice restaurant (Blanc) and a good breakfast for what a Holiday Inn room goes for back home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markjchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
879 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#3 of 20 in Girona
603 reviews
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
1 mi away
Hotel Costabella
Hotel Costabella
#9 of 20 in Girona
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Girona

Address: C Nord, 2, 17001 Girona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range: $105 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ciutat de Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ciutat de Girona is located in the most symbolic, historical and cultural heart of Girona. Surrounded by the most charismatic buildings and the best shopping in the city.The hotel combines a modern style and it is decorated with pictures of the most representative places of Girona. It is equipped with last generation facilities. Among its services you can find and indoor swimming pool and a indoor cycling. In the lobby you will find "the corner of the musician" where you can have a glass of moscatell ( sweet wine) and some nuts to make your arrival at the Hotel a special moment.Hotel Ciutat de Girona is an option to enjoy an exquisite treatment and exclusive facilities in the heart of the city. These and many other details will fill your stay with pleasant surprises. Hotel Ciutat de Girona aims to achieve maximum customer satisfaction. This is why our priority is to work to adapt to the uses, traditions and tastes of each of our clients. This purpose is achieved thanks to bi-directional teamwork of all the teams that are part of the Hotel, both in his daily task and other moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing