We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant suprise”
Review of Maguey

Maguey
Ranked #25 of 597 Restaurants in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mexican Restaurant
Reviewed January 6, 2019

I don't have real high expectations for Mexican restaurants in Spain, but this place has really good food. The mole was quite good and the nachos were also good. It's hard to find food with any real level of spice here, but this was good.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank velagato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 324 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2018

The place has all the standard ingredients to make it look Mexican, from Frida Kahlo to Day of the Deaths kinda paintings on the wall. But it does look like a chain, a franchise with no soul.
The service, if efficient, is distant and not really welcoming.
The tables are very close to each other and small, not the best when most of the food here is shared...
As for the food itself, it was alright but obviously mass produced and lacking of flavour, spices, ... We do better ourselves...
And it’s not on the cheap side either.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aralya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We wanted to take a break from fine dining and were delighted to find this busy little spot. Food choices and quality were excellent, as were the Margaritas! definitely worth a visit

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoeBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

We had booked a table for 20.00 and were waiting outside to get in when they opened. Were seated by the door and then overlooked until 20.30 when we asked the waitress if she could take our order. No-one had even asked if we would like a drink and by then other diners were on their main course. Difficult to see how this could happen when waitresses repeatedly passed by to serve the outside tables.
When the food arrived it was perfectly acceptable, nachos to start and the enchiladas were good. No fault with the meal itself.
Maybe a little on the expensive side? 50 Euros for two courses each and a couple of drinks. We had dinner in another Mexican across town and paid 38 Euros for a similar meal.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank theincider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

The restaurant was packed! Outside was full/reserved as was inside. The waitress very kindly found us a table for two which was nice. We really fancied fajitas but realised there was no veggie option so we asked (no harm). They made us mushroom, onions, peppers and cheese as a fajita mix with no fuss and it was amazing. Fantastic food and brilliant service! Only advice would be to reserve/get there early as it was really busy.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank amybell1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maguey also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Maguey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing