We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveler rating
94
233
102
33
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
94
233
102
33
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river great location electric shutters old town the bus stay there again hotel is centrally located beds were comfortable cycling holiday wi fi yogurt minute walk within easy walking distance great shower the main square railway station costa brava
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 476 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2019

Clean, reasonably priced, super friendly people and fantastic location! There's a coffee shop on the ground floor and a little market right across the street!
The also have a separate bike rook with a floor pump to store your bike! It's very safe to store it there.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsular_Girona, Director de Recepción at Hotel Peninsular, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2019

Dear Mr. John P.,

Your review made our day! :)

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing us to make your stay in the very center of Girona.

Thank you for your time and for sharing your opinion with us.Your feedback is vital in order to improve our daily service.

We are happy to read all your comments.

It was a pleasure for us to have you in our Hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

The whole team is at your disposal.

Best Regards,

Eduard H.
Front Desk Manager
Hotel Peninsular 3***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

We stayed four nights and the location was perfect as its fairly close to the railway and bus station but within easy walking distance to the city centre. We had a superior room (with a sitting room with the gothic window in one wall) which we found spacious. We saw a single room which appeared dark and small. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very good (admittedly no hot meals but this is typical).
Themostat did appear to be stuck but as it wasnt summer it wasnt an issue.
Certainly I would recommend this hotel

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Grandpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsular_Girona, Director de Recepción at Hotel Peninsular, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Dear Client, Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your staying in the very center of Girona. Secondly, thank you for your time and for sharing your opinion with us. Your feedback is vital in order to improve our daily service. We're very pleased that our Hotel met your expectations. Your comments on our location, room, staff and breakfast made our day! Moreover, we take note about your comments on the thermostat, and we will try to have it fixed ASAP. Having you in our Hotel was a pleasure for us, and we look forward to welcoming you back. The whole team is at your disposal. Thank you very much. Best Regards. Eduard H. Front Desk Manager Hotel Peninsular 3***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2018

I just read the recent review about the non-adjustable thermostat, and the reply from the hotel management that it was fixed. Well, it wasn't fixed when we were there during the third week of November. So we also had to open the windows, but they opened on an air shaft, which didn't provide any relief. The staff was responsive, and changed our room to one with an outside window. I didn't think the room was as good, but at least we could get some cool air, and we had a view. However, the constant loud clatter from the street meant that we had to sleep with ear plugs, which I don't really like to do. As a matter of fact, other places we visited in Catalonia had the same problem: too warm, loud street noise. So remember to bring ear plugs. Other than that, I thought the Peninsular was a good hotel, for the reasons others have stated. As to the parking situation: it's easier to find a spot in NYC during rush hour! But again, almost every other Catalonian town in which we stayed was similar in that regard. The Peninsular garage was a short, pleasant walk. For breakfast, we elected to eat out. Fresh fruit was available at a market right across the street, and there was a coffee shop around the corner. Oh, do I miss the fantastic coffee they make everywhere in Catalonia!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MoxieGore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsular_Girona, Director de Recepción at Hotel Peninsular, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2019

Dear guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in the very center of the old town of Girona.

Thank you so much for your time and for sharing your opinion with us.

We are glad to hear our Hotel fulfilled your expectations.

Moreover, we take note of your comments concerning the heating, and we will take it seriously so that we find a solution ASAP.

Your feedback is vital in order to improve our daily service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

The whole team is at your disposal.

Thank you very much.

Best Regards.

Eduard H.
Front Desk Manager Hotel Peninsular 3***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2018

We stayed here in 2013, and gave this hotel 5 stars. This trip, in November, 2018, we had to reduce it to three stars for several reasons. First, the breakfast, which we LOVED in 2013 has won the "race to the bottom" in hotels looking to reduce costs. This time, the meal was average at best and really disappointing. If we had not paid in advance for it, I would cancel the breakfast and buy it on the street. Now for the good stuff; the young fellow at the front desk was superb! He was helpful, spoke excellent English, was happy, and bent over backward to upgrade our room. I would stay here again just because of him! The upgrade room was redone in March 2018 and was very nice. A great shower with waterfall head and wand, lots of marble, and very spacious. There is a mini-fridge, and decent lighting. There is an elevator, and parking is 18 euros/night at a covered parking about 2 blocks away. The location is a "10" only a block to the river and old town. We would love to give the place a 5 star, but only if they fix the obvious problems!

The main drawback was that we could not adjust the room temp. It was set to 23 C and we could not go up or down. It was like a sauna, so we had to keep the window open all night; loud and obnoxious. I complained to the front desk, and they said nothing could be done. The hotel has excellent service personnel, but the management needs to get their act together; the next client might not be so easygoing!

Room tip: Get a high floor to avoid the noise unless they solve the heat problem!
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduard H, Director de Recepción at Hotel Peninsular, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2018

Dear Mr. Randy,

First, we would like to thank you for choosing us again for your staying in the very center of the old town of Girona.

Thank you for your time and for sharing your opinion with us. Your feedback is vital in order to improve our daily service.

We're pleased that the Hotel personal and the superior room met your expectations. Moreover, we take note about the breakfast and the room temperature.

We kindly want to let you know that we already fixed the temperature issue, meaning that the guests are able to adjust the temperature again.

We will speak with the F&B department about the breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

The whole team is at your disposal.

Thank you very much.

Best Regards.

Eduard H.
Front Desk Manager
Hotel Peninsular 3***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

Came here without a reservation. Was in Barcelona for a week and decided to rent a car and come here. Found this place late in the evening and it was a pleasant find. The room was very spacious. This hotel is highly recommended for a big family. it's a great location the city center. Not a far walk to the old town. Just a note, if you are staying here and parking your car at the recommended parking garage. Make sure that the day you want to get your car out is not a Sunday. The garage is closed and you will not be able to get your car out. The hotel will not be able to help you in any way if this happens.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mbellastyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsular_Girona, Director de Recepción at Hotel Peninsular, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2018

Dear guest,

First, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your staying in the very center of the old town of Girona.

Thank you for your time and for sharing your opinion with us. Your feedback is vital in order to improve our daily service.

We're pleased that the Hotel met your expectations.

We kindly want to let you know that we have a special deal with a parking 2 mins. walking distance from the Hotel, which is open the 24h. We are sorry about the confusion with the parking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

The whole team is at your disposal.

Thank you very much.

Best Regards.

Eduard H.
Front Desk Manager
Hotel Peninsular 3***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews