We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Peninsular

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Peninsular
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Walsall
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Booked this hotel while visiting Spain for the F1. Good location, clean rooms a little bit on the small size but we weren't in the room much. Took the bus from gerona airport 5 min walk to the hotel. Also by the train station which we used to get to the circuit, bit of a challenge no timetables. Got lost coming back but it's all part of the adventure. Gerona is a nice city, plenty of places to visit, eat and drink. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel. Plenty of shops or cafes close.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misspiggyWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Peninsular, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for investing your time in reccomending our hotel. The Hotel is located in the Town centre, at less than 15 minutes on foot from the bus/train station and at 200m from the Old Quarter. If you choose to visit us again we encourage you let us know any doubts you may have (e.g. train Schedule) and we’ll be pleased to help you with anything.

Our most cordial greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    211
    79
    24
    10
See reviews for
48
181
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Really comfortable room. Clean and the room aircon produced heat quickly which was important as it was very cold for end April!
No real view from the room but quiet and good dark shutters. Friends stayed in less good room but with superb shower . They got transferred next day to more spacious quieter room.
So best to arrive early so you can pick your room
Great location as close to old town but part of new town which is much better for eating drinking options

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kas4honours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel is well situated to visit Gerona. We arrived by train from Barcelona. The hotel is an easy walk from the train station. Our purpose was to stay one night and depart for a week's bicycle tour around Costa Brava. The receptionist provided maps and advice for walking the city wall and visiting the town, which we enjoyed. The shops were closed for siesta.

We requested a room on the quiet side of the building. The room is indeed quiet, but has no view except to an air shaft. We asked for a different room and were cheerfully accommodated. The second room was larger and overlooks the street, The open windows bring noise, of course, from footsteps and voices and music but not vehicles, as this is a pedestrian-only street. Occasionally the workmen up the street can be heard drilling up pavement, but that was only until 6 pm.

The mattress is very firm, really hard, making a restless night's sleep. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mojacar, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Fabulous city and this hotel was very convenient to everything. The staff were informative, friendly and very helpful.
Our room was functional although rather small with a view of a fire escape so not very appealing. The rooms could do with updating but were very clean.
Unfortunately parking seemed prohibitive. The hotel has an arrangement with a nearby car park for 8 euros until 9.00 am then you pay cash for any extra time. We left at 11.30 am and we're charged an extra 10 euros for 2 1/2 hours!!!!!!! Beware.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carters_westwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. The location is extremely strategic and the condition of the hotel is excellent. Will definitely go back to the Hotel if I ever go back to Girona. The hotel staffs are extremely helpful as well. It is indeed good value for money stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcmocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel is located beside the river and within 200m of the old town. Perfect location for exploring Girona. Breakfast was basic but sufficient. Rooms clean and good bathrooms. Staff friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mullin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Although maybe not as atmospheric as some of the hotels within Girona's historic centre, Hotel Peninsular is in a very convenient position - just across the river from the historic centre, and only a 5-10 minute walk from the train/bus station. The reception staff were helpful and welcoming, and it was no problem to store our luggage at the hotel before check-in and after check-out. Our room was on the 4th floor, clean and pretty spacious. There was a little traffic noise but it wasn't too bad and it certainly didn't keep us awake. Breakfast was okay and as expected for a hotel of this kind. If I were to stay there again, I would probably opt to have breakfast in one of the many cafe-bars nearby. The cafe-bar within the hotel itself was nice and looked to be frequented by locals, as well as hotel guests. Girona is a great small city with a lovely historic quarter and old city walls that you can walk on for some great views across the city to the mountains beyond. I hope to go to Girona again some time and, if I do, I will stay in Hotel Peninsular again.

Room Tip: I suspect that rooms overlooking Carrer Nou would be quieter as that street is pedestrianized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
764 reviews
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
1.0 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peninsular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peninsular

Property: Hotel Peninsular
Address: Av. De Sant Francesc, 6, 17001 Girona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Peninsular 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Peninsular reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsular Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing