We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in the city”
Review of Hotel Peninsular

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Peninsular
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Al Khobar
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good location in the city”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Nice room. Clean and comfortable. Very quiet. Helpful staff. Good breakfast with lots of choice and good value. Great location within two minutes walk of the interesting part of the city. Nice little tapas bar nearby too. Free wifi downstairs but not working in the rooms. Maybe a temporary problem.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickKhobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    210
    78
    24
    10
See reviews for
48
180
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a smart hotel within a stones throw of the Old Town, and close to the bus / train station. The location is quiet, set on a nice tree lined avenue. So nice to hear the church chimes on the quarter and hour during the night.
It’s clean and comfortable with the bedroom so comfortable you spend the evening there. It’s extra clean with startling furnishings. Note the electric shutters.
Service is excellent and the reception staff speak English and happily makes whatever arrangements you may need.
Breakfast is continental and extremely good value at 8 euros. The ground floor has a café / bar / restaurant both front and back. Our lunch in the restaurant was excellent.
The only bad points are no English TV channels and no mirror in the bedroom. This is the petty level of complaint and that is it!
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BensonDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed on the first floor which apparently had smarter rooms - and our room was certainly good: clean, large, big bathroom and comfortable beds. I suspect some of the other floors have yet to be renovated judging by other comments here. Hotel staff were very friendly.

Great location and very good value for money. 10 minute walk from the bus/train station; and on the doorstep is the old town,

It has wi-fi on each floor, though this did go down for two of the nights. I do have two gripes - the air-con is vicious and cannot be adjusted, though blankets were available (we still caight colds though); and no button on the remote for the TV to select original language soundtrack for non-spanish programs - I've always had this button in other hotels.

Still, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuddyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

a very nice hotel in the middle of the shoppingcentre and on walking distance from the old historic centre, rooms very comfortable and an excellent breakfast, the hotel has a deal with the parking lot also on walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jancarla-dutchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I rate this as 5 star in the context of its value for money and location. Walking distance to everywhere you want to go in beautiful Girona, including the local train and bus stations. These give cheap and easy access to some great days out eg beach at San Felui (see photo - 45 mins on bus) and not to be missed fantastic Salvadore Dali museum 30 minutes by train. And Girona itself is beautiful, a real gem. Barcelona is also a fast train ride away for a day trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKGHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2012

well located hotel that 8 of us used for 3 days in conjunction with Bike Breaks at the gironacycle centre- hotel was spotless and very close to the Old Town. Breakfast was great and our bikes were parked just opposite the hotel in their secure car park. But , most importantly- their staff were so friendly and informative- especially the reception staff who gave us great reataurant recommendations and were always patient and cheerful- many thanks from the Irish cyclists- we will definitly use the hotel again and will recommend it to our friends

Room Tip: ask for room with cotton sheets as sadly they also use nylon sheets- the only negative thing about t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meg l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I was very surprised by some very negative reviews here about this hotel, that I even checked once more to see if I'm on the right place.
It seems like they have different kind of rooms which differ a lot in quality.

We stayed one night in double room , and it was pretty big (pleasant surprise for us since we expected very small rooms), the bathroom was also big, everything was very clean. The beds were comfortable (and we have serious spine problems, so we are not satisfied with bed quality very often, but here, no problem at all). The rooms had free wi-fi, and even in the lobby there were 2 computers with USB hub, but we didn't use it, wi-fi was enough for us.

The staff on the reception was very kind and helpful. My light bulb went dead at 11 p.m. I went to the reception and got the spare one immediately.

The location is great, 2 minutes from the city center.

Some people were complaining that it was hard to find the hotel, we didn't have any problem locating it, it is 10 minutes walk from the train/bus station. The only problem is that the roads in Girona are all cobblestone , so it is not easy to roll the suitcases (especially when they are over 20kg, like ours), but we solved that problem on our return by calling a cab (7 eur from the hotel to the station, 2 suitcases included).

Ok, the room view was to some small inner backyard and you could be seen from other rooms, but for one night stay it was ok. And yes, during the night you could hear loud neighbours, but that didn't bother us a lot.

As a bottom line, I think this is very good value for money hotel and I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pantaghana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
542 reviews
1.0 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.4 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peninsular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peninsular

Property: Hotel Peninsular
Address: Av. De Sant Francesc, 6, 17001 Girona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Peninsular 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Peninsular reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsular Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing