We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good budget hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Condal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Condal
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good budget hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for one night in July. Staff was helpful and the room was spacious and comfortable. Only 5 -10 minute straight forward walk to the attractions of Girona. A/C worked well; did not seem to get quiet as cool as I like it but it was comfortable. My only concern was that I had a room facing the main street and I could hear the traffic going all night. But, I am a light sleeper and this may not bother others. No breakfast but they do have snack machine with coffee and breakfast snacks if you want something quick. Overall a very positive experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SashaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    96
    27
    4
    4
See reviews for
27
75
37
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We paid 59 euro for 1 night, location is excellent as it is only a 3 minute walk or so from the trainstation ( bus 1 from the airport). The entrance is a small hallway with barely enough space for the reception but the lady was friendly. Don't know if she speaks english as I speak spanish. we were on the 5th floor, room was very clean with a good hot shower. The room is not to big, maybe about 12m2. Beds were hard and you could clearly hear the noise on the street but after 23.00 hrs the city tends to get quiet during the week. breakfast can be bought at 3,75 euro in rest. bescuit across the street (coffee,croissant and juice). Plaza Catalunya and Independencia are all at just a short walk. You can buy water at the reception if needed (2 euro/liter). All in all good price/quality but not for more than 1 night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrappy1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Finding this hotel reiterated to me why Trip Advisor is so good - we'd arrived in Girona looking for somewhere cheap but nice to stay for a couple of days. Reading the reviews of this hotel gave a very accurate picture of what we found: the hotel is basic and unpretentious; but friendly staff, scrupulously clean and pleasant rooms, and a great location within easy walking distance of the mediaeval heart of the city made this an ideal place to stay for us. Our room was compact, but still big enough for two people, it had a modern, bright bathroom, and our window had a nice view out onto the city. When we come back to Girona we will almost certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fingerwasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed for four nights at the Condal Hotel, and choose to stay there due to location and price. Five minutes walk from the bus and train stations made it perfectly placed especially for our early morning flight to Girona airport. The return ticket for the bus was only €5, takes half an hour, and start at 5am. The hotel is really central for sightseeing also.

The Condal was perfect for our needs, the room was fine with a double bed, and the bathroom was spotless. There was a large shower instead of a bath, and a hairdryer was supplied. Even though there are no tea/coffee making facilities, there are vending machines on the first floor. You can buy a voucher at reception for breakfast at ‘besCuit’ across the road. It’s €3 for a juice + a selection of croissants + tea/coffee. There’s a very good WiFi signal, including in the bedrooms.

The only negative we experienced was the road noise. We were on the 4th floor, but at the front and as the hotel is located at a very busy junction there was a lot of noise from the traffic. We got used to it, and it didn’t interfere with sleeping, but having said that I would request a room at the back of the hotel next time.

Room Tip: Request a room away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel was very very basic but very very clean and from that point of view a 4* two star. it was more like a hostel but a good one. we stayed there for 3 nights in February and it suited our purpose at the time. we were spending each day with friends so only using it to sleep in. Staff were very accommodating and got us anything we asked for our needed. No breakfast provided but hotel sells tickets/vouchers for little cafe across the road which is very good and breakfast is cheap. extremely central. Would stay here again if I was not staying with my friends. Would have loved a kettle etc. for a cup of tea/coffee in the morning!!!!

Room Tip: High up room probably less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadBallymena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Condal for three nights in early April, having stayed there once before, four years previously. In terms of value for money, I would give this hotel a very high rating (I paid 107 Euros for the three nights). I really have no negative comments to make but would endorse all those made by previous reviewers. My room was at the back of the hotel, so I wasn't disturbed by noise from the street, as one reviewer appears to have been. I found the staff on reception unfailingly polite and helpful. My single room, though small, was attractively furnished and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was also fine, though I found the shower a little difficult to manoeuvre in. There was always plenty of hot water. The hotel offer free wi-fi Internet access in all the rooms and there is also satellite TV, though I could find only one English language channel (BBC World). In terms of location, the hotel could hardly be more convenient: it is a very short (i.e. 5 minute) walk from the main train and 'bus station and, in the opposite direction, the same distance from the historic town centre. All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Condal again and to recommend it to travellers looking for top value for money in terms of accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the rooms facing the street may be rather noisy even at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cosmo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Very good location, close to everything (shops, Old Town, river, restaurants, train station etc).Went to Girona for a short,weekend break. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was basic(didn't spend too much time there anyway), but very clean and wasn't noisy at all. Not a five star hotel, BUT for the price,I have to say it was an excellent choice!! If we ever go back to Girona, we'll stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MurphyZ842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margarit
Hotel Margarit
#11 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis budget Girona Costa Brava
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.2 mi away
Hotel Peninsular
Hotel Peninsular
#13 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condal

Property: Condal
Address: Joan Maragall, 10, 17002 Girona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Condal 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Condal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condal Hotel Girona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing