We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place that goes from strength to strength”
Review of Divinum

Divinum
Reserve with
Divinum is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 513 Restaurants in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Serves tapas without the bread as base. Gourmet food.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great little place that goes from strength to strength”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I first visited Divinum in its previous incarnation as a more informal but upscale modern tapas restaurant on the c/ de Cort-Reial back in September 2009. The food was terrific and we returned (twice!) on our next trip back to Girona the following year. When we arrived in Girona this November, we retraced our steps to the old location and were heartbroken to discover that in the last 2 years it had been replaced by a different establishment. Imagine my delight, then, when we stumbled across Divinum #2 at its new venue a few streets away!

Our latest visit to Divinum did not disappoint, and if anything the cooking and service has gone from strength the strength. The restaurant is housed in a lovely vaulted room, and the tables are well spaced so the atmosphere is intimate without being crammed in. The service is very professional but warm and friendly at the same time, and whilst I can just about manage to read a menu in Catalan, it put me at ease that the waiter's English was impeccable!

On to the food. On the strength of previous visits, we knew that the food would be good and wanted to try as much as possible, so went for the 35 euro seasonal tasting menu which to my mind provided terrific value for the quality of food provided. After an amuse-bouche of creamy mushroom croquettes, we enjoyed: fig carpaccio with Iberic ham and shavings of foie gras; poached egg with truffled potato puree (one of the unexpected highlights of the meal and so much more tasty than it sounds!); rigatoni with anchovies and wild mushrooms; roasted monkfish with black olive tapenade and cepes; a perfectly cooked venison fillet with artichoke and more mushrooms (you can sense the theme of the seasonal produce here), finished by chocolate brownie with passion fruit sauce and fresh red fruits (again, the dessert description doesn't quite do it justice - more imaginative than it sounds). We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the meat and fish courses - very generous for a tasting menu. Wine was also very reasonably priced for such a good establishment.

Each dish was superbly presented and very tasty indeed. A perfect way to spent 3 hours - I would not hestitate to recommend this restaurant, it is a little gem and one of the reasons I keep returning to Girona! Divinum = divine food indeed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsJingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    169
    39
    9
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Divine Lunch at Divinum”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We fortuitously picked Divinum for our lunch in Girona recently, and fortuitously, though they were about to close at about 4 pm, they stayed open for our group of six. We were seated in a private room, and the "menu" at 22.50 euros each, including wine, coffee and dessert, was a relative bargain, considering the quality. Our only extra charge was the second bottle of wine we drank.

Each dish was carefully and beautifully presented. Service was excellent (perhaps because we were the only diners in the restaurant).

Everything was wonderful. Can't recall a single dish that disappointed us. I had the beef cheeks and carpaccio of venison, and both were delicious.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great in the old city”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Went here on the advice of our hotel since we arrived in Girona without restaurant reservations. The food was really good - we chose the tasting menu so that we could experience more Catalan cuisine. The wine was chosen for us by the owner who was warm and friendly and steered us well. We even bumped into him on the street the next day when he was with his kids, on their way to the restaurant to do prep work for a private party the next day and he stopped to talk. Overall a great experience - not formal or stuffy with "natives" there in shorts.

Helpful?
Thank knitsforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co meath
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Probably my only criticism was the difficulty we had finding it,it's on a back street very near one of the bridges.The restaurant is quite formal but the waiters are not and that's a plus.We had lunch and availed of the menu del dia.The service was fantastic and the food almost that good.Lunch for 2,aperitifs and a bottle of wine,just over 60éuro,excellent value,strongely recommended.My wife said the yoghurt desert which appeared quite a simple dish was out of this world.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uptherossies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and value”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were travelling near Girona and arrived without a reservation. We were welcomed to an excellent table and attended to with the perfect balance - never ignored and never bothered. We both selected the middle of the three tasting menus and a wine as selected by our waiter. We were very impressed by the food, the wine and the service.

The restaurant is in a vaulted space in the old Jewish Quarter of Girona, but Girona is compact so it is essentially "down town". The tables are well-spaced and nicely furnished. There is a large front room and a smaller back room through an open doorway.

The bill for two with excellent wine was just under 100 Euros - excellent value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Divinum also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Divinum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing