We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great balcony”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Girona
U.K
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great balcony”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights after coming from Barcelona.I had booked a smoking superior room but when we got there we were told that none of the superior rooms were smoking but one could smoke on the balcony, so that is what we took. The balcony was about ten foot square and great for sitting out in the evening, with a glass of wine and a good book. When you sign in you actually sign an agreement not to bring food or beverages into the hotel. We did try the roof top bar on our first evening but it was empty with a message to phone reception if drinks were wanted. We then went down to the bar by reception and had to wait 20 minutes before getting served .So we went to the big supermarket across the road, selling some good wine for three euros. As mentioned before no milk with the tea/coffee tray, the receptionist didn`t tell us that you have to insert your keycard into the lift to go up- we ended up on the 6th floor, The evening meal that others have mentioned, the menu is in only one of the lifts so we didn`t see it until the last day.We ate in town and caught taxis back for 7 euros.
The shower was super once you realise that you have to press a buttton and we slept well.
A very pleasant short break!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lelanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    398
    131
    38
    23
See reviews for
115
476
24
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed one night and were very impressed with the hotel. The staff were very good indeed and the hotel is sparklingly clean. Our room was very spacious with a lovely bathroom. Only downside really was that the duvet was too hot and there was no top sheet.

Room Tip: It'll probably be more expensive but ask to look over the street. Our room faced the rear over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElhamValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel local bar/cafe's plentiful 10 - 15 minutes walk to old town which is worth the effort to visit rooms in hotel first class . This weekend was a last minute booking for our joint wedding anniversary and wife's birthday , but the hotel compliments the beautiful city of Gerona

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wil4149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I only stayed for 1 night, as was driving from Spain to UK. Fairly easy to find and with secure parking. Nice room, spacious, clean and comfortable. Great bathroom.

I had the set evening meal, which I had read alot of positive comments about. Yes good value but small portions and would go our to eat if staying again. The breakfast though is much better, pretty good selection of hot & cold.

The Rooftop pool is pretty cool but also pretty small.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2014

we found the staff really helpful with everything we had to change our rooms at the last minute which they did, told us about parking came up to the room when we had a problem with the digital safe in the room. We enjoyed everything about this hotel would defintely stay there again, clean room and very good breakfast

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelsea0903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely modern hotel. A bit out of the town but the rooftop pool and very reasonable rates more than compensate. The food in the restaurant Is lovely and reasonable and the rooms are great. My real disappointment was the off hand service of the staff who really seemed that they couldn't care less. The was nothing badly wrong just a general lack of interest in being helpful. Despite the bar supposed to be open until 1 I couldn't order a drink after 1130 as there were no staff and the receptionist said he could make coffee but presumably not pour wine despite doing nothing else. The pool bar was advertised as open but also closed. Questions were answered in the most brief way and there was no sense of helpfulness or caring. This hotel is lovely, the town is gorgeous and it's a real bargain but it was dead on a Saturday night in June. This may be the economy but the staff are really not helping. It really is a shame.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fumel, France
Level Contributor
196 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Good sized rooms of a high standard. Free wifi in them. THREE chairs!
No tea or coffee making facilities, but that is normal for Spanish hotels.
Friendly and helpful staff - English spoken.
Menu of the day was 5 courses with a glass of wine and water for only 14 euros.
Parking is on site, underground, but easy to access at 14 euros a night.
Easy walk into Girona - about 20 mins.
Unfortunately the day we chose to stay was the day the pool was closed for maintenance!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.0 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.9 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona

Property: Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona
Address: Carrer Mossen Joan Pons 1, 17001 Girona, Spain (Formerly URH Girona)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of charming Girona, the contemporary DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Girona is close to the Auditorium and Congress Center and a leisurely ten minute walk from downtown Girona. The exit to the highway is easily reached from our elegant Girona hotel. El Celler de Can Roca - voted the finest restaurant in the world by The World's 50 Best Restaurants is just a five minute walk away and popular Girona attractions, including the Jewish Quarter, Girona Cathedral and the Arab Baths are all just a short distance from our stylish hotel. Enjoy spacious accommodations, fantastic amenities and a warm welcome from our dedicated staff. You'll even be greeted with a signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie when you check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing