We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but off the beaten path”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but off the beaten path”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

After visiting Barcelona I wanted a hotel that would be close to the Girona airport. Well this hotel required a 25 min bus ride and 7 min walk from the station. However once we got there the amenities and hotel were great! If you are up for a bit of adventure getting to this hotel us for you. My only issue was the location. It is nit right by the airport and there is no shuttle service

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmotx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    397
    131
    38
    22
See reviews for
115
473
24
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

A little far out for tourists visiting the centre but otherwise very good if you're passing through by car or just there for business, so much so, even returned for the €14 3 course evening meal which was fab

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky to get a room, as we stopped by without reservations. The clerk actually ran out and caught us as we were about to drive away to tell us the just had a reservation. Walking to the old town was close and cool! The room was super nice, really liked the stone bathroom. Great coffee machines and wonderful breakfast (included)!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackin614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalesund
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I'll say it straight away, I liked this hotel!
A modern hotel.
Nice airy reception. Very pleasant and helpful staff.
Good parking facilities.
Rooms spacious and spotlessly clean
Good size bathroom.
Restaurant large and airy albeit a bit noisy due to all the marble and tiling. Good food.
Breakfast excellent.
Easy to walk into the centre of Girona.
I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Just book and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hombreingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

As said, the breakfast is very nice!

The hotel is clean & modern, and rooms look exactly like they do on the website. Air-con is good- also shuts off if you don't want to use it.

Some reviewers comment that the hotel is "far away" from the city center, but we have to disagree - if you can walk 10 min (15 tops!), you won't have a problem here. The area is not the old town of course, but value-for-money wise, I would choose this hotel again. Everything is very walkable in Girona, so don't rule this place out thinking it's too far!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kait_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Breakfast is amazing, wish I'd taken a photo.

This hotel is a little out of the way from the town centre though, 20 minute walk. Swimming pool really is, as other reviewers have stated, tiny, and sun loungers get taken quickly. Roof area seems to have been done a bit on the cheap and shows signs of wear and tear. It certainly couldn’t be described as luxurious and looks far better in the photos.

Rooms were perfectly nice.

Probably better hotel options in town a bit which were in a similar price range.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slumbermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights in September. My first impression of the hotel was how well maintained and clean it was. The staff are very helpful and the rooms are a good size with excellent beds and showers. They also include TV's which have a good range of English language channels for a continental hotel. The hotel itself is fairly quiet and is located a little outside of the city centre, however, it's only a 10-15 minute walk to reach the main square and Old Town. Another plus point is the breakfast, which has a fabulous range of options and really sets you up well for a day exploring the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galbers1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.0 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.9 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona

Property: Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona
Address: Carrer Mossen Joan Pons 1, 17001 Girona, Spain (Formerly URH Girona)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of charming Girona, the contemporary DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Girona is close to the Auditorium and Congress Center and a leisurely ten minute walk from downtown Girona. The exit to the highway is easily reached from our elegant Girona hotel. El Celler de Can Roca - voted the finest restaurant in the world by The World's 50 Best Restaurants is just a five minute walk away and popular Girona attractions, including the Jewish Quarter, Girona Cathedral and the Arab Baths are all just a short distance from our stylish hotel. Enjoy spacious accommodations, fantastic amenities and a warm welcome from our dedicated staff. You'll even be greeted with a signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie when you check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Double Tree Hilton Hotel Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing