We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
336 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very convenient!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We decided to pay a little bit more for the 4 star rooms based on the reviews in TA! It was definitely a good decision as the rooms are new and spacious. The hotel has an own underground parking and located in the city centre. From the hotel it's just a few minutes to restaurants an shops. The breakfast was quite expensive, so we did not try. But a tip is the cafe Vienna which is at across the street and offers great coffee and "iberico sandwich". Overall a very pleasant stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BAY-GASTRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, November 24, 2015
Dear BAY-GASTRO,

Please accept my sincere apology for the delay in answering your kind review. We are grateful for the time you spent while telling us about your stay in Hotels Ultonia Girona.


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is really wonderful to hear you had a great stay in our hotel and that our efforts have brought positive results. Indeed, our guests can find the nicest breakfast/lunch places just across the street.

Maybe next time you want to try our breakfast buffet to see how much we have to offer. Please visit us soon.

All the best,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    271
    67
    9
    12
See reviews for
82
310
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel is in the centre of the city not far from the bus and train stations, just across the river is the old town, bars and restaurants aplenty within a short walk.
The hotel is quite modern, clean and well kept. The reception staff are polite and helpful. My room was quiet and comfortable but unfortunately lacked tea and coffee making facilities, maid service was excellent. I can't comment on the standard of food in the hotel as I was on room only basis and did not dine there. One negative was the lack of room service after 11pm and early closure of the bar, luckily there is an excellent tapas bar across the road which was open until late.
As I was only there for a weekend break I did not avail myself of all the facilities the hotel has on offer.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel as a short break destination and would happily return there in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N0thingbutthetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELS ULTONIA ... G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona, responded to this review, November 23, 2015
Dear N0thingbutthetruth,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the delay in answering your kind review. We are grateful for the time you spent while telling us about your stay in Hotels Ultonia Girona.

Thank you for your kind words, we are proud to hear you found us helpful, friendly and modern. Unfortunately we are not able to have a full room service during the late hours. But the reception staff is always ready to help, and even boil some water. Please, visit us soon since we will be more than happy to deliver to you the best service ever so that you can experience a wonderful and unforgettable experience again.

All the best,

Jordi Moure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This hotel is in central Girona and has the most fantastic shower in the world! It's like a wet room and it's huge!

Brilliant Hotel - lovely service and excellently positioned. We visited in early November and had a room which was easy to get to from a convenient lift - and extremely good value for money. Staff on reception were attentive and friendly.

Almost as good as the amazing shower was the underground car park which is not always a possibility with a city Hotel but this one had one (cornering was difficult as space is restricted) and we were very grateful.

What a great place Girona is. We went when the festival was on and had a wonderful time. Food in the area was good value for money, airfares were unbelievably cheap as was car hire and the Hotel was just the icing on the cake.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lifts and make sure you get one with the new showers in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in November. The rooms very nice and quite modern, no complaints. The hotel is in the new part of town, but walking distance to the medieval part of town, plus close to a square full of restaurants. It was also walking distance to the train station (which we discovered after taking a cab the first day.)

We had the breakfast, since there were no cafes really close (and it was cold outside). The breakfast was fine, quite adequate. There was also a very nice bar on ground level where we hung out at various times. It was open early for coffee, which was nice.

The front desk staff were helpful and nice as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rancher1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in downtown Girona with various Restaurants nearby.

Rooms are well appointed and gives a new hotel look and feel.

Staff is extremely courteous and front office staff was welcoming and supportive.

Breakfast was good and nothing to complain about. Staff in breakfast area was extremely helpful and cheerful- something that I don't find in Europe often.

Hotel has several levels of underground car park as well.

They have a nice lounge bar.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RahulTikoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here in Nov. 2013. We booked a "Superior" room but it was very small with a window looking into an internal light well, very little daylight, no view. The room was very clean and had been updated recently. The shower was excellent. Staff were friendly. We stayed on a Room Only basis so I cant comment on breakfast which was available at €12-50 per person.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 410, very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mullin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was a perfect first stop on our trip to Spain. We requested a quiet room and the hotel was very good about meeting any special needs that we had. The room and service was great. I thought the rates were very reasonable. We spent one week here in October 2013. Be sure you get the Gran Ultonia not the older Ultonia. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on the busy street side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarikaBaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
754 reviews
0.5 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
774 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
538 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ultonia Girona
Hotel Ultonia Girona
#12 of 20 in Girona
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona

Property: Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Address: Gran Via de Jaume I, 22, 17001 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ultonia, is located in the heart of Girona city. In a privileged setting a short walk from Girona, the Jewish Quarter, the Arab Baths, the Cinema Museum, Girona Municipal Theatre, las Casas del Onyar and all of the attractions of Girona's Old Town. Just a 10-minute walk from Girona's train and bus station, with easy access to Girona Airport. La Devesa park, the Courts, Girona trade fair centre and auditorium are all just a few steps away from the Hotel Gran Ultonia. The staff on reception (open 24 hours) can provide guests with more information on the city and recommend an endless array of leisure activities. The three-star Hotel Ultonia is an establishment with a long and reputable catering tradition in the city and shares the building, entrance, reception and common areas with the new four-star Hotel Gran Ultonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing