We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good rooms, great rooftop bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good rooms, great rooftop bar”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent a night in Girona at this hotel - staff were very helpful and told us what to visit and what not to in the old town. The rooms were decent - our room was quiet and the bathroom/dressing area was surprisingly large. Not a destination hotel in its own right but was very close to one of the main squares, and a short walk after that to the old town.

They have a great rooftop bar too which stays open late.
Our room was on level 3 - we came back to the hotel quite late and did see a lot of people on the streets, but didn't hear any in our room.

Room Tip: Opt for a higher room category
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    267
    67
    9
    12
See reviews for
82
308
21
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
456 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The sort of place that does what it says on the tin, and would well suit a business trip, but maybe not the best spot for a leisure visit.

We decided to stay in the centre of Girona for the last night of a short break before we flew back to Doncaster. Having tried a few of the 'more charming' and well reviewed places closer to the old town, finding them full or too expensive, we settled here.

Nothing too much to complain about, except maybe the lack of bath, and the street noise, so maybe 3 stars is a little harsh, but it did come across as 'average'. If you're looking for some of the romance of the old town, I suspect there are better options.

The hotel is sited on the 'wrong' side of a busy road junction, thus feels a little separated from the 'old town' although it isn't far to walk. The reception are is impressive, and the reception staff professional and smart.

We were offered either 3 star or 4 star rooms at 55 or 75 Euro respectively, and chose the more upmarket option as it was the last night of our break. As said above, not too much to complain about, but as only on floor 2, the street noise from students heading home at 3.00 am was a little disturbing.

I would say this place is reliable and convenient, but unlikely to be a memorable experience.

Room Tip: A higher floor may avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HumberMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a one night stay here last week and found it to be the ideal location for visiting the sights of Girona. The hotel was modern and very clean, the staff were welcoming, efficient and very helpful. We had a room on the second floor at the back of the hotel which was affected by street noise in the early hours of the morning, had we been staying longer then we would have asked to be relocated but other than that we had a most enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the rear of the hotel on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simontoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Central to Girona old town 15 min walk to anywhere of interest.front desk was professional and helpful ,breakfast just ok but the room rate made up for it.the bar did not have standard Spanish beers on draft which was a pity.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikekerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Easy walking distance to the medieval part of the city, this hotel is a great option for luxury and modern amenities right nearby. Wifi, bar on site, secure underground parking, and very helpful staff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ctan_writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Booked room in Gran Ultonia but it certainly was not four star accommodation. Room was airless, claustrophobic and in bad repair. It is very conveniently located however with a great bar on 5th floor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Deirdre142013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I have syed here 4 times twice in the Ultonia and twice in the Gran Ultonia most recently in May 2012. Gran Ultonia is a wonderful hotel, very friendly helpful staff rooms are very modern clean and relaxing, neds are comfortable bathrooms are very spacious and the shower is great. Great selection at breakfast new bar is very nice just a very nice place and a perfect location in the heart of the beautiful city of Girona. Thx Gran Ultonia I will return . My dates I stayed here were May 2004, May 2007 , May 2010 and May 2012 . Dean Haslam

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deano034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.5 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona

Property: Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Address: Gran Via de Jaume I, 22, 17001 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ultonia, is located in the heart of Girona city. In a privileged setting a short walk from Girona, the Jewish Quarter, the Arab Baths, the Cinema Museum, Girona Municipal Theatre, las Casas del Onyar and all of the attractions of Girona's Old Town. Just a 10-minute walk from Girona's train and bus station, with easy access to Girona Airport. La Devesa park, the Courts, Girona trade fair centre and auditorium are all just a few steps away from the Hotel Gran Ultonia. The staff on reception (open 24 hours) can provide guests with more information on the city and recommend an endless array of leisure activities. The three-star Hotel Ultonia is an establishment with a long and reputable catering tradition in the city and shares the building, entrance, reception and common areas with the new four-star Hotel Gran Ultonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing