We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern comforts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

my husband and i stayed here for a week in early aug. The hotel is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. the rooms are large and very clean with all modern conveniance. The staff were very helpfull and always at reception. excellent air conditioning. lovely rooftop bar and the food is also very good. I would have nothing bad to say about this hotel and would highly recommend anyone to stay here. It is also in an excellent location close to all the beautiful sites,squares and walks.

Room Tip: book the grand ultonia as it is more modern then the ultonia and they use the same reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelspy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 633 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Gran ultonia is in a very convenient location in Girona. It's right near one of the main plaza's with lots of choice of restaurants and bars nearly. We had breakfast and cafe royale which was lovely and had mini xu xu (pronounced chuchu's). It's also very close to the old town, cathedral, the call (jewish quarter) and shopping area. Hotel is fairly new, free wifi, nice bathrooms and showers and very quiet. It's clean. I think it's great value for 4*.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beibeibei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

There are 2 hotels. Hotel Ultonia and Gran hotel Ultonia.

The second (4*) was great. Nice rooms and lovely terrace at night. No view at all from room.

We searched for a hotel with a terrace so that we could sunbathe! It has one, however, you can't use it in the day time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woolleybear1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel was a short walk from the river and the old city so very convenient. The hotel was modern and clean with air conditioned rooms and a wonderful, wonderful shower! The parking for the hotel was ok to find if you have a Sat Nav but might be tricky finding your way around the one-way streets as it's a bit hidden. Reception staff spoke English. Mini bar in the room was very reasonably priced as was room service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoobydigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed one night before an evening return flight. The hotel was clean and modern and the bedroom spacious and comfortable. The shower was excellent. We only had breakfast, which was fine, but not worth 12.50 euros. We did not have any other meals. The cost of the room was very good value. The view from the room included the railway track, but that was not a problem for us, and it was not overlooked. There is a roof terrace which is worth a visit. We could leave cases in a room after check out, which was 12 noon. It is within walking distance to the train and bus stations but we got a taxi from the hotel to the Airport for 25 euros, which worked out similar to bus fares for our numbers. Overall, the Gran Ultonia is a good hotel and we hope to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonetDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in this hotel. It is great value for money, as the rooms are very pleasant,
Clean and spacious. Five stars would have been achievable if : The signal strength of the internet had been better. (Difficult to connect with tablet or phone) The room smelled strongly of chloride when we arrived, so we had to open the window. We had breakfast at 9, (cost €12.50) which obviously is too late, as they were out of eggs, beans.

Apart from that there were a rich choice of bread, cereals, nuts, fruit, coffee, tea, juice, wine, cakes, yoghurt, cold cuts.
Recommended as good value for money.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Tor Egil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We a stayed here for 2 . The location was brilliant for the old town ,just a short walk over the bridge. The hotel was extremely clean and the room was a lovely size. The staff where extremely helpful. The breakfast may not be the cheapest but was plentiful and good, even cava and red wine to be had, the staff at breakfast where great. Would certainly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: The only thing missing was a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.5 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#3 of 20 in Girona
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
893 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Ultonia Girona
Hotel Ultonia Girona
#12 of 20 in Girona
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona

Address: Gran Via de Jaume I, 22, 17001 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range: $63 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ultonia, is located in the heart of Girona city. In a privileged setting a short walk from Girona, the Jewish Quarter, the Arab Baths, the Cinema Museum, Girona Municipal Theatre, las Casas del Onyar and all of the attractions of Girona's Old Town. Just a 10-minute walk from Girona's train and bus station, with easy access to Girona Airport. La Devesa park, the Courts, Girona trade fair centre and auditorium are all just a few steps away from the Hotel Gran Ultonia. The staff on reception (open 24 hours) can provide guests with more information on the city and recommend an endless array of leisure activities. The three-star Hotel Ultonia is an establishment with a long and reputable catering tradition in the city and shares the building, entrance, reception and common areas with the new four-star Hotel Gran Ultonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing