We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away from the bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stay away from the bar”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the ultonia on 23/08/2012. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were spotless. We had no tea or coffee facilities in our rooms. After checking in we decided to go for a drink to the bar before we headed off to explore the old city that was our first mistake. My partner left his money in the room and went back for it.We went to a bar table out on the street,waiter came to us and we said we wanted to wait for his return before ordering, he was very rude and told us to leave.We could not believe it.I am the wrong side of 50,irish and this is the first time I have been ejected from a bar. Our second mistake was visiting the terrace bar on our return to the hotel, the views were beautiful but be careful "look but dont drink" or you will be over charged.There was no price list or menu and they charged what they liked 2brandy's 1glass of wine 25euro. In general we found the hotel staff cold and impersonal. Will not recomend this hotel to any of our family or friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesButler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    279
    70
    9
    12
See reviews for
89
317
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manciet, france
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel has the most amazing bathrooms, we were in a junior suite, a huge bathtub and excellent shower. Room was a very good size, good aircon and spotlessly clean and a free minibar. Minor gripe was that room was cleaned but used coffee cups were ignored and coffee milk etc was not replenished. May have been because we were out early and then came back for a siesta during the afternoon? City is very quiet between 1 and 5. Parking is secure but as with many city hotels can require some 3 point turns. Girona center is a 5 minute walk away and is a beautiful and interesting place. Lots of places to eat and something to suit every budget plus lots to see and we will be coming back. Would use this hotel again, no pool or gym, not a problem for us but with children a pool is good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Good situation in the city centre, about a five minute walk from the old town.
Parking available. Nice, spacious bedrooms - we chose 'Gran' Ultonia - I would love to know what the rooms without the 'Gran' label are like and if the difference in price is worth it. I must admit I was a bit confused by that as all other facilities are the same.
Breakfast is quite a good buffet.
Friendly staff.
The only negative for me is the lack of a pool, or sauna, or gym. There is nothing of this sort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamdfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very good hotel, clean and modern. Good variety of buffet breakfast. Large modern room, with large shower. Friendly and helpful staff. Near to old town, shops and restaurants. Girona is a brilliant place to go to for a short break, not too busy, nor too many tourists. The old town is both beautiful and interesting. Houses on the banks of the river are colourful and quirky! Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joody6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights on a last minute deal for £112 and we were VERY happy with what we received for the money!
Easy, fast and friendly check-in. Lovely big comfortable bed and a very clean room.
Fully manual air con, black-out curtains for a great sleep and amazing shower!
Very quiet once in your room, you don't hear a sound from the corridor or other rooms.
Then we discovered the roof-top bar by accident on our second night as we were heading back to our room. We loved it! Busy, great music, generous drinks, we went to bed after 2am, but we really enjoyed ourselves.
I want to go to Girona again and would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraB2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here in february on a trip with work to Girona.
very nice hotel,i believe it has two parts to it.
we were in the posh side,nice rooms with laminate floors marble bathrooms walk in showers and flat screen tv's.
This is a nice place to stay and if in Girona then you wouldn't go far wrong here.
The breakfast is a bit lack lustre,and we always ate out in the day at some truly great restaurants nearby,the Argentinian steak restaurant for one was fantastico !
To sum it all up,nice hotel,but eat out.
Oh yes and there is no pool!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

A great hotel in a beautiful city. If you ever go to Spain, try to go to Gerona in Catalunya, it's worth the effort.

The hotel is remakably well equipped and has the most fabulous bathrooms as well.
If I had any complaint it would be that it's located a bit out of the way but sereiously, nothing in Girona is far.

Room Tip: My room was great even though it faced the roadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beecroftpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
773 reviews
0.5 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
557 reviews
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ultonia Girona
Hotel Ultonia Girona
#12 of 20 in Girona
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona

Property: Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
Address: Gran Via de Jaume I, 22, 17001 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ultonia, is located in the heart of Girona city. In a privileged setting a short walk from Girona, the Jewish Quarter, the Arab Baths, the Cinema Museum, Girona Municipal Theatre, las Casas del Onyar and all of the attractions of Girona's Old Town. Just a 10-minute walk from Girona's train and bus station, with easy access to Girona Airport. La Devesa park, the Courts, Girona trade fair centre and auditorium are all just a few steps away from the Hotel Gran Ultonia. The staff on reception (open 24 hours) can provide guests with more information on the city and recommend an endless array of leisure activities. The three-star Hotel Ultonia is an establishment with a long and reputable catering tradition in the city and shares the building, entrance, reception and common areas with the new four-star Hotel Gran Ultonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing