We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Menu del Dia”
Review of Zanpanzar

Zanpanzar
Ranked #34 of 504 Restaurants in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lytham St. Annes, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Menu del Dia”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I can heartily recommend this restaurant for it's menu del dia, or menu of the day for just 12 euros per person, including a drink and lovely bread. I can honestly say it is one of the best set menus I have had in Spain. Cooked with fresh local ingredients with love and care, beautifully presented and good sized portions. Everything looked fabulous and tasted great, even dishes that were being served to other diners looked inviting. Best value for money in Girona!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank holistic55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    101
    30
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
315 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Casual no nonsense tapas”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Zanpanzar is a cheep and cheerful Basque tapas restaurant in the centre of Catalan Girona. The dishes are simple, but tasty and the price is reasonable.

We tried the duck and cheese salad (7/10), the scrambled eggs with squid (7/10), cockles (6/10) and pork with chips (7/10).

We paid 60 Euro in total, including optional service charge and two glasses of wine. If you want something more up-scale and innovative try Llevataps across the street.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TKB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pintxos Heaven”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This bar/restaurant was our introduction to pintxos and we were instant fans! Bar staff super friendly and had great taste in music! We ate plentiful pintxos, drank Estrella all evening and the two of us left happy for 18euros...an awesome evening!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank splitdecision73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast N.Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The real deal”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Fantastic atmosphere,great fun,best pinxtos I have ever had,mammoth main courses,good quality wine,great value.Jump in!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good pintxos”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Makes for an excellent stop on part of a wider tapas trek.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zanpanzar also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Zanpanzar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing