We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but very basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Equity Point Girona Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Equity Point Girona Hostel
Ranked #5 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location but very basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here with my husband and our toddler in the beginning of January for two nights. We had separate beds the first night but managed to get a family room with a double bed for the second night. The bathroom was better in the family room too; with a bigger shower cubicle; particularly helpful when bathing a child.

The staff were very helpful and nice.

The place was clean enough but the first room we stayed in stank; despite airing it.

The rooms are very basic but then again that's to be expected for the price you're paying.

There's a parking area right in front of the hotel which is really handy if you manage to get a space.

The location is great. There's a park right in front of the hostel which is great if you're travelling with kids. It's within walking distance from the town centre; particularly handy when getting back from dinner at one of the restaurants.

They have a bakery right next door in case you prefer to get some fresh bread and pastries for your breakfast.

The family room we stayed in was right next door to the communal toilets/bathrooms so it got noisy pretty early in the morning.

Neither room had any bedside lamps so either it's lights off for everyone (not great when you're sleeping in the same room with a child) or main lights on for everyone. Rather irritating I must say.

All in all; pretty good for the price you pay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovefoodlovetravel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    49
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
14
28
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
torino
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you like are searching a clean, confortable and close to everything hostel in Girona, Equity pointa is the answer. Easy to find, close to the bus and train station and to the center.
I slept in a four bed mixt dorm. there was space for everyone and the bathroom was big and clean. If you forget something you'll find at the reception desk all what you neef, towels or hairdryer, and there they will kindly ask to all your questions. The kitchen is always open and if you want something more for breakfast there is a shop close to the hostel where you can find more food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Labarbano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place isn't a total loss so here are the pros and cons:

Pros:

Staff- the staff really were fabulous. Very helpful and accommodating.

Location- This is a wonderful location. Super easy walk to everything in the old town. Location could not be better.

Price: It was cheap. 80 euros for 4 nights

Cons:

Smell- I'm not sure if they use reclaimed water but this place is in serious need of some pin-sol or bleach. I know they clean because I saw the nice janitor guy mopping but they didn't use real bleach or cleaning product. It smelled worse after they cleaned. The common areas, showers and elevator really smell.

Noise- This is a major party hostel. There are people loudly partying in the lobby, stairs and halls until the sun comes up. This doesn't bother the staff at all. It's just part of the experience. Which is fun...unless you actually need to sleep.

WiFi- The wifi sucks in the rooms. It only works well in the common areas.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ucrania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hostel is really situated in the very center of Girona. It's very clean and nice. The staff was very friendly. Though the shower in the room was a bit small, you could always use the shared one.
The rooms were big, but there were no lamps for reading. There was a kitchen where you could cook and keep food in the fridge.
Definetely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irinaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingli, Malta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were 4 friends sharing a 4-bed dorm and we all hated the place. The bathroom and shower were so incredibly small that splashing water all over the room was unavoidable. You could barely fit two hands in the sink and a slightly over-sized person wouldn’t fit in the shower. The room was dark and unwelcoming. Yet the worst came when we were about to sleep. The noise in the hostel was terrible, there must have been a group who decided to make as much noise as possible - banging doors and shouting from 12:00 am to after 2:00 am. We had to wake up at 4.30 am to go to the airport so you can imagine how much sleep we got. And to remember that we paid 100 euros for this room between us... we could have stayed in a cosy guesthouse or 2 star hotel and it would definately have been much more worth it. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventureseeker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Excellent location, the room was big, but was really dark, there was no light on the ceiling. We stayed at a room that had a great view for Plaza Catalunya.
I'm not sure when they clean the bedrooms. Our room was clean, but you could see some dust on the floor...
The staff was really helpful, apart from one guy that was chatting at the phone, and was too "busy" to give us some dinner recommendations.
They have a nice sun terrace with a bar, good to read a book or to drink a beer!
Apart from the downsides, I would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaSuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Excellent base for visiting the Costa Brava. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Cant rate this hostel any more than excellent value! Good facilities, kitchen for cooking, sharing fridge, sun terrace and chill room had a brilliant time and will definitely visit again. Its a 10 minute walk to the Station and Bus Station but right in the heart of the Jewish Walls and Cathedral. Lovely place lots to do and see in the area. Beaches are approximately an hr away by coach but with a fare of 5 euro's or less its a far better option than being in Loret De Mar or Tossa De Mar and you have some lovely architecture and places to visit and eat in. Definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: If you get an option rooms 101, 102, 201, 202, 301 and 302 are at the front of the building so have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BESTIE059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peninsular
Hotel Peninsular
#14 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.1 mi away
Condal
Condal
#15 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Equity Point Girona Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equity Point Girona Hostel

Property: Equity Point Girona Hostel
Address: Placa Catalunya 23, 17002 Girona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Equity Point Girona Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Equity Point Girona Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing