We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice!”
Review of Nord 1901

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nord 1901
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Although the reason we're having to stay is French ATC strikes, and we were pretty irritated after a 2 hour bus journey from Barca to Girona in order to get back to the UK in good time, we were pleasantly surprised.

Only downside is lack of restaurants nearby. It was a 'cafeteria tapas' meal or nothing.

Clean, decent staff, large bed, nice bath.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 495 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

Good location and very solicitous, professional staff-a relief after some other hotels. The room was well-lit, but that didn't make up for the single window that opened into an air shaft in the interior of the building. Also, our fridge didn't work and it took two calls to get it fixed. Breakfast was pricey, but worth it--nice variety of meats, cheeses, and breads and freshly-squeezed orange juice!

Room Tip: Make sure your room window isn't on the interior air shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole_Higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Nord 1901 went far above our expectations travelling as a young couple hitting up Cellar De Can Roca. The lobby is decked out with modern amenities, excellent decor and overall modern clean and capable feeling. Staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, even helping us find the best secret tapas in the city after 12 am. The pool area is a little oasis in the city that makes it definitely unique. Overall, highly recommend it as one of the best city hotels I've ever seen in Spain or even broader Europe.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and i have been visiting Girona for the last 10 years and the Nord is by far the best hotel experience we have had. It is right in the center near the Onyar and just across from the old town. The rooms are spacious and modern and the service relaxed and friendly. It is also right opposite Cafe Blanc a superb independent restaurant. .

Mark and Teresa Stanton Norwich UK

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkAnthonyStan... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed a second time at the Nord in May 2014 for 5 nights. The hotel is superb we had a large room/apartment overlooking the garden and pool. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and we had a wonderful time. We will be back soon
Thank you

Room Tip: We had room 4.6 which is at the top of the building - it was perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed as a couple for only one night at the end of May 2014, but found that this hotel fully deserved its place as the number one on Tripadvisor's list for Girona. The staff are friendly and very helpful (in organising taxis, for example); the room we occupied was spacious and extremely well equipped; and the location, just over the river from the Old Town, was ideal for exploring the sites on foot. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertoLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had the Junior Suite facing the street. Comfortable suite with great sitting area, but the bedroom is pretty small and very dark.
Staff are helpful and gracious, but were not able to solve both the issues we had when we arrived in the room. The air-conditioning was broken, so the maintenance man had to come and fix it... good response so a tick for service.
However, the persistent smell of something rotten or damp would not go away for the two days we stayed. We suspected the lack of air-conditioning for some time may be the culprit, so we 'moved in' with our luggage and un-packed.
The smell stayed though, despite us leaving windows open for hours. We could have moved rooms, but once you are in and only staying for 2 days, it is a pain to move.
So loved Girona and the Hotel should be great as long as the smells are cured.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XMarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
789 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#3 of 20 in Girona
596 reviews
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Historic
Hotel Historic
#13 of 20 in Girona
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nord 1901? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nord 1901

Address: Calle Nord 7-9, 17001 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range: $110 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nord 1901 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nord 1901 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing