We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish with great staff”
Review of Nord 1901

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nord 1901
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Excellent location

Really liked the deco in the rooms however our room was on the 4th floor with the smallest bathroom I have ever seen. It would have been ok for one night but we were there for 3. Really difficult to dry your hair, put make up on etc. shame there wasn't a mirror in the actual bedroom

Room large with lovely sunny windows overlooking the pool

The staff were delightful and brilliant at giving directions info etc

We would return to this hotel but would ask for a room with a larger bathroom

Pool area pleasant spoilt only by the most obnoxious family with three boys who spent their whole time shouting at each other and at their parents. Sadly they were British

Girona is a delightful city certainly worth staying for more than one night. Food in the city is super

We will return

Room Tip: Not the room on the forth floor
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Nord 1901
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 483 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here. Lovely old building with modern contemporary design. Very attentive staff who spoke excellent English.
A nice pool terrace area. Good food for breakfast and well located for walking in town and seeing the old town. Good shopping and sightseeing nearby. Only downside was €31 charge in nearby car park but it looks like staff can advise on cheaper options so ask them about this. Large rooms and comfortable beds.
Friendly small hotel and very good value for money.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JazzMaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Highly convenient central location but quietly situated just off the main square with a good selection of bars and restaurants. Spacious, comfortable room and ensuite in modern minimalist style. Breakfast continental and self-service, initially looking a little sparse but constantly topped up with fresh servings, but no other meals in the restaurant. Small external garden with patio and swimming pool. Well-placed for seeing all main sites on foot. Girona is a hidden gem of history and architecture, little-known before Ryanair used its airport to transfer to Barcelona but now a destination in its own right.

Room Tip: Slight downside was a broken washbasin plug not noticed by staff but quickly repaired. Rooms number...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lescor_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent a week in Girona in August stopping at Hotel Nord 1901. First of all, the location is fantastic - on a quiet street but only a couple of minutes' walk into the old town. The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room (3.1) was spacious and had the biggest bed I have ever seen (comfy too). The room was spotlessly clean. There is a pool to the rear, which is partly why we booked this hotel originally (I think it's the only one in this part of town with a pool). You can have breakfast sitting by the pool if you wish and fresh towels were provided. The only slight downsides were that the pool is mostly in the shade so was a little chilly and the breakfasts could have been more varied, but for some reason a lot of people only seem to stay in Girona for a brief spell, so this won't be a problem. Overall we loved the hotel and would definitely stay there again. Girona itself is a fantastic place and I would urge anyone to go for longer than the customary night or couple of days - we spent a week there and could easily have stayed longer. Great place, great little hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandJYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed 3 nights in the Hotel Nord. Hotel is comfortable but not anything special. Room and bathrooms are spacious and clean, pool area was nice but very small with only a few of the loungers in the sun at any one time. Didn't bother with the breakfast as so many choices nearby. The hotel location and staff could not be faulted.

The food options close to the hotel are numerous, great quality and mainly very good value. Girona itself is a lovely city, easy to get around and very much a underated gem for a short city break.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulS844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights July/August in this hotel in the lovely small city of Girona. Location was excellent but finding it by car was a bit fraught as there was no signposting - the hotel needs to address this. Our room was on the top floor but as the lift didn't go that far we had to take the luggage up a flight of stairs for the last bit. The room was quite spacious and good facilities with air conditioning. We didn't try the breakfast as there were plenty of bars nearby for a more reasonable price. Car parking is in a garage around the corner from the hotel and expensive but then we found all of the parking in Spain to be very expensive. There is a small swimming pool out the back with sun loungers and bar service. Girona is lovely and well worth a visit for 2-3 days, plenty of places to eat. For those who don't want to pay the prices at El Celler de Can Roca (we didn't) - they have an ice cream shop in Girona - gorgeous ice cream! Very impressed by Girona - we will definitely return.

Room Tip: A room or apartment overlooking the pool would be nice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

What a pleasure to stay at this gem of a place.Modern and clean with a very comfortable bed and friendly staff.Close to good food in tapas in square and free parking near railway line which staff told us, Couldn't fault it

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
781 reviews
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
570 reviews
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nord 1901? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nord 1901

Address: Calle Nord 7-9, 17001 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range: $117 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nord 1901 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nord 1901 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing